We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“++”
Review of Gurtlerhoft

Gurtlerhoft
Ranked #117 of 1,715 Restaurants in Strasbourg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $45
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Mairie Sud
Reviewed May 3, 2019

the restaurant is situated next to the cathedral. it is in the cave. the ambiance is cozy, the waiters are nice. they are cooking the local dishes. the food is good. i was here more times, and i was not fully satisfied only once; because a part of the dish was under-cooked. on another occasions always good.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NunuN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,675)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 1,675 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2019

Although on the tourist trail and used by tour groups, we enjoyed and excellent dinner at Gurtlerhoft. The service was excellent and prompt. Good selection of Alsatian cuisine, and local wines. Recommended.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2019

We stayed just above in the Hotel Cathedrale and walked down to have dinner after the long drive and check in. My wife had the three fish over sauerkraut and I had the house special Bakersoven with three meats and sliced potatoes in a white wine sauce. Both meals were very good, but my house special only had a small portion od two meats(beef and ham). The third meat was supposed to be pork, instead it was a soup bone or a part on the pigs foot -only bone marrow and gristle. I mentioned to the waiter that the menu said three meats, didn't mention one was a bone for flavoring. Of course he said that was the best part...needless to say that wasn't the right thing to say to a person obviously pointing out it wasn't a piece of meat to eat. No tip at that point. Recommend to ask if you care about eating what is stated on the menu or risk getting a soup bone.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank skirkl698058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2019

We went to the Gutlerhoft while visiting our son in Strasbourg and it was a favorite of his while on his work assignment. First you should know this restaurant is almost directly across from the Cathedral in Strasbourg. What an amazing sight as we came out from dinner. The service was excellent and the local flair of Alsatian dishes available is tremendous. Our favorite was the different choices of Roesti available and we each tried a different one. This was my favorite local dish during our time in Strasbourg. Desserts were outstanding as well. The Gutlerhoft take on Black Forest Cake was simply the best dessert I have ever had. A wonderful ambience in the restaurant as I believe it used to be a wine cellar. The buzz and energy from groups and diners made for a wonderful last evening in Strasbourg dining experience! Thank you Gutlerhoft.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jbirdieman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2019 via mobile

Traditional alsacian food, with sauerkraut or sautéed potatoes as a side. Generous portions. We had the Baeckeoffe, which is a mix of meats (lamb, pork and beef) served in a pot with carrots and potatoes. Luckily we hadn’t ordered an entree since the portion was huge. The ambience is very characteristic, it’s like dining in a cellar. Reservation recommended.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Rebecca2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gurtlerhoft also viewed

 
Strasbourg, Bas-Rhin
 
Strasbourg, Bas-Rhin
Strasbourg, Bas-Rhin
 

Been to Gurtlerhoft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing