We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting experience, but special room not for everyone”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Strasbourg Centre Petite France
Ranked #17 of 127 Hotels in Strasbourg
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Interesting experience, but special room not for everyone”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Firstly, this hotel is very well located, close to the central train station and to the city center. Therefore, there are great connections for international travelers (train to the Strasbourg airport, Lufthansa bus station for Frankfurt and the Air France TGV for C. de Gaulle) but also for in-town trips (three different tram lines near-by).

The hotel looks newly refurbished, although the plastic modern style is not one of my favorite. My booked room was not ready when I arrived (around noon) and instead of being asked to wait for a bit, right away I was given another room, a "special one": "the woman room" (there are official pictures of it here). At first I went wow!. There is a huge round bathtub (the bath is inside the room), a round bed, a TV set inserted in a mirror and so on and the room is quite big as well. But after a while, it started to give me a headache, as there are no windows, only artificial lights. So, if you have to work (and they do have free wi-fi) get out of the room, it is not one for spending part of the day in it. It also becomes problematic if you have a warm bath due to steam and ventilation. If you leave the room after you bathe, better ask for a second electronic key to keep the ventilation running.

Also avoid this room if you are a chaste one or really allergic to tacky stuff. The design includes dildos in a furry wall. And other surprise such as a pink tool set in the closet (which actually came in handy when unable to find a bottle opener).

As a plus for women there are several types of hair brushes in the room, besides the classic hair dryer.

Overall, it was an interesting and comfortable stay, although I would not pick the same room for a second time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ontheroadsrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MERCURE1813, Propriétaire at Mercure Strasbourg Centre Petite France, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

We thank you for taking time to comment your stay in our hotel Mercure Strasbourg St Jean Petite France.

We are glad to have your opinion about the Woman room and as it’s a special room, we understand that some guests may not like it. In this case, our Front Desk Staff is there and at your disposal to propose another room in a more traditional style.

Waiting for welcoming you in the future,

Best Regards

François GARCHER,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    309
    86
    27
    12
See reviews for
72
281
66
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
101 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The location is better than expected. Even outside of main tourist area, it is close to main train station and the tourist area. The hotel room is clean and the free tea provided is from fair trade. I stayed there for 2 nights and like it. The only downside I can say is that the pillow is too thin that it is equivalent to having none.

Room Tip: My room was at the top and the inclining roof obstructed the room a bit. It is minor problem for Asi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam1130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MERCURE1813, Propriétaire at Mercure Strasbourg Centre Petite France, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We thank you for your message on TripAdvisor and we are happy that you have been surprised by our hotel. For the next time, do not hesitate to call the front desk and they will do their best to satisfy you.

We hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again in a next future.

With our best regards.

François GARCHER
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level Contributor
118 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here for one night in late April. Location was close to downtown however neighborhood was not that pretty. Rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable but it was cold during our stay and heating was not working, we reported it but were told they were not able to locate the technician so nothing could be done, we were given an extra blanket and free breakfast the next day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terebv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
171 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

The Mercure quartier Saint Jean is a very nice design hotel, located right near Petite Venise and Grand Rue, hence, in terms of location, was very good for our needs. Some nice touch as a wide choice of Nespresso coffees for free, for the hotel guests. The room was wide, as well as the bathroom, and with an excellent insonorization; you could hardly hear any noise from outside, as well as any other “old friends” at hotels like noisy AQ/C, dripping taps etc. Comfortable beds, very clean, the only thing missing was the refrigerator, which would have been convenient to store our Munster. For the rest, a good shower with a great shower jet (after a day of walking, is quite good!) The only hiccup was the wifi connection, good but a bit tricky to use.

The breakfast was good, although a bit pricey (16€), with a wide choice of warm/cold foods. Very kind and professional (and smiling) personnel at reception and breakfast restaurant. The hotel itself has no parking available, but there is a huge (and reasonably priced) multi-storey parking 500 ft away from the hotel, so if you don’t carry heavy bags, not a big trouble at all. We liked this hotel, and if in Strasbourg again, would come back for sure.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet sleep, look for a room looking at the inside court
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Achille C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed here last summer for a short two-day stoppver on our way to Switzerland. It is really close to the train staton and close to all the attractions. The price is quite reasonable and the Nespresso bar station in the lobby was a nice touch for caffiene junkies. It's literallly a short walking distance to anywhere you want to go in town and we found the staff extremely helpful and friendly. If we were to go back to Strasbourg, we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Nice hotel, very friendly staff. Decoration is nice and the breakfast is decent. Room we got was a bit small. Free internet and coffee. The internet access is a bit fidgety though. Overall I enjoyed my stay. Nice little budget hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shendric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Staff were very helpful, loved the touch screen local information kiosk, Mac and iPad in reception you can use. Great location for exploring and restaurants. Reasonable rooms for a city hotel. Would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Strasbourg hotels
Petite France Nord Ouest
Best Western Hotel De L'Europe
Best Western Hotel De L'Europe
#12 of 127 in Strasbourg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Hannong
#10 of 127 in Strasbourg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
Hotel D
#3 of 127 in Strasbourg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Strasbourg Centre Petite France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Strasbourg Centre Petite France

Property: Mercure Strasbourg Centre Petite France
Address: 3 rue du Maire Kuss, 67000, Strasbourg, France (Formerly Mercure Strasbourg Quartier Saint Jean)
Location: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Strasbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Strasbourg Centre Petite France 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Strasbourg Centre Petite France is a hotel of 63 rooms located in the city center, near from the old city called "La Petite France". Close to the train station and shops, and about 10 mn, by car or tram to the European Institutions and Palate of Congresses.We offer you a complimentary use of our partner gym. We provide room service 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Strasbourg Centre Petite France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Strasbourg Quartier Saint Jean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing