We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location, great value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel des Arts

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel des Arts
Ranked #105 of 128 Hotels in Strasbourg
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great location, great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is a 2 star hotel with a 5 star location, which is great, if you want the location, but don't want the huge price tag attached to it. Because of the value, we extended our stay from 3 nights to 6. Considering the price you can't complain much, though of course it would be nice if they had small amenities such as a water kettle and tea/coffee in the room, along with a mini-fridge. But, we checked other hotels near the cathedral and many start at double the price, with no guarantee of a view. From our room you could see the canal where the boat cruises depart. The bathroom is small but is not an issue, if you consider the price.The breakfast is basic, but does the trick, and the free wifi is great - they even have a computer in the reception/breakfast room. Overall, a clean, friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Safari_larki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    71
    59
    27
    10
See reviews for
24
95
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

This hotel is good if all you care about is location, which in this case it was a fantastic location. The room was slightly larger than a closet and the bathroom was a shoebox. Probably better if you are traveling single. It is located in a pedestrian zone,so you need to park your car in the parking garage underground or find the hotel parking which was filled up when we got there.The cost is the same as the underground garage.We had a room on the 3rd floor, I think the stairs are double the amount of a normal flight. We decided to go to check out the hotel after parking the car underground before unloading our suitcases. Good thing, we ended up stuffing a couple of things for our overnight stay in a backpack instead of hauling anything more up those stairs. If you get a room that does not reek of urine, I guess you probably have a better room then ours. As I said before , the hotels location is its only plus. The weather was not to warm or cold,so we didn't need a/c or heat,so I cannot comment on that. I just know we kept our window open to try to get fresh air into the room.

Room Tip: Read the reviews and believe that some of them are true. I would have posted pictures but for some r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Llynne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Everything you need for a short stay. The rooms are small and basic but not cramped, aged but well-kept and clean. Located right in the heart of the old town. We didn't have breakfast here but there are plenty of cafes that will offer a decent breakfast. The walls are not soundproof but that didn't bother me at all for the price you pay. On the contrary it was a beautiful experience waking up to the clatter of cafes setting up their tables for breakfast and being able to watch the hustle and bustle of daily activity below us. (However this also means that you can hear your neighbours' conversations - so be wary if you're a light sleeper!)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dthai90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed in Hotel des Arts for 3 nights in January and were not disappointed.

Location:
The location of the hotel is simply perfect. In the heart of Strasbourg on a picturesque small square, just 2 minutes walk from the Cathedral. Tram and bus stops just some minutes away, easy access to all parts of Strasbourg.
Strasbourg is not made for cars, nevertheless it was possible to park on a road just some minutes away as parking is free during the night.

Hotel:
It's a tiny hotel in an old building, real french style rooms. Breakfast room and reception is okay, there was always enough space. A little refurbishment of the rooms and staircase would not be a mistake.

Room:
We had a room (as we asked for in the booking) on the 3rd floor with excellent views. Heating was okay, but the bath room was oldstylish and there was no heating inside. Quite a "cool" experience after a shower.
Cleanliness was in the middle, some black spots next to the windows.
Bed was very comfortable, two pillows, one chair and writing desk, small closet, Flat-screen TV (French and German programs), phone, good lighting.

Breakfast:
Typical french breakfast, definately more than usually. Fresh baguette, butter, margarine, different jams of high quality, honey, juice, water, fruit, selection of different yoghurts, Cornflakes. One Pain auf chocolat per person, coffee machine (Espresso, Cappuccino, ...), selection of tea.

Staff:
We had to do Check-In in Hotel Rohan, which is about 2 minutes walk away as the reception hours are limited. Lady was friendly, gave good information. Check-Out easily. Gay-friendly behaviour, what I appreciated in general very much in France.

All in all a nice hotel which is living from its location, compared to other hotels in Strasbourg a good deal for the price and a short stay. Don't forget: It's just 2 stars. If there would be an update in the room furniture, it would be simply perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor overlooking the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alohafan_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
358 reviews
233 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

The best I can say is that the location near the cathedral and Maison Kammerzell, is excellent.However, the rooms were dingy with old and rather battered furniture. Breakfast was included and it was OK.This hotel is fine for an overnight stay and is good value for money but that is all.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tryfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer, South Carolina
Level Contributor
153 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

We were looking for the best location on a limited budget. Can't beat the location at all! The cathedral is a two minute walk as are several Christmas markets. But the room we stayed in was barely passable. The front desk clerk put us into room 104 which is the first room at the top of the stairs next to the public toilet. You can hear everything in the rooms and hall. People have complained about the size of the bathroom but it's a standard size European bathroom... So no complaints about that at all. However, the stained carpet, nicked/ worn furniture and the TV in a closet are really *barely* passable. Our room was musty, too.The beds were fine enough but the room was boiling hot, even with the window open and radiator off which made for uncomfortable sleeping, even in December! The breakfast was included in our rate and was surprisingly good but very simple. Bottom line is if you're just looking for somewhere to sleep for a quick weekend trip, it's fine. Don't expect grandeur... And the staff is also just okay, not super friendly even if you speak French. Good wifi service. (Note: 12 Euro taxi ride from train station...)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bonjonsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

We booked 2 nights at this hotel because we wanted something affordable and near the town square for our short visit. The location was wonderful and the staff very helpful and friendly. They were great with maps, directions and assisting with transportation. The room, like many hotels in Europe, was small and that was fine. There was ample room for 2 large suitcases and 2 adults to move around. However, the condition of the room was still shabby. Stained carped, distressed furniture, a terrible mattress. Only one outlet in the room and the one in the bathroom didn't work. There was black mold spores growing on the bathroom wall and the whole room had an old musty smell. I was expecting less than 4 star in Strasbourg for $100 per night but this hotel should have been $50. I'm
glad I only spent 2 nights sleeping with a spring jabbing me in the back....

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GDeneuve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Strasbourg hotels
Mairie Sud
Suisse Hotel
Suisse Hotel
#31 of 128 in Strasbourg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Hotel Rohan
#17 of 128 in Strasbourg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Petite France Nord Est
ETC Hotel
ETC Hotel
#74 of 128 in Strasbourg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Petite France Centre
Hotel des Anges
Hotel des Anges
#91 of 128 in Strasbourg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Hotel Patricia
#81 of 128 in Strasbourg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Mairie Sud
Hotel Cathedrale
Hotel Cathedrale
#48 of 128 in Strasbourg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Arts

Property: Hotel des Arts
Address: 10 Pl du Marche aux Cochons de Lait, 67060, Strasbourg, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg > Mairie Sud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Strasbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel des Arts 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citotel Des Arts Strasbourg
Citotel Des Arts Hotel Strasbourg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing