We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Restaurant L'Oignon - Strasbourg Petite France
Reserve with
Restaurant L'Oignon - Strasbourg Petite France is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 1,472 Restaurants in Strasbourg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $69
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A gem”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

L'Oignon was recommended to us when we asked at the Bouclier d'Or hotel. Efficiently run by the lovely Fanny, who studied business in the US and speaks brilliant English, L'Oignon's eclectic menu and wine list are great. If you fancy a break from traditional Alsatian cuisine, L'Oignon is the place to go. On reflection, it was our best dining experience in central Strasbourg, partly due to the expert cooking (merci à monsieur le chef!), and partly to Fanny's charm and balanced attentiveness. Thoroughly recommended.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    109
    28
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
berkhamsted
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good Place to eat”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

A small friendly restaurant in La Petite France. The menu is provided in the form of a series of small blackboards so the selection of food can be changed when seasonal. The service was very good (despite there being only one person serving the night we were there) and the clientele consisted of locals (always a good sign) as well as tourists.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RJNUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edenbridge Kent
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Charming Restaurant”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

After pounding the streets of the wonderful atmospheric city of Strasburg and marvelling at the Christmas decorations on the buildings, it was a delight to rest one's weary and tired feet and enjoy a superb dinner.
To be honest I cannot remember what my wife and I had to eat except I know it was very good. The service was efficient and friendly , I do believe we were served by the owner, a charming lady who gave me the recipe for Picun Beer. An excellent start to my meal. Very good restaurant, modern light food with great flavour..

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HaxtedMill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Nom-la-Breteche, France
Level 6 Contributor
668 reviews
235 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
“Excellent lively restaurant in a good location”
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

Right in the middle of the old town this restaurant is always busy so don't take a chance - make a reservation because it is well worth going to . Excellent food beautifully présented . Charming staff . You won't regret going here

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JANDDBritinParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsippany, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Salad is to die for”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We were in Strasbourg for a day and half only and we managed to go this restaurant twice during our stay; and yes it was for salad and wine. While strolling in Petite France we found this restaurant and picked the place for dinner as the waitress was so nice enough to translate the menu nicely and patiently to us. That was the only reason we picked this restaurant.
We tried their chicken, steak and salad. While none of the dishes disappointed us, salad stood out the most.There salad is to die for. My husband loves salads and he hadn't had a better one than this. It was some kind of house salad dressing which waitress claimed to be her grandma's recipe. She also introduced us to some nice wines Alsace area had to offer. I liked one of the wines so much that we brought back the wine to USA.
Next day we went back for the salad and it was equally good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank kola_pra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant L'Oignon - Strasbourg Petite France also viewed

Strasbourg, Bas-Rhin
Strasbourg, Bas-Rhin
 
Strasbourg, Bas-Rhin
 
Strasbourg, Bas-Rhin
Strasbourg, Bas-Rhin
 

Been to Restaurant L'Oignon - Strasbourg Petite France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing