We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice rooms, a few minor glitches”
Review of Hotel Gutenberg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Gutenberg
Ranked #11 of 127 Hotels in Strasbourg
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
115 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great location, nice rooms, a few minor glitches”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

This hotel is just a few blocks away from the cathedral, but (mostly!) away from the tourist traffic. The room was comfortable, the staff was helpful, and the breakfast good but not as much of a selection as in some hotels.

A few minor glitches: (1) the hotel's free WiFi is very fast when it works, but it was offline (for the whole hotel, apparently) one entire day. (2) As with many European hotel baths, the shower head is great but the concept of a "shower door" seems to have escaped someone. There's just a short glass panel to keep shower spray from ending up on the floor. Worse, it's rendered entirely useless because it creates a channel between the side of the tub and the panel, so all of the water that collects there lands directly on the floor. (3) My room overlooked the side street (Rue du Miroir). I opened the window a bit at night (otherwise the room was kind of warm) and on one night all was quiet -- but the second night, the club across the street must have closed at around 5am, and a large, noisy crowd gathered outside for a while. So maybe you should avoid this side of the hotel if you like to sleep with the window open.

Room Tip: If you like to sleep with the window open, avoid the rooms facing the Rue du Miroir on a night when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gutenberg60, Manager at Hotel Gutenberg, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your review! We are pleased to read the positive comments you mentioned regarding the staff and our nice location. Guests satisfaction is our highest priority that is the reason why we pay attention to the problems mentioned.

Looking forward to welcoming you a next time.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    463
    93
    20
    20
See reviews for
145
561
55
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Valdosta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
444 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Were here for one night. Modern and clean....service was quite good. Room was small but quite adequate...although my wife complained a bit about the double bed. That, however, is what I booked so not a fault of the hotel. Nice breakfast buffet. The best part of the stay was the night manager who worked late afternoon and early evenings. He recommended and made reservations at a fantastic nearby restaurant; provided suggestions for driving directions and was overall quite helpful. One of the hotels other assets is its location: a short block from the Cathedral in the middle of old town.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gutenberg60, Manager at Hotel Gutenberg, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write this great comment on TripAdvisor, following your recent stay with us. It was a real pleasure to read that you were satisfied with our services and enjoyed your stay with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you!

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is very near the Cathedral (but not next to it - so you are away from the tourist crowd). The hotel is an old building and the elevator is tiny; it barely fits two people with small luggage. We were upgraded to a privileged room. The decor is modern and the bed is comfortable. If you have a car and park in the nearby parking garage, the parking fee is quite expensive (>20 euros), but if you don't mind a 15-minute walk, then you can park in a garage (Garage Austerlitz) on the other side of the river for 11 euros a day. The breakfast is great with plenty of food. The staff is very friendly. We had an enjoyable stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Una Lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gutenberg60, Manager at Hotel Gutenberg, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write this great comment on TripAdvisor, following your recent stay with us. It was a real pleasure to read that you were satisfied with our services.
Looking forward to welcoming you!

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
293 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

On arrival we were given an upgrade which was very nice and although we had a street room it was okay being early week. The room was clean, modern and loved the funky lighting. The room included free wi fi, a very large screen TV and a good breakfast which for the price paid was a very good deal. The staff were really nice and helpful. We parked in the underground next door for convenience there is cheaper parking elsewhere. Everything we wanted to see was walking distance and have to say was one of the loveliest places we visited.

Room Tip: away from the street on weekends only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankChris545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gutenberg60, Manager at Hotel Gutenberg, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Sir,

It was a pleasure to welcome you in our hotel and we thank you very much for your very nice review with your 2 pictures!

Looking forward to welcoming you soon!
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed 3 nights in October in privilege room, it was very pleasant and comfortable. The toilet was a bit narrow but the bathroom was quiet big. I liked modern room design. Beds were convenient as well. Room was neat and clean, tidied every day. Breakfast was enough and delicious. Although I missed some hot meals. Staff was at disposal any time and very kind and helpful. Location is the best. You go out of the hotel and a view to the cathedral welcomes you. Petit France just 10 minutes walk. I think I got what I paid for, I can recommend! Zsuzsa

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zsuzska I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gutenberg60, Manager at Hotel Gutenberg, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write your nice comment on TripAdvisor, following your recent stay with us. It was a real pleasure to know you were satisfied with our services and enjoyed your stay with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you!

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
319 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Maybe because it was a Saturday night, there was a lot of happy revellers on the street until early hours. Not quiet at all. We were also on the first floor facing the street, room 102. Maybe better on the week nights when people aren't partying so much. However, the location is close to the best, and found the staff to be extremely helpful with recommendations and booking reservations. Reasonable priced car park 5-7 minute away, or moe expensive one very close by. You can drive to front door very easily to drop off or pick up luggage.

Room Tip: Get as high up and with room number higher 5 and up. E.g. Room 206, 407 etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leslie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gutenberg60, Manager at Hotel Gutenberg, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for your review! We are pleased to read the positive comments you mentioned regarding the staff and the location. We are encouraged by your comment and our guests satisfaction is our highest priority. We have double glazed windows but our hotel is located in the city center and sometimes we can heard some people shouting in the street, we are sorry for that. We are looking forward to welcoming you again!

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
109 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

We spent three nights in September. The hotel is right in the middle of the city. The staff were friendly and had good recommendations on resturants and things happening. Our room was clean, comfortable, a little small, but priced appropriately. I think you get what you pay for here. The breakfast room was tight, but this is a big city in Europe and the croissants are fresh and delicious. Loved the staircase.

Parking is very nearby.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Milesaday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gutenberg60, Manager at Hotel Gutenberg, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write this great comment on TripAdvisor. Our guests appreciate especially the personal atmosphere of our hotel and our central location.
It was a real pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you!

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Strasbourg hotels
Petite France Nord Ouest
Best Western Hotel De L'Europe
Best Western Hotel De L'Europe
#12 of 127 in Strasbourg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Hotel Hannong
#10 of 127 in Strasbourg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Petite France Nord Est
Hotel Le Bouclier d'Or
Hotel Le Bouclier d'Or
#2 of 127 in Strasbourg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Hotel D
#3 of 127 in Strasbourg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Petite France Centre
Regent Petite France & Spa
Regent Petite France & Spa
#6 of 127 in Strasbourg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gutenberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gutenberg

Property: Hotel Gutenberg
Address: 31 rue des Serruriers, 67000, Strasbourg, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg > Petite France Nord Est
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Strasbourg
#4 Family Hotel in Strasbourg
#4 Business Hotel in Strasbourg
#10 Luxury Hotel in Strasbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gutenberg 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Gutenberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gutenberg Hotel Strasbourg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing