We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible terrible experience ”
Review of Au Pigeon

Au Pigeon
Ranked #503 of 1,716 Restaurants in Strasbourg
Price range: $11 - $28
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Petite France Centre
Reviewed December 30, 2018 via mobile

It is a family business. We were tree (a couple and a 7y child). The mother indicated us a table. We were already settled when the daughter came and asked us to move, because they would rather give the table to a 5 person group... it was not nice but we could be ok with that.... but it was just the beginnig... they did not even put a towel over the table, so we ate over the wood. After we ordered the same daughter literally took the menu from my kids hands.... she did not even asked for it. At that point, we were already feeling very unconfortable. Her mood was really cloudy and the manners very unpolite. For the meal, i asked her if me and my husband could share a dosis of a typisch meal and she sad it was ok and enough for two. Apparently we should have ordered something more, because ..... imagine! she refused to give us a second plate!!!!! One of us was supposed to eat on a desert plate. Notice that we had asked for entries, my kid was having a complete dosis and she did not say anyting when we ordered!!! And the same very rude daughter, when i asked for a plate replied to us: no, i will not give you a second plate because you already have two (meaning one for my kid and one for us)!!!!! At that point, we just wanted to leave. I have never had such a bad experience at a restaurant. If you are a tourist, i have an advice for you: keep away of this restaurant! It is not worthy the risk!

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank DayTrip402003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LePigeonStrg, Propriétaire at Au Pigeon, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2019
Google Translation

Bonjour,
On ne va pas dans un restaurant pour partager un plat à 2. Et pour ce qui est du changement de table, au vu de l’affluence du mois de décembre, laisser une table pour 5 personnes pour 2 personnes n’est pas possible. Ensuite sur nos tables au minimum il y a des sets en papier. Donc il est impossible que vous aviez du manger sur la table sans rien.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 195 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2018

We asked our server about the restaurant and discovered that her grandfather started the business and her father was cooking in the kitchen. I ordered the fish of the day, and it didn't look like it would suit my taste: a piece of fish, a large portion of sauerkraut, and a boiled potato. Turns out, it doesn't matter what it is if it is prepared well. Others enjoyed other dishes as well. All the food was excellent. I only meant to eat a bit, and I ate everything. Local wine was nicel. Lovely ambience as well.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Q3637QLkarenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2018 via mobile

Very good authentic aslastian food.
It is a family restaurant, and we enjoyed the cuisine and the nice service.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Nrusnak101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LePigeonStrg, Propriétaire at Au Pigeon, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2018
Google Translation

Merci pour votre avis. Cela nous fait plaisir que vous ayez aimé notre "chez nous", car ce restaurant est pour nous notre deuxième maison.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed our lunch with friends at Au Pigeon. Sampled quite a bit of the Menu to accommodate the various preferences and appetites and everything from Starters through to Dessert was very good.
Escargots, Soups, Salad, Onion and Sauerkraut Tarts followed by the tender Duck, Juicy Chicken in wine sauce and mixed Meats and Sausage. To finish our meal, the meringue, chantilly and ice cream dessert plus mousse. Party of 6 including two particular little ones under 10 and everyone was pleased and satisfied.
Family friendly and pleasant service.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Challenger007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LePigeonStrg, Propriétaire at Au Pigeon, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2017

Hello
Thank you for your opinion. Glad everyone liked it.
Merry Christmas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2017

We were drawn into the place by the beautiful front and what we could see of the interior. The menu seemed OK, so why not? We were indeed pleased with the atmosphere of a traditional family-run restaurant: beautiful woodwork, fine wal-paintings, plenty of room foor each tabel, the friendly waitress, very knowledgeable about the wine list and the origin of what they had on offer. The food (set menu) was unexceptional, but very much OK for the price we paid: traditional fare. go and efficient service. Good value wine , all in all an enjoyable experience in an interessting setting.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Remy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Au Pigeon also viewed

 
Strasbourg, Bas-Rhin
 

Been to Au Pigeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing