We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem”

Patisserie et Cafe Stein
Ranked #9 of 14 Quick Bites in Strasbourg
Price range: $3 - $12
Cuisines: French
Description: Café Stein provides you with delicious breakfasts just a few meters away from the Strasbourg Cathedral, at the counter or at the table upstairs. You can have your coffee, tea, chocolate or other cool drinks at any time of the day. At lunchtime you have the choice between our two "today's specials" . On the spot or to take away you can taste our sandwiches and our pastries which made the reputation of Café Stein. Open every day from 7:15am to 6:30pm, except Sunday from 7:15am to 12am.
Restaurant details
Description: Café Stein provides you with delicious breakfasts just a few meters away from the Strasbourg Cathedral, at the counter or at the table upstairs. You can have your coffee, tea, chocolate or other cool drinks at any time of the day. At lunchtime you have the choice between our two "today's specials" . On the spot or to take away you can taste our sandwiches and our pastries which made the reputation of Café Stein. Open every day from 7:15am to 6:30pm, except Sunday from 7:15am to 12am.
Reviewed March 5, 2019 via mobile

I love this type of hidden cafes where you can have a great coffee, grab the local newspapers and observe the daily life of « les habitués ».

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank saadetoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 34 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2018

We were told that this is the best place to go for pastry in Strasbourg. We were not disappointed. Go!

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Milept
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2017 via mobile

If English DO NOT VISIT... or don’t wish to meet a REALLY rude version of Basil Fawlty!!

One ⭐️ as you can’t give minus! I have NEVER in my 50+ years come across such an arrogant @@@ as the owner and his wife / assistant of this average cafe. Regrettably both appear anti foreigners and unless you can speak fluent FRENCH I strongly advise avoiding this establishment at all costs. Not however if you desire a bit of verbal abuse directed at your wife and 5 year old child - then this is the place for you !!

The irony is that my wife is German so stupidly (or from previous visits to France) she thought trying to speak bad FRENCH was better than German her native language or English in which she is fluent! It appears their dislike of English people is even greater than their dislike of Germans! He actually speaks German but chose to ramble on in French even once common verbal ground was found! I think he was surprised at her understanding of FRENCH even if she didn’t speak! Lesson being don’t insult customers to locals unless sure they don’t understand what you are saying.
SHOCKED APPALLED and very sad that what was a lovely weekend in Strasbourg was marred by these individuals. There are many establishments in this wonderful city which will provide better food and take your money with politeness and a smile. Don’t feed anti foreigner behavior it has no place.

Date of visit: November 2017
4  Thank NikoHeidelberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2017

Jean-Marie Stein, the owner, has cooked up a great combination of excellent pastries to start off your day with your morning beverage (excellent hot chocolate), and then to return for your lunch over a well-priced and delicious daily suggestion !
High-flying locals come regularly to banter with the witty owner
Great place !

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Scrumptious2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2017

Popped in for a lunch. The host was great, very pleasant and I had the white Asparagus with both cured and local boiled ham,house vinaigrette and mayonnaise, really excellent flavor,light . Pastries were excellent as was coffee.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Patisserie et Cafe Stein also viewed

Strasbourg, Bas-Rhin
Strasbourg, Bas-Rhin
 
Strasbourg, Bas-Rhin
 
Strasbourg, Bas-Rhin
 

Been to Patisserie et Cafe Stein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing