We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Dinner”
Review of Cafe Maritime

Cafe Maritime
Reserve a Table
2
Sat, 7/20
8:00 PM
Ranked #469 of 3,052 Restaurants in Bordeaux
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: The restaurant Café Maritime , located minutes from downtown Bordeaux , invites you to a gourmet getaway in a 700m2 hangar with elegant and stylish decoration. Menu , the chef will delight you with its creative and authentic French cuisine adapted to every palate. Slate offers rich and tasty dishes that will make your taste buds like pluma iberica confit in duck fat or roast zander with brown butter . If the sun agrees to disclose , you can enjoy your meal on the terrace and enjoy ! A place to discover and to discover urgently !
Reviewed May 22, 2019

An average standard restaurant that does not justify a special trip from Bordeaux centre, but convenient if you are in the Cite du Vin or going to La Dame floating nightclub nearby. Poor oysters, barely fresh, despite having Arcachon just down the road. Tough veal chops. Decent tuna. As I said, just average.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank petermD7849OV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (400)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 400 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2018

Booked for 40 people, limited set menu, no discount for group, but coffee offered. Piece of broken glass found in one dessert, had to pay for 2 cancellations. Food nice but small portions, glass of wine less than half full, bit stingy, they even tried to charge for someone who tasted the wine. Staff nice and friendly, good service. Would not use again for group booking as too inflexible on booking and menu, but the view and location are practical. Not impressed with no apology or gesture for broken glass from management as extremely disagreeable experience

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sherpa57031527831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2018 via mobile

A great and pleasant surprise. Located close to Cité de Vin in front of the docks. Very good food and wine selections at ok prices.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank LarsboFredsted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2018

I work in the event management business and booked Café Maritime for two corporate dinners on 17 and 20 July.
We reserved the whole restaurant to ensure utmost attention to our guests and we got exactly what we hoped for: a very professional and smiling team that managed a smooth service for respectively 100 and 130 guests, a nice menu with fresh, local and high quality ingredients and a lovely atmosphere.

We went for a tasting in June and selected a 3 courses menu with entrée and main course based on fish: with the name of the restaurant, I believe fish is their specialty and we were not disappointed. The quality of the group meal was as high as the one of our tasting (for those who are not in the events business: this is not something to be taken for granted!).

The dessert we had (pistachio financier red fruits homemade sauce and a quenelle of cream and cottage cheese) was absolutely to remember.
Our guests were all from Italy, so no need to mention they are demanding when it comes to food (and bread, and wine...): I have to say everybody was happy with the dinner!

Do not hesitate to select this restaurant if you need a nice venue for a corporate meal in Bordeaux!

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Klaire81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2018

We were a large group booked for 7.30pm. Admittedly some of us didn't get there until 7.45pm. A few were a little later but this was our first day in Bordeaux and their travel had been delayed. There were 54 of us spread over a number of tables and we didn't all need to start eating at the same time. However we still never received our food until after 9pm. It's not as if the restaurant was busy with other people, they would have been twiddling their thumbs if we hadn't been there. Food was adequate but they managed to get a number of orders wrong even although we had a set menu. I got what I ordered by I'm not sure it tasted of the ingredients I expected. It was edible though.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Carole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Maritime also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Maritime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing