We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Hannong

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Hannong
Ranked #10 of 128 Hotels in Strasbourg
Certificate of Excellence
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

Hannong is something else. Great breakfast, good value. Relatively friendly and personal. Ask for a quiet room (a few are also very small, so do make Sure you know what you get). Strasbourg has some expensive terrible places but this isnt one of them.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank emmuel k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    364
    112
    19
    11
See reviews for
136
400
41
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo Ca
Level Contributor
159 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stayed 2 nights with a small tour group so hotel was booked for us. Location was good for seeing Petit France and other sights. Room was adequate for a short stay with nice bathroom. Do not know if it was a standard room. Only liquid soap dispensers, no lotion.
Small lobby but a lounge in the back by the breakfast room entrance. Free internet in the lobby with easy to use keyboard. Front desk staff OK, we didn't ask for anything so can't comment on on any extra help. They had storage for luggage if needed for a later departure
Breakfast was adequate and varied but the orange juice was in bottles (as compared to fresh squeezed in our privately booked hotel the night before that had less stars).
From the rail station it was at least a 10 minute walk but fairly direct and easy to find location. This was not a hotel I would have chosen on my own because offered prices on various sites were quite high and now having stayed there I would definitely not pay those prices for this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goldig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

This was one of our favorite hotels on our European honeymoon.
The rooms are small, but they make excellent use of space! The luxurious upgrades (like towel warmers, shutters for the windows, etc.) made the room so comfortable.
If you're sharing a room with someone, just know that the bathroom is encased in frosted glass and isn't extremely private. We were fine with it, but I could see where some may not.
The staff were great and very friendly. The breakfast was very delicious.

The location is great, we could comfortably walk everywhere. La Petit France was practically across the street and the major shopping was just a short walk.

Overall, it was a great stay and at the end we were dying for 1 more night!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsBlackman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Very nice hotel in the centre of Strasbourg. Easy walking distance to all the sights. No car park but easy public parking place nearby the hotel. Clean, friendly staff, good free wi-fi - we would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank az72az
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mound, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed five nights here and were very pleased with our nice-sized, quiet, comfortable room in the unbeatable location that is Hotel Hannong. Our room had great beds, remote controlled exterior shades that made the room dark for sleeping, and the bathroom had a tub, separate shower, and a towel warming rack. The breakfast was very good with the usual cold meat, cheese, granola, cereal, nuts, yogurt, fruit, juice, pastry, bread, coffee and tea, etc. plus scrambled eggs, bacon, and sausage. Our reservation package included breakfast at half price for every day and we were glad we had decided to include it. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wien
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We've stayed only one night and had no breakfast. The room was amazingly comfortable and big. Bathroom very nice, bed as well. Perfectly located, free Wifi. Can't tell anything about the restaurant or anything else the hotel offers - will definitely check this the next time because we would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Megaira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

The hotel is very good located, few minutes from Weberplatz (or Place Wéber), which by itself did not appeal to me. Place Gutenberg is way more beautiful with the Cathedrale just in front, many cafes, a manège and old houses.
The service at Hotel Hannong is also good. The lady on the front-desk was friendly and spoke some good German, which is unfortunately a rarity in Alsace. What I like the most are the rooms, the hallways and the decoration of the hotel, meaning the physical part of the hotel which is modernly old and charming. Only negative part is the view from the window on the backyard where there was many apartments. I was there when it was very hot, so people from those houses were sitting outside which was kind of loud, adding to it the noise of the generator of the hotel... NOT nice at all if you decide to open the window. If closed, you hear almost nothing.
Other downside is that the online booking is a mess. What they do is that freeze the amount on the credit card but you have to pay cash or by credit card. So if you decide to pay by credit card, lets say 70 EUR (which was my case), 70Eur will be deducted from your balance and ANOTHER 70EUR freezed (until many weeks later). This is not convenient at all, its like double the amount is being used. Nothing to worry about. They did not do any mistake but just be careful.
CONCLUSION:Everything is good, but nothing special except maybe the first impression of the internal decoration (wood and paintings). I enjoyed my stay and can recommend it, though preferably for only one to two nights.

Strasbourg is very beautiful but the people not kind at all, lets say they are arrogant. Other than refusing to speak German (meaning that they do not care having that special French- German background!), they are not helpful if it happens you want to ask them something. Too sad.. Anyways I find it good that Alsace- Lorraine does not belong anymore to Germany, it would be a shame for Germany's people friendly reputation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VernLand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Strasbourg hotels
Petite France Nord Ouest
BEST WESTERN Hotel De L'Europe by HappyCulture
Petite France Centre
Regent Petite France & Spa
Regent Petite France & Spa
#6 of 128 in Strasbourg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel D
#3 of 128 in Strasbourg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hannong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hannong

Property: Hotel Hannong
Address: 15 rue du 22 Novembre, 67000, Strasbourg, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Strasbourg
#7 Family Hotel in Strasbourg
#9 Luxury Hotel in Strasbourg
#15 Business Hotel in Strasbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Hannong 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Hotel with neoclassical facade, situated 100 meters from the Petite France area & 300 meters from the Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Hannong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hannong Hotel Strasbourg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing