We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to Train Station”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Campanile Bordeaux Centre - Gare Saint-Jean
Ranked #59 of 174 Hotels in Bordeaux
Palm Springs, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Convenient to Train Station”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I would have rated this 2-star, gare-convenient property more highly except that using its free wifi in our room was a nightmare. One had to keep going down to the front desk to get a new slip of paper with a new password code, and even at that, there were periods when service would shut down every few minutes, requiring the continual re-entry of a very long, complicated password. If Internet connection is important to you, beware. It was nice that they provided a kertle, but curious that they supplied only one pack of instant coffee/sugar for a double room each day, and always acted put upon when asked for another set.

Otherwise, the room and bathroom were a nice size and in good condition. The tram to the center was close by and handy, and the train station was easily walkable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    151
    65
    18
    16
See reviews for
22
155
24
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

was impressed with this hotel since it's a 2 star. Staff friendly and accomodating, nothing too much trouble. In particular Matthew was great.
so positives;
within 5 minute walk from gare st jean station, go in the direction of the ibis which is visible from outside the station, from ibis it's just up the road, you will see it from there.
Hotel staff very friendly, english speaking and accomodating
little terrace outside, no view but nice to sit outside for breakfast or late night dirnks!
rooms clean and servicing staff again accomodating
niggly negatives
breakfast is a bit dear at 9 euros but great choice buffet style
beds were a little too hard for me, did wake up aching a little
tea/coffee room facilities, paper cups and only specialist tea i.e herbal, fruit etc
all in all, bearing in mind it's a 2 star I was happy and would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lvztravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We used this hotel as a stop over . Althougth I had requested a parking space , one wasn`t available meaning I had to leave the car in a dim side street. Otherwise , clean , budget accomodation , friendly staff.In the morning we got to meet the contract workers who were staying there. Next time I would use a Hotel on the outskirts with it`s own larger car park.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F2Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I stayed for 3 nights in the Campanile Hotel, Bordeaux. First impressions were favourable, the receptionist was friendly and efficient, the room was clean, and reasonably good sized, for French city hotels, anyway. The bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom, though not very well lit, was spotless and towels were good.
The hotel was a 5 minute walk from the Saint Jean railway station and there was no noise to be heard, the rooms were well insulated.
Breakfast, though not cheap at €9 was average, and you could eat as much as you wanted of the choices there.
On the negative side, the internet system is horrendous, wireless key and password has to be constantly reentered, and changes every day. Also, Skype was blocked.
As others have remarked, the policy of charging for leaving luggage after 12 midday is to deplorable, and I suppose it won't be long before other hotel chains follow suit.
On the whole, though, the stay was comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luchtsiuil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This hotel doesn't pretend to be anything else but a great place to lay your head while exploring Bordeaux. It's a five minute walk from the TGV station and close to tram lines and bus stops and cafes, nightclubs etc. Rooms are spotless and comfortable and very well designed. The hotel itself has a funky interior which is modern and bright. Service is good and staff are pleasant. I liked this hotel and if I ever was returning to Bordeaux......I would stay here.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conoroshea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

One night in Bordeaux was on schedule.
The city offers a good number of high class, high fare, accomodations.
And also a number of more budget style places.
Campanile Bordeaux Centre for me.
Why?:
Coming in by AirFrance from Lyon in the afternoon on the airport bus shuttle service, running not that really frequently every 45 minutes, but ontime and relaxed, stops at the main train station.
Just a couple of meters to walk from there for the hotel.
Price earnings ratio sounds good with a basic, but modern style room.
The tram runs from the main train station with just three stops to the city center/old town.
A really nice welcome from the young woman at the desk. I´ve requested a top floor room as usual. This was confirmed, but here colleague offered my room to someone else. She apologized and secured me a room on the third floor. Sure ok this way.
The room clean and quiet, spacious enough for me, also the bathroom.
A good thing is the Tram Pass Soire, free for all rides after 7.00 pm, 2.00 Euro´s.
Biz succesfully done in this city, worth a visit. Sure it is the area around the main train station with all the usual subjects, but not a real problem here for me.
Nightlife anyone?. Another plus is the walking distance for the "Quai des Paludades", the place to go this way.
A shorty night, breakfast was preordered and everything there what I need in the morning.
These baguettes, not possible to find something like this in Germany.
No time to wait for check-out later on and by the airport bus shuttle, ticket return 12,00 Euro´s ready for the next flight by AirFrance for Paris-Orly.
The fare 89,60 Euro´s, sure ok here.
Downsides?. Well, Rue Charles Domercq where the hotel is located, is not that really welcoming, garbage around and somewhat smelly. But sure not the hotels fault.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FLIEGER67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Spent two nights here. Staff was always cheerful and helpful. Rooms are well lit, always clean and very comfortable. Conveniently located right next to the Bordeaux Saint Jean train station, you'll find two tramway stations a couple minutes from the lobby. I heard some travelers expressed their concern that the zone seemed a bit shady but having stayed in this area twice in a three year period, I've never had any sort of trouble.

Also, there is a Carrefour Market and several kebab restaurants nearby, which comes in handy at times. It's worth noting that you'll need a code to use the WiFi connection, but you can get one (or three) from the friendly folks at the front desk. They're also multi lingual.

Breakfast buffet is varied, with something for everyone, and served until 10 AM. You can also store your luggage there after you check out for a 2,5 € fee. This will be a life saver if you have to go on an excursion, for example.

Room Tip: I strongly suggest you book this hotel via the Bordeaux Tourism Office. Take advantage of the Bordea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ferretbite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bordeaux hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Gare Saint Jean
Best Western Gare Saint Jean
#19 of 174 in Bordeaux
515 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Budget Bordeaux Gare Saint Jean
0.0 mi away
Ibis Bordeaux Centre Gare Saint Jean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Bordeaux Gare Saint-Jean
0.3 mi away
Aquitain Hotel
Aquitain Hotel
#88 of 174 in Bordeaux
101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mercure Bordeaux Centre Gare Saint Jean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Bordeaux Centre - Gare Saint-Jean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Bordeaux Centre - Gare Saint-Jean

Property: Campanile Bordeaux Centre - Gare Saint-Jean
Address: 6 Rue Charles Domercq, 33800, Bordeaux, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 174 Hotels in Bordeaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Bordeaux Centre - Gare Saint-Jean 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With modern architecture and friendly staff, the 3-star Campanile Hotel Bordeaux - Gare Saint Jean combines comfort and modernity. The Bordeaux region is renowned for its fine vineyards - the Emilion vineyards and the Médoc wine trail are both within driving distance of the hotel. Getting around Situated just 100m from Saint Jean railway station, the hotel enjoys a convenient location for travel throughout France. You'll find us a five-minute’s walk from Bordeaux’s historic city centre, which features on the UNESCO World Heritage list. Explore local attractions including the Place des Quinconces, the Bourse and the Grand Théâtre. Our hotel is 20 minutes from the Palais des Congrès and 11km from the Grand Stade Stade Matmut in Bordeaux. The Bordeaux-Mérignac airport is only 13 kilometres away, and you can catch a private shuttle bus from the railway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Campanile Bordeaux Centre - Gare Saint-Jean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing