We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient but....”
Review of Le Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Le Grand Hotel
Ranked #56 of 127 Hotels in Strasbourg
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Convenient but....”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We spent 3 nights in a minute airless room (301). Sleep was difficult as the weather was warm and the fan noisy. Convenient location but we won't stay there again. The most expensive room we had in 9 weeks in Europe!

Room Tip: Choose an airconditioned room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pasummers7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    252
    171
    40
    24
See reviews for
105
244
36
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
175 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

An adequate hotel that is very well located if travelling by train. Had a nice room, large and in good decorative order with comfortable beds and functional air con. No tea/coffee making equipment which should be provided for the price (book on line and beware of the standard room price). Wi Fi worked fine. Adequate breakfast with the possibility to sit outside on a good day. Friendly front desk staff. No complaints but with a few little touches here and there could be better with more charm.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Jonoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Opposite station. Comfortable, clean room with a very complete bathroom including the world's noisiest flush. Very good breakfast. Very solid overall accommodation.

Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Pliquer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Excellent location right across from the train station and within walking distance to the center. We got a deluxe room for a family of 4 through Hotels.com for 104 EUR. The bathroom was quite large and the room was large enough. Breakfast was sort of limited in selection but doable. We would definitely stay here again for the same price.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frantor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

There's not a lot of good things to say about the hotel or for that matter bad. It just does the job - bed is ok, pillows awful, bathroom small but water pressure and heat fine. The rooms were small and I think could be stuffy in summer. Try to get a room toward the rear to avoid traffic noise. Breakfast was again average but it did the job.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coastersretreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We needed a last minute place to stay close to the historic center of Strasbourg and we booked this hotel.
Room was relatively modern and appealing (plain but fine), we had WiFi and it was relatively quiet (was facing a side street).
The strength of this Hotel is the price and excellent location (opposite central station). Breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AniSan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

The location of Hotel Le Grand is great if you travel by train and to go in the evening out in the city centre which is 5-10 min. on foot. I paid 180€ a night (br.incl.) for a big and comfortable room. At arrival they asked me if I wish to use the mini bar of the room, which is locked by key (first time I see that). The doors are very old and the double door system they have is not very practical, to my opinion. In the bathroom I found one mini soap, one mini body lotion (and a damaged toilet cover). The breakfast was very basic, same every morning for the three days I stayed there: scrabble eggs and sausages, 2 kinds of ham, cheese, juice, cornflakes and marmalade, honey and nutela, tost bread and baguette and mini croissants.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArgDes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Strasbourg hotels
Ibis Strasbourg Centre Gare
#26 of 127 in Strasbourg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Inter Hotel Le Bristol
#20 of 127 in Strasbourg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Petite France Nord Ouest
Best Western Hotel De L'Europe
Best Western Hotel De L'Europe
#12 of 127 in Strasbourg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Hotel Vendome
#53 of 127 in Strasbourg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Hotel

Property: Le Grand Hotel
Address: 12 Place de la Gare, 67000, Strasbourg, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 127 Hotels in Strasbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take advantage of the ideal location, right in front the TGV train station, in the centre of Strasbourg, just 5 minutes walk from the historic area 'La Petite France' and 10 minutes from the main tourist attractions. With its simple setting, brightened with a touch of Pop art, the Grand Hotel prepares to give you a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Fastbooking, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Le Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grand Strasbourg
Hotel Le Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing