We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice luxury hotel right near the heart of the city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Regent Contades, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #28 of 130 Hotels in Strasbourg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2014

My fiance and I stayed at the Regent Contades for 2 nights in June 2014. It's very much a luxury hotel, even if it's a bit rough around the edges in some respects (some areas need to be repainted) - very spacious room, big bathroom and tub with a full bath set (shampoo, body wash, lotion... and robes!), and very comfortable beds, along with the accompanying turn-down service.

The staff were very helpful with giving us restaurant advice and directions. The air conditioner and wifi both worked without any issues. The wifi was quite fast compared to that of other hotels we've recently stayed in.

Breakfast was not included and was very expensive (around 20 euros a person), so we went to Carrefour (a 2-minute walk) and had our own yogurt, cereal, and coffee in the room instead. They don't have a coffee and tea set in the room, but we received an electric kettle when we inquired.

The location was great. It's not in the old city, but it's only a 5/10-minute walk from it, using the gorgeous cathedral as the main landmark.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lph4248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (517)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 517 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2014

We recently stayed in the Hotel Regent Contades for one night.
The property was nice. We found street parking . The staff was very helpful telling us when we would have to pay the meter.
The property was a short walk to the Old Town area. The location was very nice.
The rooms were very nice and a good size. The bathroom was gorgeous and the towels were good.
The only problem was the bed. As soon as we entered the room we could see it dipped in the middle. It was definitely time for a new bed.
The staff was friendly and helpful We had a good rate (prepaid) from the hotel's website. It would be a great stay if we had gotten a better bed. (If TripAdvisor had half stars, I would give a 3.5)
We didn't eat the breakfast because it wasn't included and was very expensive.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MommaT2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Hotel was booked by company as i was in Strasbourg on a business trip. Having to travel to Strasbourg from Italy (transit via Amsterdam, my company admin really screwed this arrangement up), i was super tired and is looking for a comfortable time.
Upon reaching, i was amazed. The room is big and spacious. Traditional French concept with a little modern touch.
The bed is big and comfy, air-con is of the acceptable temperature.
The toilet is clean, and separated from the bathroom.
Having traveled whole day, and had not eaten, first important thing is FOOD, room service food was great. i ordered pasta and steak, and the hotel knowing that i had a long day gave me a good one. I had a hot dip in the tub, it was clean and it was relaxing. I spent 2 nights in the hotel and it was enjoyable. Local restaurants were a walking distance from the hotel offering more variety.
There is wifi connectivity available too which is very important.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ToiletbowlJustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We, my wife and I, travelled to Strasbourg for new year 2013, and stayed at this lovely hotel, the Regent Contades. We arrived very late on our first night, close to midnight, and one of the staff had clearly waited for us. Far from being unhappy with having to wait, he was friendly and warm, and placed us at our ease, us being in a slightly stressed state after a relatively long day's travel and a drive from Frankfurt. The hotel building, our room, the decor, the bathroom were all entirely perfect and suited to our tastes. Strasbourg is really one of the most pleasant cities that I have visited in France. It is small enough to easily get around, slightly germanic in character given its history, but at the same time very french. The old city is a short 5 to 10 minute walk from the hotel and with christmas markets, cold weather, gluwein and bustling happy visitors, it made a perfect christmas escape. Those markets stay open until December 31st which means you can stretch christmas beyond christmas day where it more or less ends when at home. Breakfast at the hotel offered a great selection, and was enjoyed in a beautiful belle-eqoque room. Overall, our experience of the Regent Contades and Strasbourg was an exceptionally good one, and I would certainly recommend this hotel if visiting there.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DndG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

What a surprise during a short trip to Strasbourg!
For EU110.00 we get:
- FANTASTIC ATTENTIVE STAFF
- EXCELLENT CLEAN BIG ROOMs
- GREAT BREAKFAST
- FREE WIFI
to list only the few perks ...
The Hotel is only few minutes walk to the Cathedral.
On arrival, the Hotel did not have any available undercover parking but the staff promised to resolve it ... and they did. They even remember to told us about it when we returned late in the evening from dinner...
There was indeed nothing to be desired.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JosefH_65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Hotel excelente. Ótima localização. Limpo. Pessoal atencioso e muito simpático. Café da manhã muito bom. Recomendo. Excellent hotel. Great location. Clean. Attentive and very friendly staff. Breakfast very good. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wjuniorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Great rooms, big buffet breakfast, free Wifi, and one block from the tram. Staff was VERY HELPFUL and friendly. Centrally located. Easy to walk into the old section of town. Many close restaurants. Parking is a challenge but the hotel staff can help with 7 Euro parking permits.

Room Tip: Higher rooms on the street have a great view and are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gatoreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Strasbourg hotels
Petite France Centre
Regent Petite France & Spa
Regent Petite France & Spa
#6 of 130 in Strasbourg
1,075 reviews
Sofitel Strasbourg Grande Ile
#10 of 130 in Strasbourg
1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel D
#2 of 130 in Strasbourg
706 reviews
Athena Hotel & Spa
#8 of 130 in Strasbourg
618 reviews
Petite France Nord Ouest
Best Western Hotel De L'Europe
Best Western Hotel De L'Europe
#15 of 130 in Strasbourg
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent Contades, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent Contades, BW Premier Collection

Address: 8 avenue de la Liberte, 67000, Strasbourg, France (Formerly Regent Contades, Best Western Premier Collection)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Strasbourg
#11 Romantic Hotel in Strasbourg
#17 Luxury Hotel in Strasbourg
Price Range: $119 - $504 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Regent Contades, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Strasbourg, only a few steps away from the Cathedral, and close to the European Institutions, this is a magical place where time seems to have stood still. The Regent Contades Hotel is a magnificent 19th century mansion with a stunning façade. Located on the banks of the river Ill, our establishment is the ideal starting point for an on-foot discovery of Strasbourg, all its places of interest, and its gastronomic delights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Splitty, Expedia, Orbitz, Fastbooking, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Regent Contades, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Contades Hotel Strasbourg
Regent Hotel Strasbourg
Regent Strasbourg
Strasbourg Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing