We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Start at the Museum of Decorative Arts!”
Review of Palais de Rohan

Palais de Rohan
Book In Advance
More Info
$68.35*
and up
Sightseeing Tour of Strasbourg by Pedicab
Ranked #12 of 164 things to do in Strasbourg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Elegant 18th-century palace houses three museums: Musee des Beaux Arts, Musee Archeologique and Musee des Arts Decoratifs.
Mpls.,MN
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Start at the Museum of Decorative Arts!”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We really liked the Museum of Decorative Arts, which houses the state apartments of the Rohan cardinals, and some very interesting clockwork & faience displays. There were self-uided tour handouts in several languages, very good details about the museum.
We went on a free day, so the admission wasn't a problem! Didn't make it up to the Beaux-Arts museum, we had been there for 3 hours exploring the Museum of Decorative Arts, and then the Archeology Museum. The latter was very in-depth, with major finds from the Bronze age up to the medieval period. It really detailed the Roman occupation of Alsace. All of the display case notes are in French, I didn't inquire about an audio guide.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mpls_MNWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    263
    66
    11
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
78 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“nice insides”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

very nice historical place, in very much of the heart of the city , I really do recomend to visit interior, perfect place to meet the history of the region and France

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kamila z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond,Surrey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Ecclesiastical splendour with Fine Art”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Built for three generations of cardinals, think Hampton Court Palace writ large - room after room of gilded splendour, but with three museums on three floors - the Musee des Arts Decoratif was fascinating, the Musee des Beaux Arts well worth the visit, with a wide selection of paintings and sculptures.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank BarryRichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful rooms, worth a look”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The confusing part is that the building houses multiple musuems which each have their own fee. We just wanted to see the palace itself with the rooms that Marie Antionette and other famous figures once stayed in. The ticket for that one reads "Museum of Decorative Arts," and was a little weird to find. They told us to go around a corner, so we did and ended up apparently in a different museum downstairs. You actually go to the corner they direct you to, stay on the level (don't climb up or down stairs), and go through a closed door that isn't well marked.

Note that if you have a bulky bag or backpack, they will make you store in in lockers which are on the level below the ticket purchase office. Keys are inside the lockers, so you just pick one and take the key with you. They were okay with my purse.

Once inside the palace part of it, they will hand you a written guide (have them in French, English, and German - we used English). The guide has some good info, but some of the rooms further down didn't quite match it. The palace rooms themselves are very beautiful. One was not reconstructed at all, and the peeling paint was exciting for me - felt so authentic. A portion of it is less like a palace and truly is a like a museum of decorative arts with more modern-looking rooms housing ceramics, toy ships, and clocks. The clockwork room was very interesting. My favorite room was the palace library which had a centuries-old astrological globe. Very quiet atmosphere, not crowded at all.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ville Jesus, France
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Go to the museum of decorative arts to appreciate the palace”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

To really see the building as the palace it is, you need to go into the Museum of decorative arts. Through this museum you see furniture, portraits, pottery, ceramics, silverware and so much more. It comes alive.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palais de Rohan also viewed

 
Strasbourg, Bas-Rhin
Strasbourg, Bas-Rhin
 

Been to Palais de Rohan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing