We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central and affordable”
Review of Hotel des Arts

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel des Arts
Ranked #105 of 130 Hotels in Strasbourg
Reviewed June 24, 2012

If you are looking for a central AND affordable location in Strasbourg, Hotel des Arts is a good choice. Very friendly staff, clean rooms and probably the tiniest bathroom I've ever seen. If you are big, this place is not for you though.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rafael_Baur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 207 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2012

We had a 3 night stay at the Hotel Des Arts. The location is great - a stone's throw from the cathedral square, right next to the tour boat dock and easy walking to pretty much anywhere. We walked from the train station (~20 minutes) and found the hotel easy enough; however, if it is outside of normal reception hours you may need to walk 30 m or so up towards the cathedral to the Hotel Rohan to check in (which we did and which worked out fine).

The hotel is located off a busy tourist area square right in the thick of things, so can be a bit noisy at night if you like to have the windows open. The room we had was a classic double - they are small, and the bathroom is very small (which people off a larger build could find a challenge), but clean and adequate for a good night's sleep. Bed and pillows were good. One small armoire-closet (missing one handle), a small desk, phone and flat screen TV round out the amenities. No frills. You can get breakfast but we opted out and instead got the usual coffee and croissant and yogurt at any of a number of small cafes around the area.

The front desk staff were very friendly. Didn't have much contact outside of settling the bill so no additional comments other than that.

All in all - a basic, clean room in a great location.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wedelmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Excellent value for money. The position of the hotel can't be beaten - it's a stone's throw to the Cathedral, the Chateau de Rohan and the Cruise boat landing.
The twin bedded room was adequate for my needs and very clean; and the crisp white bed-linen was a joy to slip between after a full day walking around the town. As others have said, the bathroom was small - but it was clean and had ample clean, fluffy white towels.
I didn't try the breakfast - went out instead to a cafe in town.
Used the Wi-fi with no problems whatsoever.
Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tour_Leader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

The location just can't be beat especially considering the price of the room. The room is small but you don't spend much time in the room when in Strasbourg. The bathroom is VERY small. The reception ladies were both very very friendly and helpful. So nice! For a late check-in you go to another hotel to get the room key but it was no problem at all - they were expecting us. The WiFi was unreliable, a bit of a problem. One night it was fine, then it didn't work at all for 24 hours. The hotel is very close to the cathedral, which is magical. You do hear the bells chime in the morning, which was kind of refreshing for us but could be bothersome for some. We did not pay for breakfast in our room fee. There is a great cafe right next door called Cafe De L'Ill that served a very good breakfast and had the best coffee we had on our whole trip. Don't miss the street food in Place Gutenberg!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

I wanted a basic hotel for four nights that wasn't too expensive. I needed it to be central and comfortable. I got it exactly right. It was a bit disconcerting that when I arrived I had to go to the Rohan Hotel to get a key and entry code, but once I was settled it was perfect.

Every morning they remade the bed, I had a TV and the washing facilities were adequate. It was near to good restaurants and shops. The 'Arts' element was supplied by a few tasteful prints on the wall - but if you were expecting poetry readings and conversations with bohemian guests, that's not what it's about.

But what more can an artist ask for than a very reasonably priced room with no disturbances?

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Perfect location in the centre of an amazing, historic city. Situated near the Cathedral and surrounded by many interesting shops and restaurants spilling on to the main square. A short walk everywhere!
The receptionist was very helpful and friendly and was happy to help with advise on sightseeing and restaurant recommendations. All of which were great. We really enjoyed some of the best cuisine in this Alsace region.
This is not a fancy hotel (2 star, I think) however the room was clean, simple, warm and affordable in price. The foyer and breakfast area have recently been renovated to give a fresh modern look. If only the rooms had the same attention - then this hotel would be a real treat! We booked a triple room (1 double and 1single bed) which had a nice view to the Cathedral steeple . The room was petite in size - as with many hotel rooms in France. The bathroom was small and the shower cubicle the smallest we came across in our travels - It suited us, but may be an issue if one is of a bigger build. Some of the double rooms face the central square. With so much to see and do we were not in our room much anyway. What we saved on accommodation was spent in the lovely shops!
The breakfast which was ample and included in our room rate consisted of pastries, jams, cheese and hot beverages. There are many cafes around the square if one prefers. I would recommend this hotel for the helpful receptionist and the location. It was fully booked on two of the three nights during our stay - and it was the middle of winter!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelmumSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2012

Outstanding location, clean, neat, safe, and GREAT staff - especially Sophie at the desk!

WiFi was funky, but a great location and service for the comparable price!

Room Tip: no lift for the luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank renodomenico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Strasbourg hotels
Petite France Centre
Hotel des Anges
Hotel des Anges
#103 of 130 in Strasbourg
66 reviews
Mairie Sud
Suisse Hotel
Suisse Hotel
#29 of 130 in Strasbourg
328 reviews
Hotel Patricia
#79 of 130 in Strasbourg
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Krutenau Nord Ouest
Hotel de l'Ill
Hotel de l'Ill
#73 of 130 in Strasbourg
106 reviews
Petite France Nord Est
Le Kleber Hotel
Le Kleber Hotel
#63 of 130 in Strasbourg
318 reviews
Krutenau Nord Ouest
Hotel Roses
Hotel Roses
#43 of 130 in Strasbourg
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Arts

Address: 10 Pl du Marche aux Cochons de Lait, 67060, Strasbourg, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg > Mairie Sud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Strasbourg
Price Range: $68 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel des Arts 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citotel Des Arts Strasbourg
Citotel Des Arts Hotel Strasbourg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing