We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful presentation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Cuiller a Pot

La Cuiller a Pot
Reserve with
La Cuiller a Pot is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 1,415 Restaurants in Strasbourg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $32 - $54
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Ingatestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Beautiful presentation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Our hostess was charming and explained the nuances of the menu which does change,so we were told ,every 2 weeks. the food was superb- good portions - beautifully presented. However ,the last reviewer is correct about the time you wait for your meal. We arrived at 7.30 and ,in common with all the other dinbers, received our starter course at about 9pm , having ,a few minutes prior, been given an amuse bouche.. It was about 10 pm when we had finished our main course and we decided to forgo anything else . Fortunately ,the portions being so generous,it would have been an act of gluttony to have had more anyway.The restaurant is run with monsieur running the kitchen amd madame dealing with the front of house. You cannot help thinking that more staff/ kitchen help is needed but I understand overheads have to be controlled. It is a shame however that a brilliant eating experience was affected by the length of time to obtain your order

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank ALANJL55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    115
    28
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Bring crackers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

I don't expect to have a decent French dinner in 45 minutes, but I do expect to at least be brought a drink in that time. And clocking the wait at La Cuiller à Pot at 45 minutes is generous; we were 15 minutes early for our 8:30pm reservation, so it was pretty much an hour from when we were seated outdoors before we had more than water.

Why didn't we stalk off? Why didn't we slide over to the neighboring Tunisian restaurant, where 6 or 8 tables were seated and served steaming couscous while we sat merely steaming? Well, if you've been adding, it was already 9:15pm, an iffy hour to start looking for another restaurant. And we weren't being exclusively treated to slow service; the other 4 or so tables were in the same non-moving boat. And this was, after all, the top-rated restaurant in Strasbourg.

It gave us plenty of time to speculate. DId the waitress go through the kitchen doors to another universe, where she had to fight epic quests in a different dimension, before resuming her guise as earthly waitress to bring us food? Was the cuisine de marché really something the chef was still figuring out how to cook, out of what he/she had gotten from the market that day? (And la Cuiller à Pot is a "chalkboard" restaurant with only 4 starters and 4 main courses, and those having common side dishes, so really, how difficult could it be?)

After the server came to take our wine order (she looked at our table 3 or 4 times in the meantime, but never actually came back to us), then drop off an amuse-bouche of foie gras in a pain au lait bun, things went at a more normal clip. But there was never any reference to or apology for the bizarrely long lull, which at most French restaurants comes somewhere after the main course to allow for conversation and the polishing off of the wine. Not when the wine order has yet to be taken.

We fell on the amuse-bouche, then on the starters of stuffed saddle of rabbit and coconut-crusted fish fillet with fettucine that followed not too, too long after. If those starters sound a lot like main courses, well, we thought so too. It occurs that there is a reason that restaurants have terrines, soups and other more plate-ready starters on offer: speed. It's a thought. Well, a suggestion, really.

To a dish, the food was more ambitious than amazing, tending toward the hearty and a trifle overcooked. The magret de canard was copious, but suffered most from too long on the heat, with an unidentifiable and undistinguished filling. The monkfish, the last piece of the night, was undeniably not at its peak even wrapped in prosciutto, lacking any of the sweet notes of a well-prepared fresh lotte. The entrecôte, under an herb butter that was again strangely indistinct, was the most popular dish at the table, it and its accompany thick-cut chips, but left us all with the greasy lips.

Dessert? Even though the pace had picked up, we didn't want to risk putting in another order, so no dessert and not even coffee.

Wine was an OK Pierre Arnold 2009 riesling, about €19. WIth wine and shared starters, we averaged €32 a person (about US $40). Overall, prices compare to Paris market menu prices, with à la carte (the only choice) running about €27 for two courses and €35 for three.

Without the wait, we would still have found it a bit surprising that this is restaurant is so well-regarded. With the wait, it is downright confounding.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
10 Thank Expat_road_warrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great dinner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

Very nice and helpful staff, great food (be prepared for big dishes, are alsatian). Next time I would choose this restaurant again.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank LuccaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“inventive and daring”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Lovely couple have small good restaurant where they serve honest and tasty food. Not middle of the road, but all the more likeable. Small price.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
119 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Innovative, but not particularly good food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

I came here encouraged by all the great reviews on tripadvisor. The restaurant is pleasant, you have plenty of space and don't sit wedged in between two other people on either side.
Service is absolutely charming and attentive.
And the menu sounds great. Dishes change every few days or weeks, depending on what is fresh on the market. And the chef has thought of some very innovative creations.
But maybe I was there on an unlucky day. The starter, main dish and dessert that I had ordered all looked and sounded great. But I was seriously disappointed by the taste of all three of them. The ingredients didn't go well with each other. I don't think I will return here.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank PukkaSahib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cuiller a Pot also viewed

Strasbourg, Bas-Rhin
Strasbourg, Bas-Rhin
 
Strasbourg, Bas-Rhin
Schiltigheim, Strasbourg
 

Been to La Cuiller a Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing