We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good local food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Chistera

Le Chistera
Ranked #11 of 275 Restaurants in Bayonne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $44
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Downtown, between the Cathedral Sainte Marie and the town hall you'll find the famous " Chistera" . Sixty years ago the Marmouyet family created this restaurant , a must in Bayonne. In 1990 Jean Pierre Marmouyet and his wife Maite came back from the USA ( he was a great Jai Alai player in Connecticut and Florida) to take over the family basque restaurant.You'll find it in numerous guides (GaultMillau, le Hubert, le Petit Fute, le Pudlo, le Bottin Gourmand, le Ballarin, le Lonely Planet, Michelin guide vert, le Routard,rough guide… The house spirit: a traditional basque cooking harmonized with fresh products and very kind prices . The fresh hake"koskera", the "piperade", the farm chicken "a la basquaise", the basque cake home made ...should not be missed. same flavors, same courses revisited as the years go by. Jean-Pierre was a professional Jai Alai player, their son Jean Jo is a professional rugby player and guess what ? He 's playing in Bayonne a" l'Aviron Bayonnais" , he began 17 years ago in Bayonne...and never played somewhere else . You know now why you you'll meet so many regulars , you better have a reservation but be sure that anyway they always welcome you with open arms. The place to go : Le Chistera !
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“good local food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We enjoyed a good local dinner at Chistera on a sunday night. The atmosphere is in phase with the name of the restaurant and the service was prompt. The specialty of the Basque region are multiple and the price is correct. I would come back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank P H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    152
    19
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

I will just talk about the food in this review.

The duck is awful - don't order
The Chicken Basque is good, but I did not see anything special in this dish. It is a more or less simple sauce with a simple chicken and simple rice.

The so called "Tuna Tartar" tasted and looked like it made of salmon.

The tuna dish was the only tasty one.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ilya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marmouyet, Gérant at Le Chistera, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Ilya,
Please don't play the perfect gourmet while your lack of knowledge in gastronomy is striking. We perfectly remember you, you and your bad mood . We really don't understand what's in your mind when you go to the restaurant since you and your family spent most of the time playing with your mobiles and did't pay a lot of attention to the food .
We don't have any « tuna tartar » in our menu but « trout tartar ». and it' translated in english ! You don't seem to be aware of it, but it makes a hudge difference. It is true that the taste of trout tartar is close to the taste of salmon tartar, but it has very little to do with the taste of tuna tartar.
You also complained about your « magret de canard » and the chef payed a special attention to your request and had your dish tasted by the entire kitchen staff. Verdict : they found it delicious. And be sure that we are very open and attentive to our (rare) customers criticisms, because we love our job and work hard to get better at it. Maybe you thought you were ordering turkey ? In that case we can understand : duck has a full-bodied taste compared to turkey, you must have been surprised.
Best regards,
Le Chistera's staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham UK
Level Contributor
151 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Top notch family restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

This was one of the few places opened on a Sunday in Bayonne and didn 't disappoint. A pretty much traditional French restaurant menu at a reasonable price. All dishes were very well prepared and service was delightful throughout.
Quite a few locals came in during the evening and the atmosphere was very appealing. If you are looking for a good standard, reasonably priced dinner in Bayonne, look no further.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rydeb0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
301 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Nice Lunch Spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Le Chistera was the perfect place for lunch in Bayonne on a rainy day in May. Shortly after we arrived, the restaurant seemed to fill with locals. The food was good and the service friendly. I enjoyed the fresh asparagus with egg, and my husband like his dish with veal. A pleasant dining experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank marsle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good honest food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

We arrived in Bayonne mid evening and wanted something fairly straightforward close to the hotel. This restaurant was just round the corner and offers good local food well cooked. We shared a plate of charcuterie and waited a while for the fish stew we had ordered. It was worth the wait - piping hot straight from the oven, white fish, mussels and fresh vegetables, needed the knife, fork and spoon provided to enjoy to the last mouthful. This is not fine dining but good honest cooking served by helpful and friendly staff.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Waspsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Chistera also viewed

Bayonne, Basque Country
 
Bayonne, Basque Country
Bayonne, Basque Country
 
Bayonne, Basque Country
 

Been to Le Chistera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing