We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel but expensive for what they offer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Monopole Metropole
Ranked #8 of 128 Hotels in Strasbourg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bern
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good hotel but expensive for what they offer”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

If you get a good price, this can be your hotel to stay in Strasbourg. We got a reservation ("For 2 person(s), Room 1: 1 Queen Bed; Rate : Pré-payé. Non annulable, non remboursable et non modifiable"). And we paid 200 euros for this one night (on Dec. 27th). For this price you would expect a bit of more comfort (some toiletries, some more non-French Channels on TV, radio, better and more modern lifts …).
Having said that, I agree with what have been already written here about good location, nice and competent staff, good breakfast (not espectacular, though), etc.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BrownieBern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    448
    107
    16
    9
See reviews for
189
516
71
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

The staff at this hotel are absolutely excellent - they were super polite at all times and extremely attentive to our needs - even the silly ones. For example, I wanted a particular type of calendar as a souvenir which is only sold by postal staff, and they agreed to stake out the postman for me to get one - successfully. Great service! They also issued us with a map immediately upon arrival and showed us some of the best places to go for the Christmas celebrations.

The included breakfast was generous and very tasty - a buffet selection is made available in the lovely breakfast room with bread, pastries, cereal, cold meats, fruit, cheese and everything else you might expect, including eggs (scrambled or boiled) and sausages.

The wifi was free and worked quite well for us. My partner and I found the bed very comfortable and roomy, which is good, since she sleeps like she's doing aerobics. The property is located five minutes on foot from the city centre and super close to the main trainstation, which was very useful for us as we arrived by train.

The room itself was a pleasant surprise - quite sizeable for a European hotel, with a bathroom that appears to have been recently renovated and a bathtub which was large enough for two. As some others have said, the shower screen was a little small, but it was really a very minor issue. The bedroom was clean and comfortable and had a safe in the wardrobe and the housekeeping staff did a great job of tidying the room while we were away. As an earlier review stated, we really felt like valued customers at this property and will definitely return if we are in Strasbourg again. A real pleasure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

Great welcome, great, staff, clean, modern room (and a decent size too!), great breakfast... Only a couple of small issues, the bathroom is very nice and modern, but the shower screen was a little too small resuting in water spraying onto the bathroom floor (an all to common problem in many many hotels...). Also housekeeping start around 8am and there was a little noise as they went about their work (no big issue as we are early risers anyway). Don't let these small issues put you off, it was a pleasure to return to the hotel each day we really felt that we were valued customers even though it's the first time we used this hotel.

As the title says, "a pleasure!"

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cloted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights, part business, part tourist. Location was good - very close to the Halles shopping mall, and around 15 mins walk to the cathdral etc. Great to have secure parking too.
We took two rooms - a double executive, and a comfort twin. The exec room was a bit too small - tiny desk area occupied mostly by coffee making facilities (which were a great addition), and no shelf space in the bathroom either. Kids room was a bit smaller, but slightly better appointed, with a larger desk (tho still small) and better bathroom shelf space. Decore thruout was rather dated, but otherwise clean and comfortable. Good french-style breakfast provided, and also had comfortable lounge room with pool table which my kids appreciated.
Staff have excellent english and were very helpful.
Only problem was the constant dropping out and slow speed of the internet. We had the odd moment when it was good, but otherwise a poor service for business stays.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieOy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
752 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

A change of travel plans led me to Strasbourg on a short notice. I simply used the tripadvisor hotel rating list and chose this one. I was never disappointed! The location is excellent, and the hotel parking was very convenient as the streets were full. The hotel is classic in style but the rooms are very modern and elegant. I don't think I have had a double hotel door before. The bed was nice, but a bit too hard for my liking. Breakfast was nice, although simple. The staff was very accommodating. Value for money was excellent for me.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taarhaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

the title says it all. this hotel imbibes the local decor in almost every way. well, except for the bathroom which is modern.

my wife and me stayed in what they said was one of the best rooms they had. big, comfortable (we could actually walk around comfortably inside the room which is a huge plus if you know how tiny rooms generally are in france) and tastefully done up interiors is what makes this best western monopole metropole stand out.

the use of stained glass inside the room - the windows and mirrors are classic. the bathroom, spacious, another plus. the toilet was detached from the bathroom which helps if you're staying with someone.

the restaurant serves up some excellent local cuisine which i thought was not too expensive considering the type of hotel it is. and if you are one of those who love their breakfasts, they have a large spread of cheeses, cold cuts, scrambled eggs (which is a rarity in most mid-range hotels). just a word of caution, the restaurant is closed on sundays, so make sure you eat out or pick something up on your way back. (the guy at the reception offered to make us a pizza though)

the thing that clinches the deal for this place is the location. situated just a few minutes walk from strasbourg station and a few minutes from le petit france, it's not too far from any place (at least the touristy ones).

the guys at the reception were really helpful and always seemed to have a warm smile on their face.

so if you're looking for a bit of history in your hotel room, i would certainly recommend the best western monopole metropole. it was one hotel where i actually felt like spending time in the room.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the street intersection - the cross ventilation was really nice. and there's h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reillyrebello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denges, Switzerland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

I have stayed in BW Monopole Metropole for one night, and have absolutely no complains. Discovered it through tripadvisor searching for the best cost benefit hotel in Strasbourg withing my price range (80 Euros limit).
P.S. Their breakfast is excellent!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Henrique_turin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Strasbourg hotels
Petite France Nord Ouest
BEST WESTERN Hotel De L'Europe by HappyCulture
Hotel D
#3 of 128 in Strasbourg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Hannong
#10 of 128 in Strasbourg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
Petite France Centre
Regent Petite France & Spa
Regent Petite France & Spa
#6 of 128 in Strasbourg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Monopole Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Monopole Metropole

Property: Best Western Plus Monopole Metropole
Address: 16 rue Kuhn, 67000, Strasbourg, France (Formerly BEST WESTERN Monopole Metropole)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Strasbourg
#3 Business Hotel in Strasbourg
#5 Romantic Hotel in Strasbourg
#7 Luxury Hotel in Strasbourg
#9 Family Hotel in Strasbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Monopole Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Hotel Monopole Metropole, close to the TGV train station and the old town La Petite France, is one of the most historical of Strasbourg. Discover the charms of the lounges with antiques and paintings of famous Alsatian artists and visit the collections featured in the "little museum" at the lobby. The rooms, traditionally furbished or contemporary styled are all non smoking and air conditioned. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Monopole Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Monopole Metropole Hotel Strasbourg
Best Western Hotel Strasbourg
Best Western Strasbourg
Strasbourg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing