We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad experience in Bordeaux”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A blue lodge in Bordeaux
Ranked #18 of 88 Bordeaux B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lauzerte, France
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Bad experience in Bordeaux”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

We had high hopes of this B&B based on prior reviews, but were very disappointed. On arrival all seemed ok, and the owner was very friendly and hospitable. We were allocated what was called the "Parents' Room", which was full of personal items, and turned out to be exactly that - the owners' bedroom. The room had a private bathroom but it was across the hall past several other rooms. Arriving on Sunday evening there was nowhere local open for dinner so we had a 10minute walk to the tram then 15 minutes into the old centre of Bordeaux to eat. Parking was on-street and was a fair way from the house. Breakfast was bread roll with tea/coffee, termed "traditional breakfast" - which may be true but we've had much better elsewhere for the same price. At night our room was very hot, at least 5-10 degrees hotter than the rest of the house - we had to get up to have cold showers in the middle of the night to cool down. There was one small velux window which once we opened it let in a host of mosquitos. We barely slept and left, exhausted, after the second night, not staying the two further nights we had booked. When we left we found out that the "parents' room" was the owners room that they had let out to us because they were full but needed extra money. They said they knew how hot it got because it was their bedroom. It was disappointing that a financial need took precedence over the provision of a good service, which it seems other reviewers must have received, and which is generally not the norm for B&Bs in France.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank acehadventurers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h2sh, Propriétaire at A blue lodge in Bordeaux, responded to this review, October 10, 2011
Dear Steve and Shvorn,

We are sorry you had such a bad feeling about your 2 nights stay in our place. As a former quality manager, I have the habit to never argue with a customer : a customer is always right in some way. This is why I offered that the count was on us straight ahaid.

But let’s come back to the whole story :
You were offered, our personnal bedroom the largest of the whole house ( 25 m2 ) with 3,5 m high ceillings. This bedroom had original antics 19th century furniture that other bedrooms of this B and B don’t have ( an original english chest of drawer, Art déco bed tables, a library. Part of the dressing was still full of winter clothes, but our summer clothes were apart and you had a full cupboard for your use only ( maybe you didn’t notice the 1,2 m wide and empty cupboard). This room was rented along with a 10m2 private bathroom, with a double bowl and large shower space ( newly renovated, and totaly empty) in front ( not adjacent, but it was said and written into our mails : you had also some bathrobes at your disposal ). You had then a 35m2 for your use only : witch is not what people usually call a “box”. All other rooms are less than 21 m2 bathroom included.

First night seemed more than all right for you. You came for breakfast, relaxed and had a nice chat with me and 2 other english speaking customers. During breakfast, I received a phone call, it was my mother calling me in emergency because my grand mother was living her very last moments at the hospital. Did you noticed : no, and we went on chatting. So you can feel how much we care for our customers and know how to keep a stiff upper lip in order not to make them feel our distress. Even if this grand mother was the one who raised me… When you left to visit the town, me and my husband rushed to the hospital and stayed with her most of the afternoon untill she died. We’ve been there most of the day grand chidren and children to accompagny her, and say good bye.

We only came back, late at night. Not sure if you were in or out, I didn’t dare to come and knock at the door to come and open the window. We are used to open all windows during the time of our customers diner so that they can enter into a fresh room for the night.
You also had a plug to repel eventual mosquitos into your bedroom ( green product, made from plants : maybe you didn’t noticed it also /or didn’t know what to do with it).

Next morning I was up early preparing the breakfast, and you came saying you were leaving. We talked about all these. My grand Ma death, and all the previous… and also that we prefer to offer our own bedroom to extra customers, because this one is the more confortable, rather than any other left rooms.

I can’t help but notice that you don’t talk at all in your review, about my grand mother’s death witch lead to a hot room that night. I wish you could have stayed human if not understanding.

It is what, my husband and I try to be every single day, as a work - for money as you say – but also as a real pleasure 99% of the time, and a way of life for a 100 % of our time : be human and kind for every single individual. Even you and your husband.

You’re right, you truly deserve a real hotel with full air conditionning, without any open window all year long. With nobody to look after you : opening and closing your windows when the night comes. We offer a place that feels like a friend’s home, trust, care, and relationship with a cultural exchange and tips about the city : I am so sorry that you’ve been mislead.

Unfortunately, it also looks that you’ve been mislead more than once – as we can judge by the content of your 29 reviews on tripadvisor – maybe is it time to make the most of what you have and is offered to you. You were not cheated when coming to our place. But you have the habit of leaving after one night !! The never satisfied persons do not hapen to live true experiences and keep nice souvenirs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    22
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
75
9
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

We found this B&B based on other tripadvisor reports and it is truly excellent.

We arrived 40 minutes late but received the warmest of welcomes from our host. From the outset we were made to feel more like a part of the family than a guest. Breakfast is served at the family table and you are given an immaculate room that feels more stopping at a favourite Aunt's house.

The B&B is easy to reach just off one of the main arterial routes through Bordeaux but on a quiet side street. Parking is relatively simple and free. You are a short walk to a tube stop and then only 8-10 mins ride from the centre of town.

It is also conventient for excursions out of town - we had a day in the vinyards to the South of Bordeaux and within 10 mins, we were clear of the urban sprawl.

No downsides at all - completely recommended!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gibster23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new hampshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

We had lovely rooms at C'est une maison bleue in Bordeaux. Valerie spoke English and French to help us learn. We had two rooms on the first floor. One with a queen bed and bathroom. The other with two twins and a bathroom. Both rooms had private showers. We also had an upstairs room that had a bathroom across a small hallway. This bathroom also had a shower and seemed like none of the family used it, so it seemed private. The breakfast was delicious. Valerie would get fresh breads and pastries before we awoke. She was extremely helpful in giving us maps and making suggestions as to what to do. We sometimes walked about 20 minutes to the city or 4 minutes to the train. It stayed light until maybe 10 pm, so we often came in late. We had our own keys and didn't seem to wake anyone. The beds were very comfortable and everything was very clean.

Room Tip: We loved the downstairs rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveTheWord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h2sh, Propriétaire at A blue lodge in Bordeaux, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Thank you Beth,

It was a pleasure to have you at home. We are glad you liked our place.
And I have to reassure you, nothing never disturbed us even if some of you were invited into our private stair ( our former au-pair girl's bedroom and her private bathroom - our bathroom is downstairs : more pratical to look after kids when the diner is being prepared !! and quieter for guests in the early morning !!) .
It was a real pleasure to welcome your family. We are a laid out family and have alway loved to meet foreigners and help them with our langage ( we have been a host family for foreign students years before opening this B&B). I really hope all your family had benefit of the French speaking immersion stay.... Et ... que tous aurez gagné en confiance pour la pratique du Français !!

Back to Yorkies then ?? are you.
With our best regards.

Valérie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

Great B&B just outside the city centre. Superfriendly and helpful hostess, very fresh room&bathroom and nice breakfast with homemade cakes and other pleasantries.

Only downside is that it was quite a walk (~10 min) to the nearest tram station.
The area felt safe though, even late at night.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThePickyDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

My husband and I stayed two nights here at the end of May. Valerie was very welcoming and gave us a map of Bordeaux with a ton of recommendations. The above ground metro was a quick 5 minute walk.

Room: The 'Kiss' room is the one we chose to stay in. It looked exactly like the pictures online. It was very clean and cool. The bed was so comfortable and the pillows were like clouds. The bathroom was bigger then I thought (for European standards). They provided shampoo, conditioner, soap and a hair dryer.

Breakfast: Valerie made up the breakfast table beautifully. There was assortment of breads, jams and fruit. Coffee and juice were also given. One of the best breakfasts I have had.

All in all my husband and I would stay here again. We felt very welcomed and Valerie really takes pride in her B&B. Oh, and we did have a car and did not have any problem finding parking right in front. Thank you Valerie for making our first time in Bordeaux a memorable one. :-)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CynNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2011

We had 2 nights in Bordeaux as a part of a 5 week tour of France this month and came across "A blue lodge". What an absolute little gem. We had the room "The Kiss". The room is fantastic. All the little things have been attended to. It is visibly beautiful, and incorporates all that one could want travelling. And if you want any more, a quick call to Valerie or Fabrice, and it was all fixed.

Bordeaux is a fantastic city and while the house is a short distance out of the city, the tram is nearby and is cheap, efficient and safe to run into town for dinner each night to some great food options. Parking is on the street, but we had no trouble finding parking around the house and it was free overnight.

Now back to the house. There is just nothing that Valerie would not do to help. Not in a nosy or intervening way, in a pleasant and totally genuine way. We had been on the road for a while and needed to do some washing. She called the local laundry for us and found we could drop the laundry off and they would wash, dry and fold a load for 10.5 Euro. Our problem was that the next morning we were off to the Medoc for pre booked tastings and would be out of the city until 5 pm and the laundry closed for some reason at 12 pm - no problem, Valerie would pick up for us - the offer given without a moments hesitation - and when we returned, there it all was. Along with a spotless room.

Breakfast was great - baguettes, fantastic jams, tea or coffee, croissants and pain au chocolat. Valerie checked could she join the breakfast table with her cup of tea and asked what was planned for the day ahead and would then offer suggestions and valued comments, peppered with humour and insight to a city and a region she obviously loves and is justifiably proud of. She even ran to the kitchen offering assistance in seconds when my wife did not feel 100%.

Bordeaux deserves more than 2 nights, and "A Blue Lodge" also deserves more than 2 nights. We will be back. But between now and then you can rely on this place. Spotless, convivial, and with very caring and welcoming owners at a very reasonable price. A highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2011

I usually don't like the idea of staying in a stranger's house, but this b&b is really a great find ! I thoroughly enjoyed my stay : the rooms are very nice (well furnished, comfy beds, etc.) and the owners are very kind and helpful ! The tram is a good 5-7minute walk and it takes you right into the city center. The great thing about this place is that you're very close to the city, while staying in a calm and friendly neighbourhood :) Enjoy your stay !

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10musicfan94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bordeaux hotels
1.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Bordeaux Centre
1.1 mi away
Mama Shelter Bordeaux
Mama Shelter Bordeaux
#6 of 173 in Bordeaux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
1.3 mi away
Yndohotel
Yndohotel
#1 of 173 in Bordeaux
5.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gare Saint Jean
BEST WESTERN Gare Saint Jean
#20 of 173 in Bordeaux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Le Chantry
Hotel Le Chantry
#12 of 173 in Bordeaux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.8 mi away
L'Invitation Au Voyage
L'Invitation Au Voyage
#24 of 88 in Bordeaux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A blue lodge in Bordeaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A blue lodge in Bordeaux

Property: A blue lodge in Bordeaux
Address: 70 rue de Segur, 33000, Bordeaux, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Bordeaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feeling in the mood to be welcomed as a friend in a private house of Bordeaux city centre ? Character and period features with all the owner care custom-made welcome and service. Little garden at the rear, beautifull bedrooms at the front in a tranquil residential and chic area. Desk service to help you find Bordeaux's best places according on your specific interests. The very best out of the tracks advices. All commodities : nearby Tram streetcar every 3 minutes to get to pedestrianised streets, cafes restaurants and boutiques, half the price of the street parking fee for a private parking, an easy access to Bordeaux prestigious vineyards and sea shore with Arcachon Bay and Atlantic Ocean superb sand beaches a 45 min ride. You are located into the 19th century area UNESCO listed of the city. Pedestrian area : line B streetcar : 5 to 8 min Quays : line B 5 min streetcar and 5 min stroll in the restaurants district to get to Place de la Bourse (most famous square in Bordeaux along the river Garonne) and its Water Miror. Students district and University : on line B, 5 To 20 min with streetcar Train station : 8 min drive maximum or bus N°9 ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing