We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a City Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Quality Hotel Bordeaux Centre
Ranked #11 of 174 Hotels in Bordeaux
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Such a nice hotel in a great part of town if you don't have a car. Everything is walkable and just down the street are some of the best restaurants & bars I've been to in France. There is TONS of great shopping along Rue St. Catherine and the river promenade is a couple minutes away for a great morning jog or afternoon walk to the Outlet stores.

Getting there from the Airport was very easy. We took the #1 bus that went through a few other towns before arriving in Bordeaux. Make sure you have almost exact change as we were scolded for trying to use a 10 Euro bill for 2 people (2.80 total). We got off at Pl. Gambetta and walked. It's a short walk down Cours d'Intendance and then a right on Rue St. Catherine (at the Apple Store).

The room itself was so clean and rather large for Paris. Our room had a large bed and the bathroom/toilet in seperate rooms. The toilet room was small but no need as you shouldn't be spending too much time in there...! The bathroom was large enough with a nice rain-style shower that was very nice but not very practical in getting the soap out of your hair. The toiletries were plentiful but no conditioner for your hair. Also the hairdryer was weak. These aren't knocks on the hotel, just things I'd like to know before coming next time (bring your own!)

The room had water and a very nice Nespresso machine for morning coffees. The TV was large and got a few English stations and we very much enjoyed just hanging out in the room with a few bottles of wine. Very comfortable.

We didn't have the breakfast as there are numerous pastry shops on Rue St. Catherine and we were eating so much/so well the rest of the day we didn't really have room for another large meal.

The nights were a bit loud due to the great bars and restaurants mentioned above, but nothing too loud and when we closed the window it was very quiet.

We love a good Entrecoutes meal and were excited to try the one in Bordeaux, but ended up finding an even better deal at Bistro Regent just around the corner from the Hotel. 13 Euro for steak, frites, salad and bread and although not AS good as the Entrecotes in Paris it was good enough for us to go back twice in 3 days!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcatherine, Directeur général at Quality Hotel Bordeaux Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2012

Dear Madam,


We have well received your commentary and we would like to thank you for taking time to share your observations with us.

We are attentive about quality of services we offer and take seriously recommendations made by guests.

It is the way we can constantly improve the efficiency and quality of our services.

That is why the staff and myself are pleased to thank you for your gratitude.

Looking forward to welcoming you again to Quality Hotel.

Fanny Gaucher
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

428 - 434 of 1,151 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2012

I have stayed at this very central hotel on 2 occasions, the rooms are a reasonable size and clean but the toilet & bathrooms are a different story, the toilet is so small the best way to close the door is to reverse in, The bath/shower screen is fixed and the only way in/out is at the sloping end of the bath,there are no grab rails, so you have to grab the door handle and be extremely careful not to slip on the slope of the bath, not suitable for young children as you can't get to them, the larger or older less agile people as the gap between the wall and the screen is quite small

Room Tip: go for a room with walk-in shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smiles2c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

As a frequent traveller - this hotel reception is truly outstanding - no problem was too small - or too big - during three days the hotel staff were exceptionally helpful. The rooms are of modest size but well fitted out and immaculately clean, the staff friendly and polite, the location in the middle of the old town is unbeatable. Complimenting the reception on leaving I was told they were selected as the best quality hotel in France in 2011. My reply: I am not surprised!

Room Tip: Maybe pay extra for a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lausiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcatherine, Directeur général at Quality Hotel Bordeaux Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012
Google Translation

Madame, Monsieur,

Nous vous remercions pour votre commentaire et espérons vous accueillir à nouveau parmi nous.
Cordialement

La Direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Well situated in the old part of town of Bordeaux. Quiet little side street. Large comfortable room, nice bathroom although the shower water kept going cold and hot. Very welcomed Nespresso coffee machine in the room. Good buffet breakfast. Lifts are a little slow.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulcabedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I was very gladly surprised by this cute Hotel in the centre of the old town of Bordeaux.
The staff is very friendly and helpful. The hotel is located in the centre of the city and therefore it is easy to get from there to the different parts of the town by foot. It is difficult to reach the hotel by car though, as in the last years Bordeaux has been prioritizing public transport over private cars and therefore most streets are blocked only to be accessed by residents.

Breakfast is ok. The basics are provided (even though on Sunday there was a big scarce of bakery): cereals, milk (only cow milk, no alternative for vegans), bread, jams, croissants, fruit salad (some of the fruits not fresh though, but out of the can, and maybe a couple of days ago), warm dishes (scrumbled eggs and bacon), coffee, teas, juices (apple and orange from Tropicana, so no fresh juice), meat and cheese (salami, ham, some basic cheese).
The area were the hotel is located is close to many bars and pubs. Therefore, on the weekends the noise is quite big, as the building is old and the windows are not double glazed. I have no problems sleeping, but if somebody has problems, its probably better to get earplugs.

The most positive aspects:
- Localization.
- Friendly staff.
- Newly refurbished.
- Nespresso coffee machine in the room.
- Free water bottles and coke in the fridge.
- Free Wifi (one device per room - it hardly didnt work though)

The negative aspects:
- Breakfast room very small and therefore overcrowded (queue to get a coffee/tea).
- Noisy streets.
- Free Wifi hardly works.
- Very unfomfortable pillows (foam).

Room Tip: I checked the fire escape map, and apparently we had one of the bigger rooms in our floor. 219. But...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alma_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

This hotel is located right off the main pedestrian only streets near the Grand Theatre. It is non-descript from the outside, but the inside is well maintained and secure. The rooms are modern and clean. A standard breakfast is available and it is tasty, except the bacon which seems strangely to be boiled. Ask for a room that does not look out onto the street, as these can be a bit loud. I plan to go back to Bordeaux; I plan to stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not look onto the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashcroft_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We went for a long weekend in mid October and paid £200 for a double room with breakfast. for 3 nights. Whilst the outside off the hotel is nothing to shout about inside it is very clean well decorated with good facilities. It's location is great being right on a shopping strip and an easy walk to places in the city. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KevinR58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bordeaux hotels
0.2 mi away
Mama Shelter Bordeaux
Mama Shelter Bordeaux
#7 of 174 in Bordeaux
1,109 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Boutique Hotel
Le Boutique Hotel
#3 of 174 in Bordeaux
904 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Adagio Bordeaux Gambetta
Adagio Bordeaux Gambetta
#13 of 174 in Bordeaux
985 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Grand Hotel Francais
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier - Hotel Bayonne Etche-Ona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Bordeaux Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Bordeaux Centre

Address: 27 rue du Parlement Ste Catherine, 33000, Bordeaux, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bordeaux
#15 Romantic Hotel in Bordeaux
Price Range: $137 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Hotel Bordeaux Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupant une demeure de caractere du 19eme siecle, le Quality Hotel Bordeaux Centre se situe a proximite du quartier anime de Saint-Pierre. Entoure de boutiques et de restaurants, il propose des chambres modernes aux tons rouges et blancs, une connexion WiFi gratuite et l'acces gratuit a la salle de sport situee a cote.Toutes les chambres climatisees sont equipees d'une television a ecran plat et d'une machine a cafe Nespresso. Elles sont desservies par un ascenseur.Un petit-dejeuner buffet est servi tous les matins. Vous pourrez vous detendre et prendre un verre au bar-salon de l'hotel ou bien solliciter le service d'etage.Le Quality Hotel Bordeaux Centre, situe dans la rue Sainte Catherine, est installe a 2 minutes a pied du grand theatre, a 350 metres de la place des Quinconces et a 450 metres de la cathedrale Saint-Andre. L'arret de tramway Grand Theatre dessert tous les sites d'interet prises de Bordeaux et la gare Saint-Jean. L'etablissement ne dispose pas de parking. Vous pourrez toutefois stationner a proximite du parking public << Grands Hommes>>, moyennant un petit supplement. Durant votre sejour, vous aurez un acces gratuit a la salle de Fitness Amazonia situee a 50 metres (ouvert 7J/7J de 6H30 a 23H ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Quality Hotel Bordeaux Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Bordeaux
Quality Hotel Bordeaux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing