We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Strasbourg Grande Ile
Ranked #10 of 131 Hotels in Strasbourg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed in July for 2 nights with our 14 year old daughter. We were given an amazing Opera Suite with a lovely balcony. We had the opportunity to explore the wonderful old town of Strasbourg provided with suggestions from the competent concierge.
The Front Office was lovely, efficient and professional. One outstanding service I would like to mention: When arriving at the hotel by car, within seconds a "Voiturier" introduced himself and offered us to take luggage and park the car. The same happened during our departure. The car was there at 12 noon and luggage packed into the car when we checked out. Wow! You see these kind of things very seldom nowadays. Congratulations!
One more small observation: The hotel planted it's own vineyard in their courtyard. The Manageress told us, that in 3 years they will be able to harvest the first grapes ready for wine.
Cool and never seen!

We will certainly return again. Thanks to the Sofitel Team for a memorable stay

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExpatinChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laetitia A, Responsable relations publiques at Sofitel Strasbourg Grande Ile, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear ExpatinChina,

Thank you for your positive comment, which I have shared with all our Ambassadors. It is a pleasure to know that your stay with us was enjoyable and we hope that we will have the occasion to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,449)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

461 - 467 of 1,449 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2013

What a great hotel, in a lovely spot very close to the 'old town'. Our room was wonderful and the staff very helpful. Unfortunately, we were there on Bastile Day Celebrations and most places were closed along with restaurants (even the one in Sofitel) but we were able to find a great steak place on the river that had great food and wonderful celebratory atmosphere! The Sofitel is a wonderful place for 'special occassion' stays.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Englandswings123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laetitia A, Responsable relations publiques at Sofitel Strasbourg Grande Ile, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear EnglandSwings,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us in the capital of Alsace. We are delighted to see that your stay was enjoyable and thank you for your positive review.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon to try our Restaurant !
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed here for one night in a luxury room (3) of us, large room by European standards and pull out bed plus king size in made for a comfortable night. The hotel provides secure parking for $20 euros per night and is located in the centre of the old town surrounded by various restaurants. The staff are very helpful and the surrounding grounds provide plenty of room to unwind, no pool or sauna but a gym is available. Rooms have air conditioning and nice large bathrooms, the usual Sofitel finishes are provided. By booking ahead via Accor web site we paid $168 euro not including breakfast, you can't go wrong staying here for a stopover or longer stay in my opinion.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank Coza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laetitia A, Responsable relations publiques at Sofitel Strasbourg Grande Ile, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Coza,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us in the capital of Alsace. We are delighted to see that your stay was enjoyable and thank you for your positive review.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon,
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Summary :

A real shame about foodservice, because location is otherwise ideal.

Good:
Friendly reception staff. Nice clean rooms.

Bad:

The staff at the bar and restaurant need a great big kick up the backside and be told to pull their socks up.

1/ Bar ... we waited over 40 minutes (no, I'm not joking, I was watching the time on my watch) for the barman to even come near our table to give us drinks menus and take our order. He went to every single other table, but ignored our table.

2/ Breakfast.... Things would run out on the buffet, but no effort made to replenish until you chased staff. Staff incapable of bringing a proper cafe presse (they brought a cafetiere, but upon inspection of contents, no coffee grounds to be found .... they obviously just poured some filter coffee into there and served that to us instead ! Happened on two occasions )

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John1450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Strasbourg...

It's everything you think when planning your first European vacation (well that and Chevy Chase). There is so much to see in town and since this hotel is centrally located, you can walk to the cathedral from the front of the hotel. Friendly and helpful staff make for a great stay. Rooms are spacious and well kept.

Eat gelato anywhere, speak German, French or English. Shop, shop, shop. Stop and take pictures at the cathedral and buy yourself a nice bottle of wine at any one of the "caves"

Room Tip: I've had many here and they all seem to be equal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed two nights and found our room to be reasonable in size and decor. staff were helpful in recommendations, very pleasant outdoor areas for dinning and beverage. we stayed two nights and would stay again being so central to main attractions, good value for services available.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank xxxDPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I'm a Sofitel fan, but this was a little disappointing. Location is fantastic for the old town, and staff were welcoming and friendly. The basement car park was ideal, and there was the usual Sofitel style throughout the hotel. My main issue was that the room for 4 (2 adults and 2 children) was just too small in reality. The whole room was bed basically, so there was no room to walk around and enjoy it. It would have been great for 2, with a small sitting area but not 4. Also there's a building site out the back so it was a loud and early awakening in the morning.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the building site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Strasbourg hotels
Petite France Centre
Regent Petite France & Spa
Regent Petite France & Spa
#9 of 131 in Strasbourg
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel D
#2 of 131 in Strasbourg
744 reviews
Petite France Nord Est
Hotel Le Bouclier d'Or
Hotel Le Bouclier d'Or
#3 of 131 in Strasbourg
451 reviews
Chateau de L'ile
#1 of 6 in Ostwald
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Strasbourg Grande Ile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Strasbourg Grande Ile

Address: 4 Place Saint Pierre le Jeune, 67000, Strasbourg, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Strasbourg
#2 Family Hotel in Strasbourg
#2 Green Hotel in Strasbourg
#9 Luxury Hotel in Strasbourg
#14 Romantic Hotel in Strasbourg
Price Range: $169 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Strasbourg Grande Ile 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the European capital, the Sofitel Strasbourg Grande Ile is preserved from the bustle city with an exceptional location. It has 150 rooms and suites and discreet luxury, a gym, a business center and a private garage with valet porter. The Terroir & Co restaurant offering local food products and The Link bar offer fine gourmet stop and an inventive menu to delight gourmets. Finally, the hotel offers 750m² of meeting rooms fully equipped with free unlimited wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sofitel Strasbourg Grande Ile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Strasbourg Hotel Strasbourg
Strasbourg Sofitel
Accor Strasbourg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing