We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for EU related stays, not in historical center”
Review of Hilton Strasbourg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Strasbourg
Ranked #39 of 129 Hotels in Strasbourg
Poznan
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good for EU related stays, not in historical center”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

The hotel is located very close to European Parliament's and the Council of Europe's premises (10-15 mins walk or 2 tram stops) so it is very convenient if you are in town for EU related affairs. Otherwise, I would recommend staying in the historical center (Petite France, Cathedral area, etc), which is much more picturesque and with more restaurants and entertainment options (but also much more noisy). Still, a tram will take you to the center in ca. 15 mins so it is not really a big problem.
Overall, it is a nice hotel, with slightly outdated architecture (but they do renovate - right now executive lounge is brand new and usually well served). Breakfast is decent but definitely not cheap. You can expect a good Hilton standard and it is very much recommended for business travellers.
in general, Strasbourg's hotels get extremely lucky once a month - for four days, the whole European Parliament moves to the city, so hotels are extremely overpriced, if you are lucky enough to find available rooms. If you want to visit Strasbourg for pleasure, simply avoid the session weeks (you will notice immediately which weeks are session weeks when you check hotel prices - it will be at least double the usual price everywhere!). if you can, try to visit during the Christmas Market season - the whole town looks simply stunning in December!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asia075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camille S, Social Media Specialist at Hilton Strasbourg, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a response after your recent visit.
Our hotel is located in the European Institutions district and in deed it's really convenient for EU business stays. We hope that your stay was pleasant. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Strasbourg.

Kind regards

Camille Smoczynski
Social Media Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    634
    355
    118
    32
See reviews for
291
514
62
437
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, CA
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

From the outside you would never know that you are in Strasbourg, France. Usually I like to stay in a hotel that reflects where I am but this was a convention so there wasn't a choice. There is nothing French at the hotel except maybe the food. However, a few steps outside and there are cafes and bistros and voila! you are in France. Take a walk following the tram tracks and you are in the old town. If you are driving the access to the Autostrade is very good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laney48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camille S, Social Media Specialist at Hilton Strasbourg, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a response after your recent visit. We have read with great interest your comments, and they are valuable to us to improve a quality that we want still increasing.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Strasbourg.

Kind regards

Camille Smoczynski
Social Media Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 6 Contributor
306 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Very comfortable hotel but a little out of the way. It is not close to the old town of Strasbourg but you can take a taxi or the tram (which is one block away). The rooms are nice and clean. The dining is very good with professional service throughout the hotel.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DRT1404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camille S, Social Media Specialist at Hilton Strasbourg, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to forward to our attention your feedback regarding your stay here with us.

It was a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with your room, our restaurant and the services as well as with the professional attitude of our team members. Your kind comments will be passed on to the team.

Once again, thank you for having chosen the Hilton Strasbourg for your stay.

Kind regards,

Camille Smoczynski
Social Media Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Many people like to stay downtow but most of the hotels in that are are extremely expensive. Hilton Strasbourg gives you a good ocation since it is located in front of the Congress Center and just 5 minutes by tram to downtown where you can find a great offer of restaurants and most of all coffe parlors with incredible pastries. Large romos, great bathrooms expensive breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camille S, Social Media Specialist at Hilton Strasbourg, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Hilton Strasbourg and for having taken the time to share your feelings following your recent stay in our hotel. We hope you had a good stay with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Sincerely yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kandel
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Rather ugly building from the outside. Easy to get to the motorway - especially when you need to leave towards the North (Haguenau, Frankfurt etc), the Hilton is a good place to stay.

Bar and restaurant are OK, nothing special, but food is acceptable yet pricey.

Anybody taking the Lufthansa Airport Bus to Frankfurt - the bus stop is just across the hotel.

Parking is expensive if you use the hotel parking, there is free parking just outside. Fairly safe area, never had any issues myself.

Rooms are partially renovated and quite large. Overall, very conservative style, rather dark colors - both in the rooms as well as in the corridors. Service is fine, but nothing to get exited about.

You can walk to the city center (not difficult to find with a map from reception) - about 15-20 mins. Alternative is the tram which goes directly to Place Kleber for very little money.

Hotel is a good location for meetings and conferences. Good facilities and service.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher up room. You might get a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camille S, Social Media Specialist at Hilton Strasbourg, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Strasbourg and for having taken the time to share your feelings following your recent stay in our hotel.
All your comments have been taken into serious consideration and reviewed with our team in order to take the necessary action. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Strasbourg.

Kind regards

Camille Smoczynski
Social Media Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

My son and I stopped here en route back from Italy for one night! Great staff, lovely room, we felt very welcome. We ate dinner and breakfast in the hotel restaurant ........ two super meals with attentive friendly staff. Very nice stop over after long drive. Easy to find and convenient for the autostrada!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AntheaChrisD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camille S, Social Media Specialist at Hilton Strasbourg, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for your enthusiastic comment about our hotel and our staff! We are delighted to read that your stay met your expectations, and we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back among us.

Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I stayed at the Hilton in Strasbourg over the last month. As all Hiltons the service is very good even though the hotel is a little on the 'bland' side. Everybody is very friendly and helpful and the food and service are not bad. Rooms are a good size but TV is lacking (hey this is still France and they seem sooooo resistant to adding either English subtitles and/or insisting to dub every film and series in French - bring videos if you are not a French speaker :-)

Be aware that from a location point of view it is a car/tram ride outside of the centre and those that are looking for a more active evening life may want to consider this.

I notice that some of the other reviews comment on breakfast being bad. Actually the buffet was quite substantial but it is true that the coffee is dreadful. However if you ask for a latte rather than a coffee, they will make this fresh for you. If you are lucky enough to have Jana serve you - ask her to make the latte with 'love'. She serves it with a heart or smiley face in chocolate and provides the most excellent service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grumpypaul69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camille S, Social Media Specialist at Hilton Strasbourg, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Hilton Strasbourg and for having taken the time to share your feelings following your recent stay in our hotel.

All your comments have been taken into serious consideration and reviewed with our team in order to take the necessary action. Thank you for your nice comment concerning our team member Jana. We have already shared it with her and she was very happy.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Strasbourg.

Kind regards

Camille Smoczynski
Social Media Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Strasbourg hotels
Hotel D
#2 of 129 in Strasbourg
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Petite France Nord Ouest
Best Western Hotel De L'Europe
Best Western Hotel De L'Europe
#13 of 129 in Strasbourg
795 reviews
Athena Hotel & Spa
#6 of 129 in Strasbourg
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Strasbourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Strasbourg

Property: Hilton Strasbourg
Address: 1 avenue Herrenschmidt, 67000, Strasbourg, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Strasbourg
#18 Romantic Hotel in Strasbourg
#20 Luxury Hotel in Strasbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Strasbourg 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the city centre, in the European institutions district and opposite the Congress Centre, the Hotel Hilton Strasbourg is well positioned for access to the city's extensive tram network. All rooms offer large windows with views over the Cathedral or the European Parliament building. Stay connected with complimentary Wifi. For your business travels, choose an Executive room and enjoy Executive Lounge access with complimentary breakfast, drinks and snacks are served. Indulge with a seasonal and full of freshness cuisine at the restaurant of the hotel, H! Brasserie. Or enjoy a snack and cocktail created by the award-winning bar team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Strasbourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Strasbourg Hotel Strasbourg
Hilton International Strasbourg
Strasbourg Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing