We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Hotel Cathedrale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Cathedrale
Ranked #61 of 130 Hotels in Strasbourg
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Friends and I stayed at the Hotel Cathedrale in Strasbourg in August for one night. Wish we could have stayed longer! The hotel's location could not have been more convenient. It rained while we were there but we were close to sights and restaurants. The rooms were small but clean, the bathrooms modern and the breakfast ample and very good. The staff was ok. Would definitely stay there again. Love Strasbourg!

Room Tip: Two of us faced the cathedrale. Since it rained there was no light show at the cathedrale but also n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (461)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 461 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

We were a group of four and had booked two rooms in this quaint and Art Deco type hotel which is well situated right across from the cathedral itself which is one of the main attractions in the city.

The buffet breakfasts where wonderful and the view of the cathedral each morning was awe-inspiring.

The staff were exceptionally nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ahoo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Iris E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

A sight worth seeing, a vision of you... "

If the sight you are looking for is the Cathedral of Strasbourg, then this is the place because this is a close as you can get. The hotel itself is an architectural casse-tete. It is a steady up and down of staircases and corridors. The rooms themselves are just fine, the have tried to give them a uniform "design", but it hasn't been implemented very consequently. The bathrooms are also o.k.

The main selling argument for this hotel, however, is its location. It is placed right opposite the entrance to the mighty (and beautiful) Strasbourg cathedral. The day of our stay, we went in the evening to a performance of Mozart's Requiem in the Cathedral, had a dinner at the Maison Kammerzell and then went to bed at the hotel Cathedral. All this within a perimeter of 150 meter. And then the view! (You can't help humming Blondie's "picture you" - see introductory quote)

The downside of the central location is of course that you cannot expect this to be a quiet place. There is the odd band of party goers who cross the square laughing at 3'o clock in the morning and at seven the cleaning squad moves in to clean the square.

Price: 201 euro for a double bedroom without breakfast but with view onto the Cathedral. As all hotels in Strasbourg during session weeks of the European Parliament heavily overpriced.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank xandiK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is an exceptionally well kept and tastefully appointed three-star hotel right in front of the Strasbourg Cathedral. The room 34 had spectacular views of the Cathedral and historic Kammerzell House (as usual, the view comes with some noise). The room was a bit smallish for eur 200 a night but not exactly tiny.
I tried the hotel-provided garage parking for one night and was not quite impressed: it’s quite a walk away, someone from the hotel must accompany you every time to let you in or out, the garage is pitch dark inside and very crammed: I had to leave my car via the passenger door after squeezing it into available space between a wall and a column. It’s marginally cheaper than Gutenberg public parking less than 100 meters away from the hotel, but only if you leave the car for the whole 24 hours; if you use the car by day and only park it for the night, Gutenberg parking turns out quite cheap – I paid less than 6 euro for the night. But I must say the hotel is very clear and honest about their garage, so this should not be taken as a complaint, just feedback to help future guests to make a right decision.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marassa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely room with a cathedral view. Stunning. The room itself was quite small, but comfortable. We didn't take the breakfast. The hotel staff was friendly. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Nadja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

It may be a great place to go, but not to book. As I went on the hotel website and booked with a credit card (not a French one), a blank page appeared, signaling an error. I travel a lot and always book online, and always receive a confirmation email. Not this time.

A month later, I noticed my bank account was showing a payment for Hotel Cathedrale... I called, send a couple of polite emails. This happened to me once in Brooklyn and I got a refund in a snap. The answer from Jean Marc was: thank you, but too bad. The discussion over the phone did not help, except I felt like a piece of s... listening to an arrogant owner.

So tentative clients, beware. You will be treated as milk cows.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
6  Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Strasbourg hotels
Petite France Nord Est
Maison Rouge Hotel
Maison Rouge Hotel
#17 of 130 in Strasbourg
1,160 reviews
Petite France Nord Ouest
Best Western Hotel De L'Europe
Best Western Hotel De L'Europe
#14 of 130 in Strasbourg
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cathedrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cathedrale

Address: 12 Place de la Cathedrale, 67000, Strasbourg, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg > Mairie Sud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 130 Hotels in Strasbourg
Price Range: $85 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cathedrale 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Cathedrale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedrale Hotel Strasbourg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing