We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bed & breakfast with cathedral view from room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Suisse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Suisse Hotel
Ranked #31 of 128 Hotels in Strasbourg
Certificate of Excellence
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Bed & breakfast with cathedral view from room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

A great 3 star hotel in the heart of the city just metres from the main square and canal system. Breakfast was buffet style and was exceptional in its variety and quality. Would definitely stay here again at price.

Room Tip: Choose cathedral view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    140
    27
    11
    5
See reviews for
71
121
20
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton in Ashfield
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We read a lot of reviews before deciding to stay here for 2 nights and we were highly delighted with it.
It's in an excellent quiet location, close to the cathedral and has a charming untypical hotel frontage. Inside it's a very comfortable place with staff eager to help. We were talking to Nicola(s?) and he recommended that we visit Obernai which we did and had a great time there.
The rooms aren't large, but are perfectly adequate. They're warm, clean and comfortable and we enjoyed 2 good nights sleep, followed by an excellent breakfast.
When we next visit Strasbourg, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

On a whim, we decided to pop over from Stuttgart to Strasbourg for the weekend. On a whim, we picked the Hotel Suisse.

We made the right choice! Yes, as some note, the rooms can be small. However, this is more than made up for by the location - the hotel is literally metres away from the Rohan Palace museums, the Cathedral and 5 minutes from Petit France.

The Hotel Suisse is also special for the friendly, attentive staff who will bend over backwards to keep you happy and answer your questions about the town - the bloke on duty at the desk spent a while with us giving us great tips for exploring the town.

Heck, all discussion of room size is pointless: you don't come to Steasbourg to sit in your hotel room. There's exploring to be done!

The hotel does breakfast every morning for ten bucks - all-you-can-eat continental style. Load up, because Strasbourg is a walking city - you'll be on your feet all day.

Check out the cake store next door - the owner may take time to walk you through his 'madeleine' creations. I'm not much of a cake man, but they were terrific.

We'll be back.

Room Tip: Room five had a great view of the Cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Small and charming hotel is located directly next to the cathedral in the historical downtown. I was very impressed by the hotel atmosphere - historical building in Alsace style, small cafeteria where the tables are decorated with fresh herbs, cozy restaurant...We got a room with the cathedral view. The room was small, but perfectly clean and the bathroom was nice perfumed. The only thing, we missed there, was the fridge, where we could keep cold some drinks in hot summer. We really enjoyed the breakfast. The hotel offers to the guest selection of various french cheese, cereals, marmalade, bread or delicious cakes. If you don't have any extraordinary wishes like caviar :), you can definitely find something for the perfect breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yanna_Ho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

This little hotel was recommended to me by a Strasbourg local as one they use when business visitors come to town. I recently took a group of winelovers on a tour of Alsace and we stayed here at the start of our trip. The management was extremely accommodating of the group of 15 people, and was able to help out with lots of additional information about Strasbourg, traveling around the region and so on. It really is a "charming little family-style hotel", so if you are looking for 5-star luxury, cable TV and room service - this is not the hotel for you! On the other hand, if you want to interact with real, caring people, (who have good English) and eat classic, traditional French breakfasts, then I suggest yous stay at the Hôtel Suisse. A few minor things may strike people as a little annoying - the boiled eggs are only served at the weekend for breakfast (but this is a very traditional French notion anyway) and the rooms are mostly very small. Ask for Room 6 if you are traveling alone - very bright and airy. One more slight hassle if you are traveling with a group and need to get luggage onto a coach - you will need to take it to Place du Corbeau which is about 300m from the hotel as the streets round that area are all too narrow for a bus to get through. However, this is not the hotel's fault - it is just the nature of Strasbourg's old quarters.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryGarland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
153 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

This hotel was typically French, had a fantastic location near the cathedral and a beautiful terrace where we ate breakfast and then wine cheese and bread in the evenings. One thing to be aware of they do NOT have a baby bed (or maybe they do and it had been taken). Either way if you have a baby make sure you specifically ask about the baby sleeping arrangement. My mother in law booked us rooms 1 for her n my father in law, 1 for my husband, myself, our 5yr old n 1 yr old we got a room with a double bed. Maybe she should've been more specific when booking but we all assumed the room would accommodate 4 as she'd said there would be 4 of us in the one room. Just don't make our mistake but do check this hotel out because the location and outdoor ambiance are lovely. Also the chocolate/bistro 2doors down was awesome and also had nice service adding to our overall experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jinx101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
128 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 378 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

The hotel, despite not perfect, holds a special place in my heart.

My parents, when young and unmarried, used to often go to the Suisse Hotel for long weekends. My fiancé and I have taken up the tradition. We go to Strasbourg once a year when spring comes and stay at the Suisse.

Yes the rooms are small, but they are cosy and full of life. We usually ask for a room at the front of the hotel, facing the Lycée Fustel de Coulanges and the impressive cathedral. It can get a little warm during the night; opening the window will sort it out. Beware in the mornings, it will get noisy with the lycée students standing and chatting in front of the school.

Breakfast is €9.50 per person, Kugelhopf, streussel, Brioche, as well as other classic choices (ham,cheese,eggs,fruit,etc....). Fairly standard.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alexandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Strasbourg hotels
Hotel Rohan
#17 of 128 in Strasbourg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Mairie Sud
Hotel Cathedrale
Hotel Cathedrale
#47 of 128 in Strasbourg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Petite France Nord Est
Hotel Gutenberg
Hotel Gutenberg
#12 of 128 in Strasbourg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Krutenau Nord Ouest
Hotel Roses
Hotel Roses
#51 of 128 in Strasbourg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Hotel Hannong
#10 of 128 in Strasbourg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Petite France Nord Ouest
BEST WESTERN Hotel De L'Europe by HappyCulture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suisse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suisse Hotel

Property: Suisse Hotel
Address: Entree 2 2 rue de la Rape, 67000, Strasbourg, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg > Mairie Sud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 128 Hotels in Strasbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Suisse Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Suisse is one of the best addresses in Strasbourg. The Hotel Suisse is a genuine Strasbourg hotel offering modern, comfortable surroundings in 25 cozy rooms which all have a view of the cathedral's steeple, just 50 yards away. Nice Alsacian Breakfast buffet every day 7-10 a.M (10.9€/Pers.). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Suisse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suisse Hotel Strasbourg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing