We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To be recommended”
Review of Maison Rouge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Maison Rouge Hotel
Ranked #18 of 129 Hotels in Strasbourg
Certificate of Excellence
Zofingen, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“To be recommended”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

The Maison Rouge was recommended to me by a sales assistant in the nearby Printemps department store. I was not disappointed. The friendly receptionist gave me a special price for what could also have been a double room on the top floor. The room was clean and pleasantly furnished. The bed was very comfortable and I slept really well in spite of being in the middle of the shopping area. The same receptionist recognised me when I returned to the hotel and gave me my key without me having to ask for it. I wasn't going to have breakfast, which is described as a simple continental breakfast but am so glad I did. Not only was there a wide range of juice, cereals, bread, pastries, cold meats, fruit etc, but also bacon and scrambled eggs. The bacon was the tastiest I have eaten for some time. The small dining room is very pleasant and the 16 euros paid for breakfast well worth the money. I would definitely come back to this hotel and recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: On the top floor you can see out over the city and it is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmanuel_delepine, Manager at Maison Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear SIr

Thanks for your so nice recommandation.

We hope to see you again with all your friends

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    578
    171
    36
    15
See reviews for
169
543
55
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed here with another couple last week, and we all loved the hotel! My friend is an American hotel/resort appraiser and spends alot of time in really fine hotels, and he could not stop raving about the Maison Rouge! The front desk staff is supremely nice! They gave us a silver ice bucket and some ice, to chill a bottle of wine, in our room. They also provided us with a map and gave us directions to La Petite France and the Cathedrelle. La Petite France is only a 10 minute walk; however, you pass some very nice shops on the way and the Notre Dame is only a 5 minute walk.The rooms were very comfortable and the air conditioning was much appreciated!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GermanyItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmanuel_delepine, Manager at Maison Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Could not be better recommanded !
Thanks for that.
You spent a nice stay, we hope now you woul'd like to stay again !

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

The staff was friendly, spoke many languages including English, and were very helpful in making dinner reservations. The room was comfortably sized for two people and the hotel was not very noisy despite our room facing a busy street. The location is wonderful as it is only a 15 minute walk to the train station with luggage slowing you down and also only a five minute walk from most of the Strasbourg attractions. I guess the only down side was the wifi was free but not very easy to stay connected to.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rianne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmanuel_delepine, Manager at Maison Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
You enjoyed your stay and we're really satisfied with that.

Thanks for your compliments about the staff, the location and the service.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

You can get a very nice hotel room at a discount rate on Expedia.
A bit old fashioned but the front desk staff were very helpful in both English and French.

The parking is tricky. The box to call the hotel and have the street barrier lowered is now silver not orange as indicated in the hotel's instructions. And if you don't mix up left and right you can find it easily.

We had a room on a high floor in the back and did not have to deal with the tram noise that others have mentioned.

Room Tip: high floor in the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjm814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmanuel_delepine, manager at Maison Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
The street barrier is effectively now silver and green and not orange as indicated in the hotel's instructions.

Thanks for those details, we can now update our indications

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Grand old hotel that is still going strong. Even a lift to take luggage up to your floor. Small parking area but they have a deal with a garage nearby at a reasonable price. We were there for just 1 night and loved Strasbourg. We'll be back to spend a few days. Good breakfast place across the street, lots of restaurants and tons of shopping nearby. Bath was large, good closet space.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 366DaveN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmanuel_delepine, Manager at Maison Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thanks for that description

You hope to see soon

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

This is a lovely old building which has maintained the wonderful staircase and kept the character of the building with its choice of furniture in the lobby on each level. The reception staff are very friendly and helpful. I had chosen a Superior Room as the website said these had all been renovated. The room was very large and clean. I was disappointed the bed had sheets and blankets and not a duvet. We had tea making facilities - but when I used the tea bags on the first morning, these were not replenished by the cleaning staff, not were the mugs washed/replaced for clean ones.
The central location of the hotel is excellent. It's easily accessible by tram from the Gare Centrale. Tram A or D is only 3 stops and you actually pass the hotel in the tram then walk about 100m from the tram stop to the hotel. It's situated right next to Galleries Lafayette. The double glazing in the room stops any noise from the street or the trams.
We had breakfast in the hotel. The breakfast room was actually two smaller rooms with windows to the front street. There was a good selection of items for breakfast. Although the pastries (namely croissants/pan du chocolate) were a bit disappointing considering we were in France.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VisitorT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmanuel_delepine, Manager at Maison Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Lovely description.

Regarding the tea making facilities, you have adjusted the service
Regarding the breakfast room size ; did you notice you have 3 rooms side to side so you can accept more than 90 people at the same time.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay here! Our room was air conditioned and very spacious. We loved the location, it was easy to find from the train station and for getting around to sight see! We will definitely stay here again

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Stacia w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmanuel_delepine, Manager at Maison Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Sir

Thanks for your great recommandation

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Strasbourg hotels
Hotel Hannong
#8 of 129 in Strasbourg
945 reviews
Petite France Nord Ouest
Best Western Hotel De L'Europe
Best Western Hotel De L'Europe
#13 of 129 in Strasbourg
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Petite France Centre
Regent Petite France & Spa
Regent Petite France & Spa
#5 of 129 in Strasbourg
1,021 reviews
Hotel D
#2 of 129 in Strasbourg
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Rouge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Rouge Hotel

Property: Maison Rouge Hotel
Address: 4 rue des Francs Bourgeois | 67000, 67000, Strasbourg, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg > Petite France Nord Est
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Strasbourg
#17 Business Hotel in Strasbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison Rouge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maison Rouge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Rouge Strasbourg
Hotel Maison Rouge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing