We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Perfect for a night or two” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Dragon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel du Dragon
Ranked #37 of 129 Hotels in Strasbourg
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect for a night or two”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

Ideal location opposite heart of Strasbourg, very cheap parking (although limited space), incredibly helpful staff (good English and very knowledgable), nice rooms, reasonable outdoor breakfast...

All in all the perfect hotel for the price!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    187
    40
    18
    5
See reviews for
73
195
21
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights in July during a business trip. The location of the hotel is excellent, being only 5 minutes walk from the wonderful old Strasbourg city centre "Petite France". The staff were generally very friendly & helpful - just one experience with a receptionist which was dissappointing - when I told her I would not be taking breakfast the following morning, so didn'T want it included in my bill, she told me the breakfast was included in the hotel price but then changed her mind when I asked why then is it itemised in the hotel price list separately. The breakfast is mediocre and woefully overpriced at €12. The room was clean but small for the price. If you get a room overlooking the courtyard beware in summer of noisy guests with windows open all night. Parking space can be a real problem here. Some negative points but generally a clean & well staffed hotel in a great spot. I would recommend it for short stays if you want to discover Strasbourg city centre.

Room Tip: as already mentioned, avoid rooms overlooking the courtyard in summer when windows will be open all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

Lovely hotel in a superb location: town centre, La Petite France, Cathedral, all within easy walking distance. The Dragon is set back from the main road in a quiet side street.
Our room was small but pleasant and clean and had a good bathroom with a bath as well as a shower. There is a small courtyard garden where we could sit and read or enjoy a glass of wine.

The Reception staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful and spoke excellent English. We were lucky enough to find a parking spot right outside the hotel which was on a meter; we left our car keys with Reception and they topped up the meter for us ( it was very reasonable)

We did not eat breakfast at the hotel as we thought 12 euros each slightly expensive. There are lots of lovely cafés and 'salon du the' nearby which are worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uktravellerspo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Dragon for three non-consecutive nights as a part of a self-guided bike tour of the Alsace region. The hotel's rooms are nicely laid out and very clean. The wifi is free and works. Breakfast was standard and included boiled eggs. They offer 24 hours room service (simple stuff but a nice amneity). While there is no AC, they offer fans on demand. The location is nice eight minute walk to Petit France, the Cathedral, as well as numerous restaurants.

The real star of the Dragon is the service of its staff. They are friendly and helpful. From the reception desk to the breaksfast staff, they are so uniformely concerned about their guests. They answered questions about the town and gave clear advice. I cannot speak highly enough about the proessionals here. They also were pro-active in helping us organize the meet-up with the representatives from the bike tour company.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J Z, Gérant at Hotel du Dragon, responded to this review, September 24, 2014
Dear Robin C,

We thank you very much for your review.
We are glad you had a good stay at the Hotel du Dragon. Thank you for these incentives that motivate us to persevere in our efforts.

Perhaps will we have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the futur...

Yours sincerely,
Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwood, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

Stayed a couple of days here with a large group of cyclists and found this was an excellent hotel. Many times the attitude of the staff dictate the experience, and in the case of the Hotel du Dragon, the staff of the hotel were exceptionally friendly and helpful.
The rooms were clean and in good repair, though there were strangely few electrical sockets to charge my electronic devices.
The hotel is quite old, but is furnished in modern decor, though there are quirks that reflect the age, such as narrow winding steps leading to one wing.
The hotel is a only a few blocks from the old city and the cathedral, so it is extremely well placed.
I would try to book any future stays in Strasbourg at this hotel.

Room Tip: I was part of a large group, so i did not have a choice regarding the room location. I do know that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobsaab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J Z, Gérant at Hotel du Dragon, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Bobsaad,

Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor.

Your opinion is important to us and we value your feedback. The entire team is doing thier best every day to make our guest's stay enjoyable and we all together appreciate your comments!

We are looking forward to welcoming you again for a next stay in Strasbourg!

Yours sincerely,
The reception staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

This hotel has only two things going for it. It is on a quiet side street, not on a busy boulevard, and it is located just across a bridge from central Strasbourg. The room itself was supposedly a superior room (with a correspondingly steep room charge) but was small nonetheless. The furnishings were spartan. Most disturbingly, the shower curtain in the bathroom was moldy on the bottom and the two water glasses had not been wrapped in plastic to prove they had been sanitized. I have stayed in better Motel 6's in the US.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Granite43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J Z, Gérant at Hotel du Dragon, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

We sincerely regret that this room was not up to your expectations. Our superior rooms are on average 22m ² and offers a view of the docks and the Cathedral.

Environmentally conscious, we prefer glass goblets, but we also provide plastic cups to ensure perfect hygiene to our customers.

We have taken note of the mold on the shower curtain and changed it.
It is also programmed to replace all of them with a fixed shower glass for more hygiene.

Yours Sincerely,
Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

This hotel is in a nice location, just across the river from the old town of Strasbourg. The women at the front desk were helpful and friendly. Other than that, I can not recommend this hotel. With a small cot for our cild, there was hardly any room to walk in the room. We were in room 42, on the top floor under the eaves. The windows were small, hard to reach, and provided almost no relief from the overwhelming heat. There was no air conditioning and the room never cooled off. The noise from the streets below was disruptive at night, especially when a group of teens were singing and playing the guitar seemingly under our windows at 4:00am. We had reserved for six nights, but left after two. We would have left after one, but could not find availability in a more suitable hotel until after the second night. The bed did not have mattress pads, which I find gross. We had two terrible nights of sleep and cannot recommend this hotel to anyone. We found a four star hotel with air conditioning, more space, and had breakfast included, all for less money. No way this hotel should be three stars.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 95Chris95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J Z, Gérant at Hotel du Dragon, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor.
Your opinion is important to us and we value your feedback.

The entire team is doing their best every day to make our guest's stay enjoyable. Your comment shows us that we must persever in our efforts to ensure this does not happen anymore.

Concerning the air conditioning; our building is classified as "historic monuments" and therefore we can not install the air conditioner.

We would be delighted to welcome you back in a room that will meet all your expectations.

Yours sincerly,
Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Strasbourg hotels
Hotel Hannong
#11 of 129 in Strasbourg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Petite France Nord Est
Hotel Gutenberg
Hotel Gutenberg
#14 of 129 in Strasbourg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Petite France Centre
Regent Petite France & Spa
Regent Petite France & Spa
#8 of 129 in Strasbourg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Hotel Les Haras
#4 of 129 in Strasbourg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Petite France Nord Ouest
BEST WESTERN Hotel De L'Europe by HappyCulture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Dragon

Property: Hotel du Dragon
Address: 12 rue du Dragon, 67000, Strasbourg, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Strasbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Dragon 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel du Dragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Dragon Hotel
Du Dragon Strasbourg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing