We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best meals on our trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of C'Yusha

C'Yusha
Reserve with
C'Yusha is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #94 of 2,319 Restaurants in Bordeaux
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $45
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Great Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the best meals on our trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

We dined here and at Restaurant Solena while in Bordeaux. These 2 restaurants gave us the best 2 meals of our trip. Cyusha is nicely set up with open kitchen, I enjoyed seeing the chef working & his partner is dedicated to giving you the best service possible and explained everything to us in English. They are obviously dedicated to creating beautiful & delicious food using only the best local & seasonal ingredients. Very nice ambiance, we marveled over each course & thoroughly enjoyed our time there.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank yogamom617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    52
    17
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lucq-de-Bearn, France
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Superb on all counts/ bon raport entre qualite et prix”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

Great food at incredible prices. Food was inventive and beautifully presented. Superb flavours and portions were just right.
Great service, friendly and knowledgeable. It is amazing considering there are only the two of them.

I will certainly be back the next time I am in Bordeaux

Un vrai coup de coeur.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shauneeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A lovely experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

We had a lovely evening at C'Yusha. The food was delicious and also very good value at 33 euros for 3 courses. The menu was innovative and quite unlike anything we had seen before, using unusual and interesting combinations of ingredients. However, I think what made the evening so special for us was the service. The lady who served us took such time and trouble to explain everything on the menu and on our plates (in perfect English) and was so friendly and attentive that it really made our evening. C'Yusha is also a very pleasant place to sit: it is fresh and modern and the tables are well spaced so that you don't feel you are intruding upon other people's conversations. The kitchen is open plan so you can see the chef preparing all of the dishes. I'd strongly recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Bordeaux.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“a very nice experience both with the kitchen and the service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2011

We dined here on September 1st and found the food fresh, good and innovative. Regarding the main course I must admit I would prefer my tuna to be a bit less “cooked through” but that’s just me, I like the fresh filets/fish steaks just lightly seared; but it was tender. The lamb was perfect. Dessert: prunes and green tea sorbet was very nice. According to the very friendly and knowledgeable waitress the Chef uses different plants, herbs to come up with such surprising and nice results. The three-course set menu is at a fair price, 33 Euros. We were the last persons to leave the restaurant that evening and the Chef was setting things up for the next day lunch. The three-course lunch menu, at 17 Euros, was a steal especially with all the nice dishes he told us about. I was tempted to try it, but then Bordeaux has so much to offer….!

Over all a very nice experience which would easily cost 50% more in Paris! Would go back on our next visit to Bordeaux.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rieu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Nice staff but not great value for money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

I went with my partner to C'Yusha after reading all the positive reviews on tripadvisor. We were really excited to try the food. The restaurant is very small and cosy, there is only 1 person front of house who was very friendly and welcoming. The restaurant itself is romantically decorated.

In terms of the food however, I wasn't blown away. The menu only offered 2 starters and main courses to choose from which is not a lot. The food when it came to us was slightly cold, and the portion was extremely small. Having been sight seeing all day in Bordeaux, we were definitely still hungry after our meal and had to go to another wine bar afterwards.

Granted the food tries to be very innovative and the cooking is ambitious, but that's about it. The food is served in tiny portions, about half a mouthful, the seafood starter with the lobster at €23 was not fresh and slightly tough. Our main course of seared tuna was cold on arrival and overcooked and tough to eat. All in all, we spent €90 for dinner for 2 and we were still hungry at the end is not great value for money.

Maybe they were having an off night, but it's a shame as we really looked forward to it!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Snowazzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed C'Yusha also viewed

 
Bordeaux, Gironde
Bordeaux, Gironde
 

Been to C'Yusha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing