We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a great night sleep”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Strasbourg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel de l'Orangerie
Ranked #107 of 127 Hotels in Strasbourg
Fontainebleau, France
Level Contributor
108 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Not a great night sleep”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

The hotel is located about 30 minutes walk from the city center, which means it is in a quiet part of town. However, the heating in room where we slept was not really adequate. The cold coming from the outer wall suggests that the room is not well insulated. The walls don't do a great job isolating noise either, so we heard very well every time someone walked in or out the rooms around us. The bed wasn't very comfortable either.
All in all - not a great sleep experience. Can this hotel be well "over the hill"? probably...
It should be noted that the staff is friendly and helpful -which is not always the case in France!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the main building, not in the units outside. They have wifi coverage and are warmer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomermi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Gérant at Hotel de l'Orangerie, responded to this review, April 18, 2017
Dear Customer ,

Thank you for your comments after your stay at the hotel. However, we are sorry that the room did not meet your expectations and I apologize for the inconvenience. If this is not the case, do not hesitate to contact the reception next time when you encounter a problem as we may have been able to switch rooms. We have, however, taken note of your remarks that we will not fail to convey to management. Despite this, we hope that you have had a pleasant stay in Strasbourg and that you will give us the opportunity to regain your confidence during a future visit to our region.
In the meantime, I send you my sincere greetings,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    8
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
8
6
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

I had a single room at the back of the hotel. Double glass windows, LCD TV sets, tidy clean, a LOT of hot water to shower and shave. Quiet and comfortable.
Breakfast is a croissant, a small baguette type bread and a chocolate boulange sided with butter, marmalade and emmenthal cheese. Your choice: tea, coffee (which can be café au lait) or chocolate (which I recommend).

Always showed friendly, took note of the phone calls I received when absent and aware of every requirement. If I made back to Strasbourg I will book again with them. I made a reservation and they billed me as expected.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Phranq2k2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed there two years ago and again this July. We had a family room for four as we travel with our 18 and 19 year old children.

The rooms are old fashioned and sparse but spacious and cosy. The bathroom is a little dark and there is no shower curtain which leaves us with a completely wet place after everyone has showered!

Breakfast is much too expensive at € 9/person for some bread, a croissant, a 'pain au chocolat' and weak coffee...

We were also bothered by the night receptionist who tried to send us to a specific restaurant. We said we planned to go to another place, he told us we needed a reservation as it is always full, as we refused, he told us to make sure to let them know he sent us... it felt like Marrakesh! Needless to say the restaurant was half empty, we enjoyed a fine dinner and made a point of not mentionning the guy!

Last little annoying point, the room rate is not the same on the website, on the door and at the reception - we were billed € 2/night more, when we mentionned this little difference in price, the receptionist was arrogant about it!

We will probably not return a third time....

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crevette563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

I have stayed at this small and comfortable hotel twice recently during business trips. I really like the place and will return again. Staff are friendly and helpful - and important for a single traveller, it feels very safe and welcoming.

The hotel is conveniently located for the European Institutions but only 15 minute walk into the centre of town. Two of the 3 rooms I have stayed in have been really comfortable and good value for money. The other room faced onto the road at the front and had too muich traffic noise for me. .

Breakfast is pleasant enough but pretty ordinary and expensive at 9 Euros a shout.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room ask for one at the back o
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrowleyWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alsace
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2010

At 75 euros a night The Hotel de l'Orangerie is extremely over priced. I was quoted 65 euros on the telephone and this would also have been too expensive. Billed as a 3 star hotel, I have stayed in 1 star hotels in Eastern Europe that would disgrace this place. The furniture in the room was tatty with handles missing from cupboards. The shower over the bath has no bracket for mounting the shower head so to shower you have to hold it in your hand. There is no shower curtain so the floor ends up soaking wet. I went out in the evening and on my return had to ring the bell to be let back in - no problem with this, except I was left standing on the door step for nearly an hour before anyone answered! I received no apology. The following day I attempted to negotiate a 10 Euro discount when I checked out to bring the price down to that, that I had originally been quoted. The receptionist refused and the manager was not available to discuss the matter with him. The receptionist also refused to give me his name.

I will never use this hotel again, which is a shame as it is well located and I would have become a regular guest.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank UkinFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Strasbourg hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel des Princes
Hotel des Princes
#15 of 127 in Strasbourg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.5 mi away
Residence Jean-Sebastien Bach
Residence Jean-Sebastien Bach
#47 of 127 in Strasbourg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adonis Hotel Strasbourg
Adonis Hotel Strasbourg
#71 of 127 in Strasbourg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mercure Strasbourg Palais des Congres
1.1 mi away
Kyriad Strasbourg Nord - Palais Des Congres
1.1 mi away
Hotel Rohan
Hotel Rohan
#26 of 127 in Strasbourg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Orangerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Orangerie

Property: Hotel de l'Orangerie
Address: 58 allee de la Robertsau, 67000, Strasbourg, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 127 Hotels in Strasbourg
Number of rooms: 25

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing