We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Couvent des Franciscains
Nearby Hotels
$240
$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Beaucour(Strasbourg)
$94
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Maison Rouge Hotel(Strasbourg)
$115
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Cathedrale(Strasbourg)
$90
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel D(Strasbourg)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
$126
$74
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Gutenberg(Strasbourg)
$90
$87
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$99
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Hannong(Strasbourg)
$127
$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$195
$175
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (244)
Filter reviews
244 results
Traveler rating
53
119
41
23
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
119
41
23
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclean roomsdecent choicelate arrivalsmall hotellounge areatriple roomthe main train stationan easy walkbed was comfortablenext morningwould stay here againwifireceptionparkingcathedralfrenchfrance
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 244 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The hotel is situated very well. Close to most of the things, you want to see in Strasbourg.
Cheap and clean. It is what you can expect at the price. Staff helpfull. Parking in the yard. Breakfast okay.
Internet not working.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sebastien d, Gérant at Couvent des Franciscains, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Dear Madam,

Thanks you for your comment. I am pleased that our hotel has matched your expectation.

I sorry for internet connection, note that we have replace most of the wifi spot to have a better reception.

Regards.


Sébastien DENYS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

You are received and treated all the time by kind staff who do their best to assist you. The hotel is in a street leading to the city center and only 10 mn. walk from the Cathedral with all the many restaurants.
We had a room on 3rd floor facing the street, but when the Windows were closed we only heard weak noice and we slept well, we stayed 3 nights. The room was not big, but ok, and the bathroom new and well functioning.
There is a parking lot, but due to some Construction Work at the neighboor house there are only 6 og 7 parking Spaces available, and we could not get one. A P-house was avaialble 5 min. walk from the hotel at 11 eur per day.
Breakfast buffet was fine and coffee really good.
One complaint: The WiFi did not function on third floor - or it might be in function but capacity was to low to take everyone in, so we could not get on the internet as we wanted. That is not ok in todays WiFi World, and for me, WHO does business during Holiday, it was somewhat a problem.

Room Tip: Believe every room has air condition, but if not then ask for such room. And recommend room high up if facing street due to noise. Otherwise ask for a room towards the back.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynge T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sebastien d, Gérant at Couvent des Franciscains, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thanks you for your comment.

I am pleased that hotel has been able to satisfy you.

I was not able to know why you were not able to connect to our system. we have recently changed our hotspot and I hope that will resolve definitly the problem.


Regards.

Sébastien DENYS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Small Hotel in walking distance to the old town. Small, but fully equiped rooms with modern bathrooms and aircondition. Good breakfast (for french standards, basic for nothern europeans). Unfortunately the aircondition didn't work, when we were staying there at outside temperatures of 30 degrees! The management wasn' t able or willing to do something about it.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bellevue_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sebastien d, Propriétaire at Couvent des Franciscains, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks you for taking time to write a comment concerning your stay in our hotel.


I am pleased that your stay has matched your expetation.

I am so sorry for air conditionning maintenance that oblige us to stop the system twice during the week, but we needed to replace two spare parts to make it works more efficiently. Now AC is working fine and a fresh air at 15°C is produced.

I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you soon.


Best regards;

Sébastien
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Really good 2 (or 3?) star hotel in the city centre! Centrally located, old town is really near within a little walk. Service was friendly and helpful.
The room was little, situated on the 1st floor and had a street view. It was quite noisy in the evening when people walked in the street and early morning it was unable to sleep because the noise from the cars (maybe rooms in higher floors are more quiet.
Bathroom was new and modern, but the room itself needs redecoration (like I understand the hotel is under construction and it will improve).
First morning there was a problem with hot water and had to take cold shower. Wifi was very poor at the first day but after several times complaining in the reception the system was restarted and everything worked just fine.
Breakfast hall was really beautiful. On the second day pastries were not fresh. Variety should be improved as well because when staying more than 1-2 days you just wouldn't like to eat the same food every morning.

Room Tip: Rooms with street view on lower floors are noisy, avoid in summer time if want to keep windows open.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xJanikax B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sebastien d, Directeur général at Couvent des Franciscains, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear valued Guest,

Thanks you for taking part of your precious time to give your feeling about your stay.

As you noticed, hotel is closed to the hyper center of strasbourg and less than 10 minutes walking distanc e to cathedral.

You had the pleasure to test our new bathrooms, note that all bathrooms have been renovated and that in september we will renovate the room decoration, by changing all furnitures including beds.

I get very surprised by your remarks on pastry quality, as we are cooking ourselves our pastry every morning, and they are never reused because I am eating every morning the remaining quantity !

I hope to welcome you again very soon to show you how much we care about your comments and what we did to improve our overall quality,.


Best regards.


sébastien DENYS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Hotel is rather well located, just within 10 minute walking distance from the centre, it is quiet, rooms are clean, shower functions well. It is pretty decent choice for decent price. The breakfast was modest, but good.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank KriGev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sebastien d, Propriétaire at Couvent des Franciscains, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks you for your comment and I am glad that you have been satisfied by your stay in our hotel.

In the purpose to constantly increase our overall quality we are always looking for Guest's advise, such as how to make our breakfast buffet better. So do not hesitate while having breakfast to tell us about your felling and what you would expect to have on the buffet. This is the only way for us to become better.

Best regards.


Sébastien DENYS
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews