We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spa is wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Le Bouclier d'Or
Ranked #2 of 129 Hotels in Strasbourg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This hotel was just the thin we needed after a whirlwind sight seeing tour of Paris. My wife and I stayed here for two nights and were so impressed by the hotel. It is in a nice area of town very close to La Petit France. The rooms are amazing. The beds are so comfortable. Our bathroom had a rainfall shower and heated floors. The Spa was wonderfully relaxing with two saunas (dry and wet), a cold pool, two different showers with various jets and a jacuzzi. The staff were very friendly and helped us find great restaurants. We would definitely go back and we wished we could have stayed longer.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Medkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Le Bouclier d'Or
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 420 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

We planned for one night and had to stay for two. The hotel is right in the old city, as you step out of the hotel you are Iim the shopping and restaurant area..the restaurant that the hotel recommended was great..the hotel has a jacuzzi in the basement with hot dry sauna and a steam room with a plunge pool. Nice after a day of walking. We put our car away for the whole time. Hotel was a little tricky to get to so call them for directions - the staff are so helpful! Breakfast is also excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cateboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We loved this hotel. The rooms are spacious, the bed is one of the best I have ever slept in, the linen is beautiful and the breakfast was excellent. The building dates from 1550, with a beautiful stone spiral staircase, and has only recently been turned into a hotel with a great deal of thought and care. The free wi-fi was excellent, there are lots of power outlets to recharge your devices and the spa in the lower level of the hotel was beautiful. The staff are very approachable and friendly. The hotel is in a very quiet area of the old town which is only for pedestrians and blocked off with bollards to cars, so you have to phone when you get to the bollard and they come and lower the bollard so you can drive in and unload. Then they will park your car for you for 15 euros a night, which I advise you do as there is no need for your car in the town. We'd definitely come back here.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Navigat0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We selected this hotel online going by its antique looks. The original house is supposed to be more than 300 years old, but the inside is completely modern with touches of the old charm.
It is in the heart of the old city and accessible only on foot. The hotel provided us car parking space in nearby parking lots, about 50 meters away.
The rooms are well fitted and the bathrooms are too modern to figure out how the toilet fittings work. Wish someone gave us a guided tour of the bathroom and its fittings.
The spa and its ambience is outstanding, in the cellar of the building. A must visit for all future guests.
The staffs were friendly, courteous and helpful.
We had a family room for 4 persons, with a main bedroom with bath and another bedroom in the attic for the children. Wish they had thought about privacy for people occupying both sleeping areas. The rooms were slightly bare and could have used more soft furnishings like carpets, rugs, paintings etc.
Walk around the old city with its cathedrals and museums were enchanting, especially the walk along the canal. During day time the place is bustling with tourists. Dont miss out the various mechanisms applied in helping the navigation of boats and ferries in the canal. Was truly amazing how these constructions were made in the old days. Some of the old structures now housing restaurants over looking the canal were outstanding.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on higher levels so that you have nice views of the surroundings.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank najmudin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We visited Strasbourg for the christmas markets in December and loved this hotel. It recently opened (< 1 year ago) which is why there aren't many reviews. Previously, it was an apartment building. It is situated in Petite France.. you can walk anywhere.. we did so in freezing cold weather.. the room was beautiful, felt chalet-esque... staff couldn't have been friendlier They have a beautiful bar in the lobby where you can enjoy an aperitif before going out to dinner. I liked that this hotel wasn't in the same area as the Cathedral.. where it's flooded with souvenir stands.. its removed yet close to everything. I would most definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlblock1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed here during the Christmas Markets in December. This hotel was definitely one of the highlights of the trip. This would be my special weekend getaway of choice. (Unfortunately I live in the Southern hemisphere or I would be looking for excuses to go all the time)

The spa showers were divine. 15 minuites in them un-did approximately 3 years of stress.

Staff were friendly, helped find and book restaurants. You couldn't ask for more. One of the best hotel breakfast selections in France. Don't hesitate, just book.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becstar_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

My colleage in Strasbourg booked me a room here as he is friends with the owner. The hotel is more like a bed and breakfast with 22 rooms in the heart of Strasbourg. I was in room 22 on the top (4th) level. The room was a renovated attic with small windows and amazing views of the nearby cathedrals. If windows were opened, you could hear the church bells on the hour but room was quiet when windows were closed.
The bed and pillows were soft yet comfortable. The room and bathroom were clean with standard walk in shower (no door).
Breakfast was 22 euro but as with EVERY meal I eat in France, it was fabulous.
The front staff speak English and were incredibly helpful, arranging a cab for me in the morning to the airport and making a new key for me when I lost mine.
Easy walking distance to sights and shopping (note store open around 10am each day).
Cost is very reasonable, too, given the level of comfort and attention.
I didn't get to spend time in the spa but that gives me a reason to come back and stay longer next time!

Room Tip: The airport in Strasbourg is extremely small and I wasn't impressed with the service offered by...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobcat18793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Strasbourg hotels
Petite France Centre
Regent Petite France & Spa
Regent Petite France & Spa
#5 of 129 in Strasbourg
1,040 reviews
Hotel D
#3 of 129 in Strasbourg
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Strasbourg Grande Ile
#10 of 129 in Strasbourg
1,342 reviews
Hotel Hannong
#7 of 129 in Strasbourg
952 reviews
Hotel Les Haras
#4 of 129 in Strasbourg
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Bouclier d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Bouclier d'Or

Address: 1 rue du Bouclier, 67000, Strasbourg, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg > Petite France Nord Est
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 129 Hotels in Strasbourg
Price Range: $191 - $445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Bouclier d'Or 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Le Bouclier d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing