We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good rooms but very noisy on Saturday Nights”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Campanile Bordeaux Centre - Gare Saint-Jean
Ranked #75 of 177 Hotels in Bordeaux
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The rooms were great, clean and modern. We were there on a Saturday night and as the air conditioning ( cooling) was turned off we opened the window in our rooms facing the street. This was a huge mistake as there is a nightclub next to the hotel that was extremely noisy all night They finally left at around seven am and we had little sleep. Otherwise the hotel s godd but is in the area near the main Station and this is a pretty seedy area at night ie the red. Light district. It is however a nice walk into the town centre. Bordeax is a lovely city and well worth a visit

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the street if you want to open the window on a Sarturday night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (335)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 335 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012

Hotel was excellent value for money - very clean with good size rooms, excellent buffet breakfast and close to city centre.

Staff were extremely helpful and pleasant.

Tip - make sure you get a room that doesn't look out on to main street. There are a number of nightclubs very close by (one just yards from hotel entrance) so it can be very noisy throughout most of the night on that side of the hotel.

Other than that I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I would have rated this 2-star, gare-convenient property more highly except that using its free wifi in our room was a nightmare. One had to keep going down to the front desk to get a new slip of paper with a new password code, and even at that, there were periods when service would shut down every few minutes, requiring the continual re-entry of a very long, complicated password. If Internet connection is important to you, beware. It was nice that they provided a kertle, but curious that they supplied only one pack of instant coffee/sugar for a double room each day, and always acted put upon when asked for another set.

Otherwise, the room and bathroom were a nice size and in good condition. The tram to the center was close by and handy, and the train station was easily walkable.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

was impressed with this hotel since it's a 2 star. Staff friendly and accomodating, nothing too much trouble. In particular Matthew was great.
so positives;
within 5 minute walk from gare st jean station, go in the direction of the ibis which is visible from outside the station, from ibis it's just up the road, you will see it from there.
Hotel staff very friendly, english speaking and accomodating
little terrace outside, no view but nice to sit outside for breakfast or late night dirnks!
rooms clean and servicing staff again accomodating
niggly negatives
breakfast is a bit dear at 9 euros but great choice buffet style
beds were a little too hard for me, did wake up aching a little
tea/coffee room facilities, paper cups and only specialist tea i.e herbal, fruit etc
all in all, bearing in mind it's a 2 star I was happy and would recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lvztravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We used this hotel as a stop over . Althougth I had requested a parking space , one wasn`t available meaning I had to leave the car in a dim side street. Otherwise , clean , budget accomodation , friendly staff.In the morning we got to meet the contract workers who were staying there. Next time I would use a Hotel on the outskirts with it`s own larger car park.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank F2Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I stayed for 3 nights in the Campanile Hotel, Bordeaux. First impressions were favourable, the receptionist was friendly and efficient, the room was clean, and reasonably good sized, for French city hotels, anyway. The bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom, though not very well lit, was spotless and towels were good.
The hotel was a 5 minute walk from the Saint Jean railway station and there was no noise to be heard, the rooms were well insulated.
Breakfast, though not cheap at €9 was average, and you could eat as much as you wanted of the choices there.
On the negative side, the internet system is horrendous, wireless key and password has to be constantly reentered, and changes every day. Also, Skype was blocked.
As others have remarked, the policy of charging for leaving luggage after 12 midday is to deplorable, and I suppose it won't be long before other hotel chains follow suit.
On the whole, though, the stay was comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luchtsiuil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This hotel doesn't pretend to be anything else but a great place to lay your head while exploring Bordeaux. It's a five minute walk from the TGV station and close to tram lines and bus stops and cafes, nightclubs etc. Rooms are spotless and comfortable and very well designed. The hotel itself has a funky interior which is modern and bright. Service is good and staff are pleasant. I liked this hotel and if I ever was returning to Bordeaux......I would stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Conoroshea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bordeaux hotels
0 mi away
Ibis Bordeaux Centre Gare Saint Jean
0.1 mi away
Best Western Gare Saint Jean
Best Western Gare Saint Jean
#20 of 177 in Bordeaux
540 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Budget Bordeaux Gare Saint Jean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Bordeaux Gare Saint-Jean
1 mi away
Kyriad Bordeaux Begles
0.2 mi away
Ibis Bordeaux Centre Gare Saint-Jean Euratlantique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Bordeaux Centre - Gare Saint-Jean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Bordeaux Centre - Gare Saint-Jean

Address: 6 rue Charles Domercq, 33800, Bordeaux, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 177 Hotels in Bordeaux
Price Range: $70 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Bordeaux Centre - Gare Saint-Jean 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With modern architecture and friendly staff, the 3-star Campanile Hotel Bordeaux - Gare Saint Jean combines comfort and modernity. The Bordeaux region is renowned for its fine vineyards - the Emilion vineyards and the Médoc wine trail are both within driving distance of the hotel. Getting around Situated just 100m from Saint Jean railway station, the hotel enjoys a convenient location for travel throughout France. You'll find us a five-minute’s walk from Bordeaux’s historic city centre, which features on the UNESCO World Heritage list. Explore local attractions including the Place des Quinconces, the Bourse and the Grand Théâtre. Our hotel is 20 minutes from the Palais des Congrès and 11km from the Grand Stade Stade Matmut in Bordeaux. The Bordeaux-Mérignac airport is only 13 kilometres away, and you can catch a private shuttle bus from the railway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Campanile Bordeaux Centre - Gare Saint-Jean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing