We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never judge a book by its cover!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Villa - Bordeaux Chambres d'hotes
Ranked #1 of 88 Bordeaux B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Never judge a book by its cover!”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

When we drove into Bordeaux, we came in through the industrial section and wondered if we were in the right city. It looked terrible, dirty and seedy. We found the hotel by driving past it three times because two blus doors on the street didn't reveal the garden and hotel behind it at all!

We decided to give it a try and Volia!

The setting is unusual and is a full house and b & b off the street. Very private and the decor is very tasteful. We stayed in Garonne for the first night which was big and very earthy in feel. Extremely comfortable beds and pillows - our best yet!. We stayed in 'Goya' the second night and its finished in reds and oranges and quite funky - we liiked it. A smaller room but well decorated and again comfortable beds.

The hosts are great - explaining the city and the sights very well. Thank you! Breakfast was nicely done with yogurts, stewed fruit, breads and croissants. Fresh ''jus'' and coffee was great.

Location is just off the óld city'and an easy walk (20 to 25 mins) to all parts of the city.

Bordeaux is one of the most beautiful cities I have ever seen with outstanding architecture and detail! Just so much to see and every avenue leads to another gem. So many great restaurants to choose from and very comfortable to walk around into the wee hours of the night. A BIG bonus is the food market on the Garonne river on a Sunday morning. More delicious food than your eyes can imagine !!!

Room Tip: Garonne is neutral colours and a nice verandah to walk out onto - big in size Goya is amore private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimKyalami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    27
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
41
244
12
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

definitely agree with all the other posters about this place. dany picked us up from the train station in her car (for no additional cost) and her service to us throughout our stay was just as good. we stayed in the garonne room which was spacious and very clean. the morning breakfast was great and on the second morning, she even cooked us some eggs. they were very willing to tell us where to go to see the sites and to eat and even provided us a bus pass for the few days that we were there. the only thing you want to be aware of though is that it is a university town and it is close by to a lot of pubs, so just be aware that there will be a lot of students late at night if you are returning late. would highly recommend for future stays.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swk2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
120 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Stepping through the blue doorway into La Villa was like setting foot into a different world from the busy road on which the door stood. Instead of stepping directly inside a building, you find yourself facing a lovely house fronted by a large, sunny terrace set approximately 60 feet back from the street itself. You'll also find yourself greeted by Daniele, the owner, who greeted us warmly and offered us drinks, maps and guides to Bordeaux.

Our room, the Victoire, was clean, modern and spacious. It was cool thanks to the air conditioning (given that it was approximately 30 degrees outside, that was a godsend) and there was free wi-fi available in the room. It was also striking how quiet the room was and, thanks to the comfort of the beds, it made for a fantastic night's sleep.

Daniele and her husband Francois were extremely friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough to make us comfortable, including dropping us back at the station to catch our bus to the airport. They also provided a fantastic breakfast each day in the sunshine on the terrace consisting of cheese, meat, beautiful croissants, yoghurt, jams etc.

Location wise, the B&B is in a great place. No more than 20 minutes walk to any of the major sights and perfectly convenient even if you're on foot.

Bordeaux itself was lovely and we'd be happy to go back but La Villa is almost reason in itself to return and we would definitely try to re-book in future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lenrichman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

The moment myself and my three friends stepped through the blue doors off the busy main street we were greeted by the lovely Dany who with her husband Francois promptly helped us with our luggage and offered us some juice. After allowing us to settle in they then provided us with a guide book and maps and other information about where to go and the best places to eat etc.

The location of the B&B is absolutely fantastic, only a short stroll to the main part of the old city and all of the shopping areas. It is also close to the train station and river.

The rooms were totally lovely, very well decorated and the beds were to dye for! The bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in and the sheets were so silky I didn't want to get out of bed in the mornings, even though the breakfasts were equally as amazing! On the first morning Dany made us Croque Monseuir which was particularly yummy.

We made the most of the sunshine on the second afternoon of our stay by lazing about on the terrace, which has sunloungers and cushions for the guests to use. They also have a hot-tub which we didn't get to use but saw other guests making use of it.

At the end of our stay Dany even offered to drop us all at the train station which was such a nice thing to do. They both really look after the guests as if they were family.

Overall I would say if you are staying in Bordeaux for any length of time you must stay here as it takes the whole city break to a completely different level, as other people have mentioned already the moment you walk through the blue doors it is like walking into a lovely idylic retreat, you do not feel at all as if you are in the center of one of France's biggest cities.

Room Tip: All rooms have en-suite and are decorated to a very high standard. There are two rooms on the ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucc72001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

On our way out of the Dordogne we spent two nights in Bordeaux at Danielle and Francois’ Chambres d'hotes. We’re only sorry we could not stay longer. On a busy street and just a couple of minutes’ walk from the Place de la Victoire and its tram stop, it is an oasis of calm once you step through the blue doors (with the center of Bordeaux’s old town only a 20 minute walk, we never needed to take the tram). At no other B&B have we been greeted by a check-in aperitif! We chose the smallest room, which still had enough space for us. The breakfasts were varied and excellent, and our hosts were very helpful with sightseeing and restaurant suggestions. When we left Francois made sure we got to the train station in plenty of time to catch the airport bus. We hope to spend more time in Bordeaux; if we can this is where we will want to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S&JB1180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2012

This place really is the jewel in the crown. Having arrived somewhat brow beaten by the loss of luggage Daniele and Francois welcomed us into their home and went about smoothing the drama by contacting the relevant company.
Beautiful crisp linen, incredibly comfortable bedding and mattress rested the weary bones.
Sharing the breakfast table with the other guests we dined on delicious fruits, yoghurt and the gourmet treat of the day served on elegant tableware and napery by our friendly relaxed hosts.
Both Daniele and Francois were willing to share the gems of Bordeaux - where to walk, people watch, shop, eat and drink and enjoy wonderful day tours in the french country side.
Their happy demeanour and can do attitude made our stay an absolute pleasure and we relish the day we can return to this lovely part of France.

Room Tip: Victoire room - green for Vitality
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at La Villa very much. Dany and Francois are charming hosts. Breakfasts are superb and the whole experience delightful. Very highly recommended.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 79510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bordeaux hotels
1.1 mi away
Le Boutique Hotel
Le Boutique Hotel
#3 of 173 in Bordeaux
861 reviews
1.2 mi away
Yndohotel
Yndohotel
#1 of 173 in Bordeaux
340 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mama Shelter Bordeaux
Mama Shelter Bordeaux
#5 of 173 in Bordeaux
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Bordeaux Centre
1.2 mi away
Hotel de Tourny
Hotel de Tourny
#2 of 173 in Bordeaux
366 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Burdigala Bordeaux - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa - Bordeaux Chambres d'hotes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa - Bordeaux Chambres d'hotes

Property: La Villa - Bordeaux Chambres d'hotes
Address: 49 B cours de la Somme, 33800, Bordeaux, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Bordeaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of peace and comfort in the heart of a popular district!At only a few minute walking from the historic districts and the storekeepers, this guest house recently renovated will charm you by its spaces allying intimacy and comfort in a spacious and green frame.After a long journey, one day of work or visit, appreciate its 5 comfortable rooms (queen beds, private shower-rooms and toilets, free WiFi, air conditioning, etc.) and spaces of conviviality completely rethought to favor the exchanges with the other guests or your host (lounge - fireplace, kitchen area, Jacuzzi, bar, terrace, etc.). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your La Villa - Bordeaux Chambres d'hotes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bordeaux Chambres d`Hotes Hotel Bordeaux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing