We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Moderate standard but in an excellent location”
Review of Hotel Cap Europe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Cap Europe
Ranked #121 of 127 Hotels in Strasbourg
Warsaw
Level Contributor
243 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Moderate standard but in an excellent location”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

If you are not looking for something extraordinary, this might be a good solution for your short stay in Strasbourg. The main strength of this apart hotel is its location - some 5 minutes walk from the place de la Republique, in a very elegant area. The city center can be reached within 20-30 minutes walk, the central railway station is just a few stops away.
The studio we were given consisted of 3 pieces: a big entry hall being also a kitchen(ette), equipped with a kitchen table (for up to 4 persons) to sit at and eat; a small moderately equipped sleeping room with 2 separate beds; and a tiny 'French style' bathroom with a washbasin, shower and WC - all crammed in on some 2 square meters.
The overall standard of the place is at best moderate. The towels are quite are harsh and unpleasantly rubbing your face (perhaps it's time to finally replace them?), the bathroom spuns off a bad smell, the TV hangs up on a... side wall of the room, close to the window (if you lie down on your bed, you need to turn right to watch it!), the kitchnette does not have a kettle and has merely a few casual pieces of dish, so do not expect to be able to prepare a refined dinner.
All in all, recommendable for little demands traded off for proximity to the city centre.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Vannegen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    96
    149
    116
    135
See reviews for
89
195
52
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
239 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed with our 3 kids for one night. Price was fair and location good. This place is very basic, don't expect anything fancy. For one night stay on a tight budget it is OK.Location is fine, a walking distance from centre town.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avi911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Me and my friend stayed here in july and I will never stay there again. Arrogant staff and horrible rooms. Our room didn't have AC which turned out to make our nights probably the worst of our lives... The only positive thing about the hotel was that it was close to the tram which took us to the city centre in a few minutes...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DjGouze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Strasbourg hotels

Burgas, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

My wife and I stayed one night here in June 2012 and we cannot think of anything half way nice to say about the "hotel"
Fair enough it's cheap and fairly convenient for the city, but the good points stop there.
Staff were unhelpful and rude, parking had to be paid for (outside the hotel) non-extistent facilities for making tea or coffee. And the rooms themselves ? Glad we had our own towels and bedding because theirs made us feel dirty.
We have stayed at many cheap hotels across Europe on our travels but this rates as the absolute worst.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rich C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

The hotel is really cheap but for the service and the room it would be expensive, its dirty, smells horrible and there is no good presentation for this hotel. It is in a good place but is not tHe best place of Strasbourg, there could be cheaper and better places. I dont recommed It at all, is better to pay a little bit more in a better place.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mpbg09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Good appartments for moderate price. Location between the concerence centre and city centre allows to reach both in 10-15 min. Surpisingly the room for 2 was cheaper than the room for 1 when I booked so I lived alone in the room with large bed. My room was silent. Bathroom is quite small. Only one small peace of soap can be found in the bathroom so I bought shampoo and soap in the small store nearby. Wifi internet is very expensive in this hotel. Breakfasts are expensive (8 euro) and rather poor, but probably it is ok for 2-star hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdn1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed May 17, 2012

The Cap Hotel is great for staying a couple of days in Strasbourg. Good location close to Republique, decent rooms and with helpful staff. Would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Maurice V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Strasbourg hotels
0.7 mi away
City Residence Strasbourg Centre
City Residence Strasbourg Centre
#114 of 127 in Strasbourg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
9.0 mi away
Au Boeuf
Au Boeuf
#1 of 1 in Blaesheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ibis Strasbourg Centre Historique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Comfort Hotel Strasbourg Ouest
Comfort Hotel Strasbourg Ouest
#14 of 127 in Strasbourg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Royal Lutetia
Hotel Royal Lutetia
#70 of 127 in Strasbourg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
1.0 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#96 of 127 in Strasbourg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cap Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cap Europe

Property: Hotel Cap Europe
Address: 6 rue de Bitche, 67000, Strasbourg, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 127 Hotels in Strasbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cap Europe 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel and residence is just a 5-minute walk from the Parc de la Musique Convention Centre and 1.7 km from the Strasbourg European Parliament. It offers a 24-hour reception.The studios and apartments are spacious and can accommodate up to 5 people. Most apartments have kitchens, which include cooking facilities and fridge.Facilities at the Cap Europe Appart'hotel include a 24-hour laundrette and an on-site car park. A buffet breakfast is served every morning and Wi-Fi is free available in the residence’s common areas.Cap Europe is just 200 metres from the Parc du Contades tram stop. The Notre Dame Cathedral and Strasbourg city centre are a 10-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Cap Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cap Europe Hotel
Cap Europe Strasbourg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing