We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A night's stop over in Bordeaux”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bordeaux
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
L'Esprit des Chartrons
Ranked #32 of 95 Bordeaux B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 28, 2013

A great place to use for a stop over in Bordeaux. Easy access to everything - city centre reached by a lovely walk along the river with lots to see and a stop at one of the waterfront bars.

Great breakfast in a very lovely atrium area.

Owner very helpful - off-street parking a real bonus.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are good - we preferred the Slate room which gives on to a very quiet street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 411Joanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 91 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

Since I am moving around Europe for my job very frequently, peaceful places of quality to stay are becoming more and more a rarity, but l'Esprit des Chartrons is definitely a place of heaven. The place, originally an old wine chai, has been completely refurbished and refinished to the highest standards of quality into a top-class, 3-bedroom B&B providing exceptionally spacious rooms with all amenities you could expect. Every room is a heritage of each one of the 3 famous writers the region has known : Mauriac, Montesqieu and Montaigne, with a array of memorabilia that go with it. In every room, you feel the personal touch of the host Brigitte, who takes pride in decorating the rooms with her own paintings, and serving a typical french breakfast in the morning, accompanied by her own home-made marmelades that vary along the fruit supply of the season.
The common salon, which is centrally located around the 3 bedrooms, is a wonderful place to chill and find yourself useful and personal advise on what to discover in the city and the wine region.
I keep on coming back to this place thanks to all this, and last but not least, thanks to Brigitte's ability to find a perfect balance between excellent hospitality and respect for privacy.
I'd wish I could find similar places everywhere I travel !
Peter

Room Tip: All three rooms have private terrace !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The rooms are in a renewed building that used to be a cellar for wine and you can see all the object from the tradition of the region in the long corridor that brings you to the apartments.
Lovely design all around the house, the rooms are big, clean and they all have a small patio fully covered in wood. Breakfast is served at the time that you decide and Brigitte is helpful in giving you all the advices to visit the city and surrounding areas. I would definitely go back

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Just-manu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

It's a stone's throw from the riverfront area, and walking distance to many of the city sights. The inn somehow commands its own private space behind the facade of an old brick building, so it feels like a house within a house. This means it feels private and it is virtually noiseless. Brigitte Gourlat, the owner, has done an impeccable job of styling the place so that it feels modern, yet comfortable; rustic, yet refined. My husband and I stayed in the Mauriac room, which is the one with a large private patio. The French books that were neatly stacked on shelves and the original artwork gave the room a personal, local, and unique feel. The bed was comfortable, and the room was spacious (it even had a table and chairs). The shower was fantastic. It's oversized and has a rain shower: just what you need after a day of walking around. The spacious countertop area where the sink is was a nice amenity too.

But Brigitte really makes this place. Always smiling and a pleasure to be around, she was there to help us check in, and also there in the morning to answer all our questions and make lots of personal recommendations for the city of Bordeaux and beyond. During our stay we required a doctor visit. As Americans in Paris, we didn't even know where to start. Brigitte was kind enough to refer us to her own personal doctor, and even called to make the appointment for us. I can't thank her enough for making us feel at home and cared for while we were far away from home.

This place is truly a treasure.

Room Tip: If you anticipate downtime, book the Mauriac room and make use of the patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bananaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I just spent 2 nights at the Esprit des Chartrons with my mother. We were delighted with it. It was very hot in Bordeaux and this place provided a welcome respite, with its sleek, cool interiors. We stayed in the Montesquieu room and it was very spacious with a little private terrace, although there was also a larger, communal terrace where we had breakfast.

The location was good as the Chartons district is much less hectic - and more interesting in my opinion - than the city centre.

Brigitte, our host, was very efficient and perfectly charming.

Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Welcome respite from the summer heat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helen187075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We spent four nights here in May. We found it on the internet. The quai des Chartrons is a wonderful wide riverside area, with ample room for cyclists, walkers, skateboarders, an outlet centre, market, traffic, trams etc. L'Esprit is situated on a not terribly attractive side street off the quai, with a very forbidding garage grill type entrance. Fear not: the street seems to be safe at all hours and the entrance is the entry to the secure garage which takes up the whole ground floor. The whole building is a refurbished old wine chai, with three bedrooms on the first floor and the owners quarters on the top floor. The refurbishment/ redesign is the stuff of architectural magazines: everything shows workmanship of the highest quality, with bespoke shelving, designer bathroom, tasteful breakfast place settings and art works.
Brigitte is a very pleasant hostess who serves breakfast each morning. She has lots of brochures, restaurant business cards etc on display.
The tram is 2 minutes walk and reaches the city centre in about ten minutes. I recommend L'esprit highly; it may not be the cheapest around, but it certainly has that touch of class.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcharan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Bridget was friendly, helpful and a wonderful host. The room and breakfast was lovely. We really enjoyed the walk into the city along the river. Bordeaux is a great city and would highly recommend staying at L'Esprit des Chartrons.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartyMonster2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bordeaux hotels
2.2 mi away
Bordeaux Cosy B&B
Bordeaux Cosy B&B
#3 of 95 in Bordeaux
433 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Villa Chaleemar
La Villa Chaleemar
#50 of 95 in Bordeaux
102 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Course
La Course
#10 of 95 in Bordeaux
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
L'Hotel Particulier
L'Hotel Particulier
#8 of 95 in Bordeaux
367 reviews
4.9 mi away
hotelF1 Bordeaux Sud Villenave d'Ornon
hotelF1 Bordeaux Sud Villenave d...
#6 of 7 in Villenave D'ornon
39 reviews
5.6 mi away
Premiere Classe Bordeaux Ouest - Merignac Aeroport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Esprit des Chartrons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Esprit des Chartrons

Address: 17 B rue Borie, 33300, Bordeaux, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Bordeaux
Price Range: $100 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing