We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cardiac arrest”
Review of Gurtlerhoft

Gurtlerhoft
Ranked #43 of 1,449 Restaurants in Strasbourg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $40
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Mairie Sud
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
44 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Cardiac arrest”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Enjoyed many lovely meals at "the hoft".Mountains of potatoes and cheese served in different ways, its as solid as the cathedral outside.Rumour is Hitler himself used to eat here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TheNick101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    423
    604
    120
    44
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
178 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Even though this restaurant is large, the atmosphere is cosy and welcoming. The service was very good and the food, including some great local delicacies, was first-rate.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bluepepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Don't miss”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Really nice to be there, excellent food and really nice service!!

We came for 2 nights to Strasbourg and spent the 2 dinners there.
Go !!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eyal_ch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
133 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“What a treat”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

If you want to try something regional and different, then take a trip down the stairs into this unique and delightful cavernous restaurant in the Petite-France area of Strasbourg. There you will discover an Alsacian specialty, "Tarte Flambe", in many variations, savory and sweet -- which is what we bascially stuffed ourselves with one evening, in the celebratory atmosphere of Gurtlerhoft. One of our friends, who'd spent much time there during university, brought us. Otherwise we'd never have known about, nor be able to recommend it.

By the way, Tarte Flambe is not really a tarte at all. It is giant rectangular thin flatbread served on wooden oven paddles. They come topped with meats, vegetables, fruit, sauces, etc, resulting in creamy combinations of flavours and textures that I found both delicious and new to me. You slice them with rollers and delve in.

Decor is photo-worthy (though I lost all the pictures I took inside) and atmosphere is very cozy: elegantly casual with chairs, booth seats, lovely tableware and linens in warm tones. Staff were pleasant and accomodating. Service was both efficient and unhurried. Prices,very reasonable.

A stellar night out all round.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank shnti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great, exotic restaurant”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

This place was recommended by Tripadvisor travelers and a guide book, so we had to give it a try. It's located right in front of the Cathedral, but it isn't so easy to find. There were a lot of people at the front entrance smoking, because alas, the restaurant is non smoking. It was busy inside but we were seated within minutes at the upstairs level. The place is awesome, with a lot of character. Everybody truly enjoyed their food, but me. My son ordered a pork knuckle that was worth the wait, the five meat dish with sauerkraut was very good, and so was the sausage plate. I ordered the original flatbread, but was disappointed with the dish. I just didn't expect it to be cold. My teenage son didn't seem to mind it, he ate it too :0 We had creme brulle for desert, and german beers. The waitress was really nice and helpful. One of the most memorable restaurants of the trip!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lilyblue25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gurtlerhoft also viewed

 
Strasbourg, Bas-Rhin
Strasbourg, Bas-Rhin
 

Been to Gurtlerhoft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing