We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay!”
Review of La Halte Montaigne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Halte Montaigne
Ranked #2 of 94 Bordeaux B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2013

It was our first time to Bordeaux and this bed and breakfast was perfect for us. We had three people, and they were able to accommodate by giving us a room with a king bed and twin. The hosts were very welcoming and directed us to the tram (very close walk) and to great areas of the city. We also really looked forward to the breakfasts every morning with freshly baked pastries and fresh the best orange juice I have tasted. I would highly recommend this b&b! :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (571)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 571 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

Whenever we go on holiday, the missus and I tend to avoid big hotels. We just prefer smaller places ideally where there's a kitchen available if we want to cook. Hence we ended up booking here.

I honestly can't fault it.

From the moment we arrived Therese and Phillipe will helpful and attentive, happy to speak in French or English - though generally if English is required it'll be Phillipe who speaks.

The house and rooms are very nice and the location is good (near the train station and tram stops, but walkable to town). The breakfasts are superb, in fact, we had to make a conscious effort to eat less so we could enjoy more of the food available in town.

There's a little kitchen if you do fancy cooking - which we did one night. There's a Carrefour nearby where you can get a tin of goose cassoulet for less than a tenner. Phillipe and Therese keep the fridge well stocked with water, juices, soft drinks and beer, and there's a wine rack with individually priced bottles which you can help yourself to - payment is by honesty box.

We really enjoyed our trip to Bordeaux, I've since recommended it to family and friends. If you're going and this place is the sort of place you like to stay in, it's definitely worth seeing if they've got rooms available.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whats_for_tea_today
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is one of the best guesthouses we've stayed in. It's beautifully furnished and our room was huge and really comfortable. The hosts, Therese & Philipe are really welcoming and friendly and couldn't be more helpful.

Breakfast is superb, cheeses, breads, hams, yoghurt, fruit, freshly squeezed orange juice, home made crepes and other French treats to die for, oh and a decent pot of tea!

The location is great, easy to take the tram to the city centre (about 10 mins) or a nice stroll along the river (about 30 mins). There's a Carrefour supermarket close by so you can make use of the hob and fridge for guest use which is nice to have that option which we did on one of the evenings. Loved staying here.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank angiebobbins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

A prime example of how first impressions can be deceiving! Do not be put off by the main entrance because what is behind is a wonderful calm and peaceful oasis. This B&B is beautifully furnished and very clean. Our bedroom was amazing, big and comfy. Therese was really friendly and helpful and clearly takes pride in her home. She was really keen to make sure we had everything we needed and ensured we got breakfast in time to catch the coach to the airport

It is a nice touch that you have use of a fridge and a small kitchen to make tea/coffee if required and other drinks are available.

The breakfast is wonderful especially the freshly squeezed orange juice! We had cheese, meats, fruit, yogurt, bread etc - we didn't go hungry!

It is also well located being less than 10 minutes from the train station, it is a bit further in to town but we walked it no problems. If you would rather get the tram this is by the station.

Bordeaux is an amazing city, very beautiful with fantastic restaurants and this was the perfect place from which to explore it. When we come back to Bordeaux - which we will, this will be where we will stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessiclees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

What an amazing B&B. The rooms are fantastic . The hosts make you feel very welcome. They are helpful at giving advise on places to visit. The location is great you can get the trains into the city centre or walk. You have a great breakfast in the morning. It's nice that you have use of a fridge and a small kitchen to make tea/coffee if required.

The only downside is road noise. The accommodation is located on a busy road. At night you do hear road noise and people returning home after a late night. I'm not a light sleeper but this did affect my sleep. It was a bit annoying. It is a shame as this is a beautiful B&B. It is something to take into consideration. this is the only reason I have given four stars instead of five.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank powellsara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed here on our honeymoon travelling through France. The hotel is a 5 min walk from the main train station and the tram lines. Initially walking to the hotel you are a little unsure what to expect but once you find it and are welcomed you realise how beautiful it is. The rooms are modern, very clean and have tv's and wifi throughout. There is also a lovely courtyard to relax in. There are little treats that add to the service, free ear plugs if you like and some delicious chocolates. The highlight is definitely the breakfast and Philippe and Therese. The breakfast is beautiful and overflowing. Be sure to taste the Cannelles that Therese makes, the smell of home cooking the night before wafts and smells delicious. The centre of town is only a 20 min walk or you can catch a tram which takes 5-10 mins. Both Philippe and Therese are extremely helpful and will point out what to see. If you want a home away from experiencing the real French way of life I would highly recommend here, thanks once again for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BerringtonD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

From sending our first query about this charming B and B to checking out, we had no problems at all. Philippe and Therese were fantastic hosts and we really enjoyed our stay. We were in the very spacious le Margaux room, with lovely decoration and a massive bed, with space to read/work and a private bathroom, the room overlooked the back yard, which will be lovely to it outside in the summer. There was a kitchen and lounge we could use if we needed to. One of the best bits of staying here were the amazing breakfasts, with juice, coffee, home cooked cakes, omelettes and as much bread, cheese, ham and croissants and fruit as you could eat. Philippe gave us a good introduction to the city and some recommendations of what to see and where to eat. We also had a daily weather forecast and a couple of small treats in the room, which was a lovely touch, as was providing ear plugs (which we didn't need) and cotton wool. The location is very convenient and near to both the main train station and tram stop to take you into the city. We often walked which only took about 20 mins. If I come back to Bordeaux this is where I will stay and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClarePLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bordeaux hotels
0.5 mi away
Ibis Bordeaux Centre Gare Saint Jean
1.7 mi away
Hotel de Tourny
Hotel de Tourny
#2 of 175 in Bordeaux
500 reviews
1.6 mi away
Adagio Bordeaux Gambetta
Adagio Bordeaux Gambetta
#14 of 175 in Bordeaux
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
La Villa - Bordeaux Chambres d'hotes
1.0 mi away
Bordeaux Cosy B&B
Bordeaux Cosy B&B
#3 of 94 in Bordeaux
430 reviews
1.5 mi away
Au Coeur de Bordeaux - Chambres et Table d'hotes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Halte Montaigne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Halte Montaigne

Address: 27 rue Pelleport, 33800, Bordeaux, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Bordeaux
Price Range: $103 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our house was built in 1870; we are at 300 meters from the train and tram station, so it is very easy to visit our beautiful town. Welcome and enjoy Bordeaux. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your La Halte Montaigne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing