We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So religious”

Musee des Beaux-Arts
Ranked #36 of 162 things to do in Strasbourg
Attraction details
Tripoli, Lebanon
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“So religious”
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Nice paintings, nice ambiance, but most of the paintings were religious related to christianity ... Mmm dont lose ur time here, if u want to see it, then not more than 1 hour, it doesnt worth ...

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank User U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    71
    17
    8
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Otterbach, Germany
Level Contributor
49 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice Museum”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I thought this museum was pleasant and I found quite a few works that I really enjoyed. I am not overly knowledgeable about art or artists, but I don't think there are any major works by major artists here. There is no audio guide (that I know of) and the information cards and placards in each room are in French (obviously), so you're on your own with the pieces. However, anyone with a basic knowledge of history, mythology and language will still understand what is happening in the works enough to appreciate them. The museum is thoughtfully laid out, and I found at least one interesting work in each room. It also has the bonus of being located inside the Palais Rohan, which is a stunning building on its own. It is a nice way to spend an hour or so. Worth the visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, OK
Level Contributor
82 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good Museum.”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

There were lots of pieces of art to be seen here. A fair variety is exhibited. The admission price is reasonable, and some of the wall placards have English information, which is a plus, but not a necessity. It was a good way to spend some of our time. Also great if the weather is not ideal.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank RachelCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trieste, Italy
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“very well exposed and explained”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I'm not an art expert sincerely but I think the art piece exposed are quite important..., but what I really really appreciated of this museum as difference from othes also more important, is that finally I found a museum with a well done explanation under each piece. Under each piece there is the story and meaning of the subject in few lines. Finally I really enjoyed a museum!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank p r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Art”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Very comprehensive collection from medieval to modern. The collection has a few examples of well known artists but naturally is best on local (i.e. alsace) However, it follows the course of art history and is well worth a visit.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pamela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musee des Beaux-Arts also viewed

 

Been to Musee des Beaux-Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing