We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value in Strasbourg!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Couvent des Franciscains
Ranked #57 of 128 Hotels in Strasbourg
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
182 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Good value in Strasbourg!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed at this small hotel for 2 nights and found it suited our needs very well. The staff at reception were particularly helpful and friendly. They even made a phone call to Lyon for us to ensure that our rental car was automatic. The room was clean and warm. The bathroom was modern and there was plenty of hot water. We were given a triple room, which gave us a little more room than we expected. The hotel is outside the centre of the old town, but it's only a pleasant 10 minute walk to the gorgeous cathedral of Notre Dame. We ate out at two little taverns that were just near the cathedral and they were well priced and the food was delicious. There are lots of eating options within 10 minutes of the hotel. The breakfast was simple but adequate and was served in a very quaint room downstairs. The waitress who served us was very courteous and friendly. Overall, we would recommend this to any travellers to Strasbourg who do not need to stay in the tourist centre of the town and who wish to get value for money.

Room Tip: There is a construction site next door at the moment but the noise did not bother us as we were out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McKinnon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sebastien d, Propriétaire at Couvent des Franciscains, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks you for taking some of your time to write a review on our hotel.

The team and I are very pleased that room, staff and breakfast have satisfied you.
Since (recently) we have bought the hotel, we try to increased quality in all part of the hotel. And it is a great satisfaction that you find our new bathroom modern and comfortable.

I hope to welcome again in a close future (Australia is not so far...)

Best regards.


Sébastien DENYS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    105
    34
    20
    6
See reviews for
44
71
15
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

I don't know how much the room cost because it was a business trip. Clean and basic, bed comfortable, quiet. Shower fine. Breakfast 'buffet' was modest but adequate. It was within walking distance of the main part of the city. Staff obliging and friendly. Huge massage chair in reception (strange!) was worth a go and was free!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennie-jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sebastien d, Gérant at Couvent des Franciscains, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,


Thanks you for taking part of your time to write a review on our hotel.

I pleased that your room has meet your expectation, but i feel you a little bit disapointed by breakfast quality. Please let us konw what you would like to see on the buffet as we are always looking for ideas to become better.

Little story about that massage chair...This chair was supposed to be in the suite bedroom (#30), but while we were refurbishing the room we installed the massage chair in lobby. But the chair was used by so many person that we finally decided to let it in the lobby. By the way the chair will soon reintegrate room 30.


Best regard.

Sébastien DENYS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

My daughter and I enjoyed our stay at this hotel, the first one on our trip. It was basic but roomy enough and clean. It had good beds and hot water for showers. The room was a comfortable temperature and quiet - we slept well. The lobby and common areas were decorated nicely for Christmas. We walked from the train station with our luggage when we arrived. We walked to all the sights, including the cathedral, Kleiber Place, and most of the many Christmas Markets. We appreciated and enjoyed breakfast (additional cost).

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceceedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sebastien d, Gérant at Couvent des Franciscains, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks you for taking time to post a comment on our hotel.

I am pleased that you have appreciated the localization of hotel close to the historical center of Strasbourg.

We have done several changes to our breakfast menu, and we keep trying to find better product.

Finally note, that rooms refurbishement has started, and first rooms renovated will normally be available by mid february.


Best regards.

Sébastien DENYS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2009

First impressions - hotel looked unappealing from the outside (down an alley way next to a kebab shop!), however actually very well situated a short walk from the city centre and with late night small supermarket across the road. Room was a bit basic but clean, quiet and comfy, decent shower and with free wifi and satellite TV. Reception staff very helpful and spoke good English. My only complaint would be the lack of plug points - one next to the toilet(?!) or otherwise need to crawl under the wardrobe.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizzieT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sebastien d, Gérant at Couvent des Franciscains, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thanks you for taking time to share your comment about your last stay in our hotel.


I am pleased that you finally found that hotel has a good overall service and localization.

I would like to inform you that from November 15th, all room furniture will be replaced and during that process lights and plug will be also replace. We have planned to install two plug at desk level as well as two plugs at night stand.

In the same time, we have already start total refurbishment of the reception and lobby.

Hope to welcome you again to introduce you our new hotel.

Best regards.


Sébastien DENYS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2009

I suppose this was a decent hotel but there were a lot of minor problems that added up to too much.

Annoying traffic noise despite the hotel being down an alleyway.

Couldn't get the wifi in my room to work: I suspect the staff on duty didn't know the details well enough,

Shower was extremely small and impossible for me to fit into with the curtain closed.

I could hear the normal (not raised voices) conversation of people in the neighbouring room, which I think is unacceptable in a three-star hotel at these prices.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KdSLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Strasbourg hotels
Hotel Le Grillon
#68 of 128 in Strasbourg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Au Boeuf
#1 of 1 in Blaesheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Adonis Hotel Strasbourg
#75 of 128 in Strasbourg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Strasbourg Centre Halles
#33 of 128 in Strasbourg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Petite France Nord Est
Le Kleber Hotel
Le Kleber Hotel
#62 of 128 in Strasbourg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Hotel Villa d'Est
#7 of 128 in Strasbourg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couvent des Franciscains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couvent des Franciscains

Property: Couvent des Franciscains
Address: 18 rue du Faubourg de Pierre, 67000, Strasbourg, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 128 Hotels in Strasbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Couvent des Franciscains 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the touristic heart of Strasbourg, few minutes walking distance from majors points of interest of the city. The hotel is located in an adjacent small street that keeps rooms away from the noise of the majors’ road. About 10 minutes walking distance from the main railway station and 20 minutes from all the European Institutions.Public transportation as tramway are accessible 100 meters from hotel.Buffet breakfast is served in a typical Winstub room in the basement of the hotel, adjacent to the meeting room with its sky roof.Floors are accessible with two elevators.Hotel is only 25 km from strasbourg airport, also accessible by train in 9 minutes. German, Baden Baden Airport is 40 km away.All rooms fully renovated in 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Couvent des Franciscains reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couvent Des Franciscains Strasbourg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing