We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, inexpensive, adequate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Premiere Classe Strasbourg Ouest
Ranked #108 of 130 Hotels in Strasbourg
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We found this hotel on New Year's Eve without prior reservation, the counter was still manned by a person at 9pm, He was warm and friendly and gave us our room key. We stayed there for one night. It is close to the autoroute and has adequate parking. A good breakfast is available for a small extra charge. The room was clean. The bathroom is quite small but adequate. Overall, this hotel was inexpensive and adequate for a rest after a long day's drive.

Room Tip: Stay on the ground floor. It is not noisy and quicker to access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank indianguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (324)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 324 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2013

Premiere is best than Accor Formula 1 without bathroom on the room, but still have the same problems of other Premiere Hotels, small bathroom and not too clean room.

I think this hotel need to make better roons, it's very small.

Room Tip: Try a hotel in Germany, I think is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mauricio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

The beds are small, 3 beds in a 3x5meter room. When I was staying there it was pretty hot outside, but it was even hotter inside. NO airco and a very small room that doesn't provide enough fresh air. Therefore I took my pillow and walked in my pyjama's to my car where I spend the night.
Our company we worked for had to take this hotel because we had to search for last minute reservations and this hotel was the only one available to host a few people... (now I know why) .
But next time I prefer to use my bush-craft skill's and make myself a shelter instead of using this hotel ever again. There is also a lot of noise from outside from other hotel guest that stand outside.

For very low budget travellers this hotel is not bad for the money and you have a 3 person bedroom... I have had worst Youthhostels, but for people that need a hotel for a good night sleep when they are somewhere for work, than this hotel is a big NO GO !

Breakfast is also realy poor ! Your better of going to a bakery.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller_steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I have stayed in a good few Premiere Classe and Formule 1 hotels before so I know what to expect. The hotels are supposed to be very basic, reflecting the very low prices, but I always found them clean and reasonably well presented. This one was not. The room was full of mosquitos and the bed linen was not clean. The breakfast the next day was not up to the usual french standard. Overall impression was poor.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gan_zDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

To find this place is quite simple a good sat Nav will find it. Rooms are reasonably clean. Check in is simple and although we booked it through Booking.com and the checkin time said 5pm we found the automated checkin was easy and you could check-in at any time.
There is nothing in the area and so it's a good idea to have something to eat before you arrive. Catching a bus into Strasbourg is no option as we found finding a bus isn't simple and when you do, the timetables change after 7:30pm leaving you about 1mile from this hotel....Your only option is a Taxi which will cost you 20Euros....

Great price but the locations is best left to the savvy traveler!

Room Tip: If you are a new traveler find somewhere else nearer to the city and pay the extra you would have ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

it looks like a motel, rooms were accessible from the outside court. enclosed free parking area around the hotel. the room itself was clean enough, but a very very small bathroom [like on a boat], you barely can shower in there. but the very small price and the quiet area compensated this and we could rest for the next step of the vacation.

we appreciated the free WiFi internet in all rooms and the staff .

all in all it is an OK stop for one night at a very good rate.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karina-alina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2010

Premier Classe Hotels (PCH)

Introduction

I spent one night in this hotel recently. As it was part of a two-week tour that included three other PCHs as well, I have taken the liberty of providing some general comments about them that I hope will help. Specific comments for this particular hotel appear at the end of the piece.

General Comments

For the price, I think the PCHs are reasonably good value. This was confirmed by the high level of occupancy (mainly by French people) at all four we stayed at. However, you do need to know some important things about them (the hotels, not the French - we don't have enough time to do that!). The first is that their chosen title is aspirational, not actual (much like the oxymorons 'Military Intelligence' or 'Political Elite'). I realise they couldn't call them Troisieme Classe but it would probably be more appropriate.

Firstly they should be called 'Motels', not 'Hotels'. This makes it much easier to understand what to expect. I reckon they are ideal for a one- or two-night cheap stay while passing through a place or staying a weekend. We did both short (1 day) and long (5-6 day) stops. My wife is just about speaking to me again after our five- and six-day stays in Montpellier and Perpignan.

As 'motels' they are mainly situated very close to noisy motorways/main roads. They have to be! If you are of a sensitive nature and easily disturbed by road noise, then either ensure you have comfortable earplugs or try to get a room as far away from the road as possible. The room should also be on the East side of the building so that the afternoon/evening sun doesn't heat up your room too much. Also be aware that while some PCHs have airconditioning, this is set to either 'hot' or 'cold', not both. Thus in our stay at Perpignan, where it is now considered 'winter' (daytime temperatures about 28 degrees C!) the aircon was set to only warm up the room, not cool it. If you are too hot in the night (as we were) you have to leave the small single window open which then adds to the intensity of the road noise.

Being close to main roads also means not being close (usually) to many restaurants or shops. Assuming you are in a car (don't even think of trying this by public transport!) you should be able to find something decent. The large French supermarkets like Carrefour, LeClerc, Geant and Auchan or often within a short driving distance and all seem to have very good and cost effective restaurants attached.

Talking of noise, the people that populate PCHs (particularly over weekends) can be very boisterous. There are signs all over the place asking them to keep quiet after 22:00 but these are generally ignored. It seems to be a foreign concept to them, much similar to the attitudes on French and Italian roads where the principle of 'keeping a safe following distance' doesn't work either.

The rooms are very small. I paced out the standard size at about 5m by 2.5m. This is bad enough but then they put a prefabricated shower/toilet/sink room in the one corner. The concept is similar to Ibis (which you may have seen in the UK) where they are dropped in as the building goes up. It works fine for size in the Ibis, but unfortunately not so well in PCH which could perhaps be called 'Ibis Lite'. The size of the main room is about two thirds of an Ibis: the ablutions are more 'campervan' size plus about 20%: OK for short stays but gets very wearing after a few days. On the positive side at least the price per night is about half the Ibis.

There also seem to be two classes of PCH in terms of furniture. 'Class A' (eg Montpellier Sud and Orleans Sud) have shelves for your clothes and a proper hanging space. There are also two electric plugs available, one of them at the desk by the window. 'Class B' have no shelves or hanging space. There is a bent pipe near the window with four hangers on it. Luckily there is a gap under the beds where you can store your suitcase with your clothes in. There is only one plug in a ridiculous place next to the washroom light switch.

Longer Stays - Survival Kit

If you think you are a hardier soul than me and decide to ignore my recommendation to avoid stays longer than two days then I have some survival suggestions for you:

1. If there is more than one of you, take an extra hand towel. PCH only supply two bath-size towels per room.

2. If there is more than one of you, take an extra pillow - they only provide one per person.

3. There is no tea making facility so take a travel kettle with you if you don't like machine-made beverages from the machine in the reception. We bought a Philips one for £15 from Robert Dyas. You can buy ingredients at the local supermarkets.

4. If you don't want to pay four quid each for breakfast, then take your own bowls and cutlery for cereal etc or buy in the supermarket.

5. There is no fridge so no way to store any breakfast ingredients.

6. If you want to book through a travel website like Expedia, only do so for a couple of nights so you can see what PCH is like. If you want to move because you don't like it, you lose 100% of what you've paid in advance. Much better to book directly with the hotel once you decide you actually want to complete the rest of your intended stay.

7. There are no lounges apart from the breakfast room which isn't always open, so you can get cabin fever. There also aren't usually many nice places to walk around so you'll need to get out in your car (or ensure you get back late in the evening from your trips!).

8. Take an adjustable sink plug with you - even the replacements PCH might provide for the missing ones are usually the wrong size.

Notes for business travellers

While my trip was personal, I do travel quite a lot for business and so have a few suggestions:

1. If you are being paid a per diem rate for T & E and want to save money, then PCH would be OK for a few days. However, if you intend to work in your room don't be attracted by the Free WiFi offered. There is just no room to move and in a 'Class B' you'd have no power close. Or a decent light.

2. If your boss insists you stay in a PCH with no additional compensation then resign immediately and look for another job.

PCH Strasbourg - Specific comments:

1. We stayed here one night.

2. Its a'Class B' - see notes above.

3. Its in a reasonably quiet area with a few cheap restaurants, one of which seems to be the community centre for the local Algerian(?) population. Far better to go into Strasbourg itself (about 5 km away and very easy to park) for supper. Some fantastic restaurants especially in the Petite France area.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Blikskottel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Strasbourg hotels
5.4 mi away
Premiere Classe Strasbourg Sud - Illkirch
5.4 mi away
B&B Hotel Strasbourg Nord Artisans
3.7 mi away
Ibis Budget Strasbourg La Vigie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Strasbourg Sud Illkirch Geispolsheim
4.1 mi away
Hotel Roi Soleil Strasbourg Mundolsheim
3.7 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#105 of 130 in Strasbourg
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premiere Classe Strasbourg Ouest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premiere Classe Strasbourg Ouest

Address: Parc Des Poteries 6 rue Cerf Berr, 67200, Strasbourg, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 130 Hotels in Strasbourg
Price Range: $39 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Premiere Classe Strasbourg Ouest 1*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Premiere Classe Strasbourg Ouest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premiere Classe Hotel Strasbourg
Strasbourg Premiere Classe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing