We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Strasbourg Centre
Ranked #33 of 131 Hotels in Strasbourg
Reviewed July 7, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank mcicogni
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SXBCENTRE, Directeur général at Mercure Strasbourg Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (791)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 791 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013

This Mercure hotel is beginning to look a little tired in places. Décor is aging and our bathroom had a slightly musty odour to it. In some ways it was an average to below-average experience.

What really let down this stay was the breakfast room and food. At 08:30, with another hour and a half to run, there was little food left and the two staff on duty were run ragged to try to keep up. Tables were not cleared and when we got there we just made up a table for ourselves. In effect the was no service.

Many items of food had run out so, like Oliver Twist, we went bowl in hand to make the best of what there was. Some of our GRJ Tour party members came down even later and were even worse off then us.

However, the hotel was convenient for a one-night stay in Strasbourg and the station home in the morning afforded little dragging of suitcases.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leckhampton_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SXBCENTRE, Directeur général at Mercure Strasbourg Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear guest,

We apologize for the inconveniences you met during your stay.
We guess there were exceptional circumstances, because the satisfaction of guests is chief among the priorities of my staff and me, and your feedback will contribute to enhancing the standard of our hotel.
I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again the next time you stay in Strasbourg.
best regards,

Nathalie Peter
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank mullally51
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SXBCENTRE, Directeur général at Mercure Strasbourg Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hotel justifies the label 'centre', being near the place Kleber and very near all the tram lines (except you have to make a bit of a detour at the moment).
There is free wi-fi in the rooms, and a good selection of TV channels (and without having to go though a menu trying to sell you porn). There is a decent reading light. Having stayed in this hotel hundreds of times in days gone by, I was surprised that there are still rooms where only the 'bed' part had been renovated - along the functional easy-clean lines you find in more and more Accor hotels. The bathroom had remained untouched, with a bath rather than a walk-in shower (that is not really a complaint). The airco/heating remained unmodernised, so the room was too hot for me.The windows give good sound insulation provided they remain shut, but the fittings remain rather cheap-jack, and it is difficult to open the window just a little for some air.
There were five loose coat-hangers, only one of which could take a trouser (or skirt). Yes, I was only staying one night, but I did have three pairs of trousers with me. The hotel advertises a safe in the room - but in mine, there was just a gap and screw holes. This is not good enough at 200 euros. There are pieces of paper telling you to raise concerns with the manager, which is rather a sign that a hotel will just let things slip until they get a complaint. I did not bother to ask for a room change, given the short time there.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
Thank Felix0309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The location was not bad in between places to see and the Strasbourg station both in 10min walk distance.
The room was comfort enough and the service is good as international big hotel group being able to communicate fully in English as well. I had a problem staying online as the wifi connection was a bit weak and unstable. The great thing about this hotel was the food served at breakfast was mostly bio which I haven't experienced before on this price range. I would stay again when I get there next time.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Excellent location to use as a base for exploring the city. However, there was an enormous building site directly opposite and there was no mention of this when booking the room but as we were out and about all day, it wasn't a major problem. Service was good and room and breakfast was okay. Would stay there again if visiting Strasbourg.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jean9618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Spend a weekend with a friend and hotel has a great location, center of town, but accessible by car and placed in a quiet street. Staff was super friendly, but the hotel has seen better days. The bathroom was not well cleaned, the beds were uncomfortable (and I rarely say that), breakfast for 16.90€ highly overrated, they even promote it as a bio breakfast, well yes they have little jams and butter bio production, but otherwise they serve frozen bread and buns that are "cooked" in their owen, parking 16€ a day, but if you you stay only a half of day you are better off parking in a garage where you pay per hour and it is the same rate, last but not least I asked for a recommendation on a first night for a good restaurant and they sent us to a perfect tourist trap, a place that looks nice, but food quality poor and prices exuberant.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AQ514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Strasbourg hotels
Petite France Nord Ouest
Best Western Hotel De L'Europe
Best Western Hotel De L'Europe
#14 of 131 in Strasbourg
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel D
#2 of 131 in Strasbourg
765 reviews
Sofitel Strasbourg Grande Ile
#11 of 131 in Strasbourg
1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Strasbourg Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Strasbourg Centre

Address: 25 rue Thomann, 67000, Strasbourg, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Strasbourg
#22 Business Hotel in Strasbourg
Price Range: $91 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Strasbourg Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Strasbourg Centre is ideally located in the heart of Strasbourg, close to Notre Dame Cathedral, the picturesque Petite France area, shops and the TGV train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Mercure Strasbourg Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Strasbourg Centre Hotel Strasbourg
Accor Strasbourg Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing