We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Monopole Metropole
Ranked #8 of 131 Hotels in Strasbourg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Having experienced a less than delightful stay at another Best Western, I generally cannot rate this hotel chain higher than a "basic" hotel with unexciting decor, furniture and service. However, THIS Monopole Metropole outfit outdid such expectations and we had a very pleasant 2 night's stay in a charming room that retained its history with heavy furniture (huge armoire), panelled walls and even a marble low table with accompanying rococco chairs.
Even located right above the hotel entrance, we did not experience loud, disturbing noises from the street (see the exterior photo of the hotel : the room is above the front doors). Bed was comfortable and linen was as new. Heating was sufficient and in the event you arrive in summer, there is an individual Airconditioner in the room of a respectable brand (Daikin - same as the one we have at home!).

Bathroom had been renovated with latest bathtub & shower amenities, and the toilet was in its own room next to it. Cannot complain. Everything worked properly like new and was totally clean. Fluffy large towels too! Enjoyed a nice warm bath after a rainy afternoon in town.

Breakfast room is in a country-style with seating that reflects that. The Breakfast spread is not spectacular - the usual coffee/tea/juice + a selection of bread/pastries with cheeses and a small egg&sausage corner for warm food. Quality was very standard and pedestrian. BUT that is why you should save your appetite for Le Petit France which is not far at all from this hotel. 10min leisurely stroll should get you there.

Location-wise, this is good for those arriving by train to the Gare (5 min walk) but we had to park our car in a garage that is about 7min brisk walk away from the hotel (as it has very very limited parking spots). Finding the hotel by car was a merry-go-round exercise though!

Service was smilingly efficient by a young lady at Front Desk - who even offered to book a table for us at a certain restaurant, upon our request - but I cannot say the same for another Older/Matured woman staffing the phone who sounded like an old grumpy sargent major. My poor husband was treated to a "I don't speak English" response when he called the hotel.

Room Tip: Although most of the rooms are new (renovated) in a modern style, you should try the one on 1st floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 1,149 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2013

Really nice hotel with very helpful and pleasant staff. modern but retaining old features. We had an excellent room with 2 balconys.

Near train station and Petite France but can be a bit tricky to get to by car because of the one way street system

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keith624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We recently stayed there for just a night, on our way to Switzerland.

We do have 2 kids (1 toddler, and a 4.5 year old one), do, before all, cleanness of the room is a must for us.

The room way *very* tidy & clean, which surpassed our expectations. The location is the hotel is good, you are in the 'old city' in about 15 minutes on foot.

The breakfast was quite all right.

I would like to stay there again, and definitely recommend it..

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ilker K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This hotel is few minutes walk from the train station and 10 minutes to the Old town itself. We had a very good stay in this hotel. We are first-time parents and stayed in the hotel with our 3-month old baby. They provided us the cot and non-smoking, clean room which we told them beforehand. We thought that the room will be small but it was just a good size for the 3 of us and very clean. The staffs were friendly, hospitable and very helpful (based on personal experience). They have an underground parking which costs 13e/day..not bad at all since your vehicle is secured. Breakfast has good selections. Wi-fi is free and they give you the code before you go to your room. We made the right choice in this hotel and is also a good value for money. I should say, we didn't have problems during our stay in the hotel considering we have a newborn baby with us.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jomaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We travelled to Strasbourg by TGV and chose this hotel because of the location being close to the station and tram stops. It's within 5 mins walk from the station and the city is accessible on foot or by tram. The price was favourable as it included breakfast and wifi.

The hotel decor was dated, a touch of refurbishment would be nice. The bedroom was of decent size and clean.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We spend one night to visit the city. The rooms are a nice size and very nice. The hotel lobby area is open with a nice bar and places to sit and enjoy a cocktail. We enjoyed the breakfast and really liked the private parking. very friendly staff. I was traveling with my wife, son and daughter-in-law. We loved the hotel We highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grehalva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Helpful staff, central location. Everything we asked for in advance was already cared for when we arrived, baby cod, parking reservation...
Very good breakfast, clean rooms and a verey good value for money!
I would definitely choose the hotel again.



  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
Thank Claudia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Strasbourg hotels
Petite France Nord Ouest
Best Western Hotel De L'Europe
Best Western Hotel De L'Europe
#14 of 131 in Strasbourg
851 reviews
Hotel D
#2 of 131 in Strasbourg
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Strasbourg Grande Ile
#10 of 131 in Strasbourg
1,449 reviews
Petite France Centre
Regent Petite France & Spa
Regent Petite France & Spa
#9 of 131 in Strasbourg
1,114 reviews
Athena Hotel & Spa
#7 of 131 in Strasbourg
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Monopole Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Monopole Metropole

Address: 16 rue Kuhn, 67000, Strasbourg, France (Formerly BEST WESTERN Monopole Metropole)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Strasbourg
#3 Business Hotel in Strasbourg
#5 Romantic Hotel in Strasbourg
#7 Luxury Hotel in Strasbourg
Price Range: $99 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Monopole Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Hotel Monopole Metropole, close to the TGV train station and the old town La Petite France, is one of the most historical of Strasbourg. Discover the charms of the lounges with antiques and paintings of famous Alsatian artists and visit the collections featured in the "little museum" at the lobby. The rooms, traditionally furbished or contemporary styled are all non smoking and air conditioned. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Monopole Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Monopole Metropole Hotel Strasbourg
Best Western Hotel Strasbourg
Best Western Strasbourg
Strasbourg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing