We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice little piece of France”
Review of Restaurant du Loup

Restaurant du Loup
Reserve with
Restaurant du Loup is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #43 of 2,381 Restaurants in Bordeaux
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $43
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Rue Sainte-Catherine
Description: Quartier Pey Berland
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A nice little piece of France”
Reviewed February 10, 2012

It was our daughter's 21st birthday; we went to visit her in Bordeaux on her Erasmus year, and we wanted somewhere really nice to celebrate. We chose this restaurant on the strength of the tripadvisor reviews. Looks quite unprepossessing from outside but very nice inside. We were the only people there which was probably due to the awful weather conditions outside...snow and ice. But we had a very nice meal. The menu is small, two set menus with three choices for each course. However the quality was excellent. We told them, in our broken French, that it was our daughter's 21st birthday. When it came to the desserts, they brought hers with some special edible decorations and a 21st candle! Very nice touch. Dinner for four with the set menus, a bottle of wine and coffees was 130euros. Good value for money and a lovely meal in a great atmosphere. The piped piano music was a very graceful extra touch and added to the "Frenchness" of the ambience. If you're in Bordeaux definitely give Le Loup a try.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank uwcgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    128
    20
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
Reviewed December 16, 2011

My wife and I ate at Le Loup our first night in Bordeaux. It was an excellent meal -- a very homey comfortable dining room, wonderful service, and delicious food, which exceeded our expectations. We took our time, enjoying an affordable and terrific bottle of wine. Highly recommended for hearty and tasty French food at a reasonable price.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank prosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We had a wonderful meal at Le Loup a few nights ago. It is a very small restaurant not with very many tables and we felt lucky to get a reservation last minute. It has a nice cosy atmosphere. Dinner set menus are 25 and 35 Euro, which seem very reasonable given the interesting and great quality food. We particularly liked the melon and ham cold soup amuse bouche, and the main course pigeon was fantastic. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ugm3ega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulu, Finland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, nice athmosphere”
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Nice little restaurant on a narrow street, with excellent food and polite service. Old-fashioned, but still charming interiors. Traditional french food with a twist.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank NeitiMatkailija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed July 7, 2011

We were walking down a narrow alley and came across this place. The outside looks quite terrible and we had second thoughts about entering, but our hunger got the better of us.

Inside is a very cute, German wood inspired restaurant with just a few tables and a calm, cozy atmosphere. Were were seated at a table for two and given the menu.

At a place like this ordering a full menu rather than just one item is your best option. Prices were reasonable (20-30 euro for a 3-course dinner).

The waiter (one single woman) was a tad slow to get to us and we had to wait quite some time between course, but I must say that it was all worth is. The food was amazing, the best we had on our entire trip. It was more of an experimental cuisine will small delicate meals served on large plates, perfectly cooked with the most amazing sauces. For starters we had a cod and shrimp mashed and packaged and fried in a square spring role wrapper served with a side of salad with oil and vinegar.

Our main course was a tender lamb fillet divided into 4 squares and served with mashed broccoli and stir fried potatoes. The meat was of fantastic quality and was also served with some sort of red wine sauce that fit perfectly.

In contrast dessert was somewhat boring, but that may have been partly due to our lack of adventures taste when ordering from the menu. I went with chocolate mouse cake and my brother with ice cream. I don't think they are too innovative with the desserts, but next time I will ask for a recommendation rather then choose the one that seemingly contains the most chocolate.

All in all we paid a spot over 60 € (including a half bottle of red, excluding tips). We found it very much worth it and the food much better than the restaurant we visited the day after, Le Gabriel, where food was simply reasonable and the service appalling.

We recommend Le Loup very highly.


Le Gabriel (http://www.tripadvisor.com/Restaurant_Review-g187079-d1538814-Reviews-Le_Gabriel-Bordeaux_Gironde_Aquitaine.html)

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank hmottestad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant du Loup also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant du Loup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing