We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent dining experience in the Bordeaux countryside!”
Review of Au Sarment - CLOSED

Au Sarment
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent dining experience in the Bordeaux countryside!”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We went to Au Sarment on our anniversary.
We wanted something really special to celebrate and we thought that this place was great!
The restaurant itself is not really outstanding by its decoration, but the food was amazing.
We had a cocktail as an aperitif, inspired by the Chef's homeland, Martinique. I had a starter of Foie Gras, presented on the plate in 5 different ways. My husband had some scallops. We both had fish for mains, beautifully cooked and presented. The dishes were just warm when they arrived on the table. We wish that they were served on a hot plate so that they did not go cold so quickly.
Dessert was a chocolate tart for me, good but nothing amazing, and ice creams and sorbets selection for my husband. The most interesting flavour was thyme from the herb garden! Delicious! The wasabi flavoured one was a bit too daring on a dessert plate.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    6
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Tasting menu that blew our minds”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

For us this restaurant had the perfect balance of ambiance, service and most importantly taste. Never done a tasting menu before and been completely stuffed - so much great food we loved every bite. Compared to a Michellin starred restaurant we visiting in St Emilion the next day, we preferred Au Sarment.

Price wise it was very reasonable - 60 euros for a delightful feast of flavoursome dishes that did not disappoint.

I wish we lived closer so we could visit every weekend!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daniconnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Elegant dining in the countryside around Bordeaux”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

From the moment you are greeted you know that you are experiencing "haut cuisine" of the best and most imaginative kind. The restaurant is a restful mixture of whitewashed stone walls and white draperies. The tables are elegant with modern cutlery, china and glass. The "amuse-bouchees" are tantilising - soft cooked eggs in their shells mixed with anchovy and honey sauce and so your evening of discovery begins. I will only offer piecemeal descriptions of the meals enjoyed there - and leave you to discover their delights for yourself. Prawns in Thai style with more spices and tastes than space will allow, St Jacques with a lemon and nut sauce, turbot with pesto, veal liver with polenta and crispy and soft fried onions. The desserts are another subject altogether. I had a plate of apricots - cake, ice-cream, compote.,, The cheeses were fresh and delicious with handmade bread sticks together with fruit conserve. Altogether an experience to be savoured. Expensive? - yes, but worth every cent. A place for special occasions, for elegant dining and sensational tastes.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ReginaldFluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“food less than average, service unfriendly”
Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

we were in the mood for some good food and a nice wine. we followed the trip advisor recommendation for the au sarment as it was near our village we stayed for our vacation. also the website looked nice so we went and were bitterly dissapointed. first of all the lady who owned the place was not even trying to be friendly (everyone has a bad day but not such a bad day...). secondly the food was not what we expected. the crap cake was overspiced, the noix de saint jaquces were ok. the lobster was just nothing. in maine you get a better one for 8 euros on a campground which is more delicious. well and then the pave de thon with foie gras - nice try but... the risotto was overcooked, the thon not fresh and the foie gras average. the dessert is not worth the words. overall it was not worth the money and an evening to spend. too bad. maybe you are more lucky but...

Helpful?
Thank moin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome food and service above and beyond”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

My wife and I and our son ate here for a Sunday lunch. We had the surprise fish menu and it was simply delightful. One course in particular with some vegetables that had a flavour of oysters to them was out of this world. The menu was well priced and perfectly executed.
Our son dropped something on the way back to our car on departing which we had not realised until we were almost 2 hours from the restaurant. The lady who ran the restaurant was so understanding and pleasant about it. She searched the roads nearby found the item that was so important to our son and sent it by post to us.
Great food and true service above and beyond the call of duty. We would highly recommend dining here and we certainly will do so again - without dropping anything on our departure next time.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Relais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Au Sarment also viewed

Le Taillan-Medoc, Bordeaux
Parempuyre, Bordeaux
 
Cenon, Bordeaux
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing