We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, hotel doesn't deserve its stars”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mercure Strasbourg Centre
Ranked #36 of 130 Hotels in Strasbourg
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Spend a weekend with a friend and hotel has a great location, center of town, but accessible by car and placed in a quiet street. Staff was super friendly, but the hotel has seen better days. The bathroom was not well cleaned, the beds were uncomfortable (and I rarely say that), breakfast for 16.90€ highly overrated, they even promote it as a bio breakfast, well yes they have little jams and butter bio production, but otherwise they serve frozen bread and buns that are "cooked" in their owen, parking 16€ a day, but if you you stay only a half of day you are better off parking in a garage where you pay per hour and it is the same rate, last but not least I asked for a recommendation on a first night for a good restaurant and they sent us to a perfect tourist trap, a place that looks nice, but food quality poor and prices exuberant.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AQ514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (746)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 747 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed at this property for three nights. It's a great, central location, however there is construction blocking a street and I ended up asking four different people for directions and getting lost in the rain for 45 minutes before eventually finding the hotel.

The staff here are really lovely - the girls at receptions were always friendly and willing to help with whatever was needed (resetting key cards, directions to sights and/or restaurants, printing train tickets...).

Breakfast wasn't included and was an additional 16.50 euro, so I went elsewhere. Not a problem though, because there are many little bakeries and cafés nearby.

A few minor things - colour scheme in rooms could definitely be updated, and there are some wear and tear signs that show (ie. wall paint peeling in the bathroom, really worn carpets at the front door of the room).

Overall a good stay!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barretjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

The hotel itself was alright and the rooms, having a bay window, were quite large but the colour scheme, maroon, turquoise and lime green, was just too much. The corridors also had a strange colour scheme. The breakfast was disappointing and the much anticipated views were not to be seen. If you are lucky enough to park in the small car park you have to navigate a small sprial staircase to reception and the lift. The location is just perfect so I'm afraid next time we'll be back in the Sofitel next door. If you're under 50 you'll probably appreciate the hotel more than we didn.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank penwer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

The hotel itself is conveniently located in the centre of the city, about 10 minutes walk from the Cathedral, and just behind the main tram stop where several of the lines intersect.

Rooms are comfortable, with decent facilities. Both the room and the bathroom were clean and well maintained.

The staff were friendly and welcoming.

Breakfast is served in the breakfast room on the top floor, which over a busy weekend struggled to cope with the number of people coming through at times. Consequently the tables were packed quite closely together.

The hotel itself does not have a bar, but it is connected, via a passageway, to the neighbouring Sofitel hotel where you can use their bar.

Positives
Great Central Location
Friendly and Helpful Staff
Comfortable Rooms

Negatives
Cramped Breakfast Room at busy times

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingTom78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Stayed here as part of our Christmas Markets trip. Lots of construction around hotel but it didn't disturb us.The hotel is very centrally located, only a couple of minutes walk from the main square. Staff are some of the best that we have experienced in Accor hotels, very friendly and helpful. No bar but it is linked to the Sofitel next door. We had a superior room which was quiet and comfortable. Breakfast was good quality with plenty of choice. We chose the hotel for it's location and the parking (16€ per day). We did have a real problem trying to find it by car, due to the SatNav wanting us to go down a tramway! The receptionist hinted that we were not the first to have a problem.
Strasbourg is a great city and lovely at Christmas with the markets and lights. Not the cheapest city, but I suspect the EU Parliament etc. has something to do with that.
A good hotel for visiting the city if you need secure parking.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DisyChain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

i have stayed at this hotel for one night night. the location is good but the hotel was not that clean. it has a free WiFi which a good thing & the breakfast was good. the hotel has a shared basement with next door Sofitel used for parking.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAQi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We had a great 2-night stay here. The room was quiet (thanks to a second interior door), clean and comfortable, with in-room coffee (yea!), and an attractive designy interior. I loved the analog thermostat - you turn the knob to get the temperature you want - so easy to use compared to most room thermostats. The staff was great - pleasant and very helpful. We were there at was Christmas, and the hotel had an Xmas tree in the lobby, and (surprise) they served vin chaud (mulled wine) and cookies in the evening.

The breakfast was excellent - lots of selection, all very good. If I have to nitpick (and I do), the room lighting was a bit dark. Unless that's really going to bug you, I recommend you book this hotel.

This is a good location if you're arriving by train. It's only four or five blocks from the train station (we walked), but just north of the center of town.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kurt12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Strasbourg hotels
Petite France Nord Ouest
Best Western Hotel De L'Europe
Best Western Hotel De L'Europe
#14 of 130 in Strasbourg
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Strasbourg Grande Ile
#11 of 130 in Strasbourg
1,385 reviews
Best Western Hotel De France
#50 of 130 in Strasbourg
503 reviews
Mairie Nord
Adagio Strasbourg Place Kleber
Adagio Strasbourg Place Kleber
#60 of 130 in Strasbourg
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Strasbourg Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Strasbourg Centre

Address: 25 rue Thomann, 67000, Strasbourg, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Strasbourg
#22 Business Hotel in Strasbourg
Price Range: $109 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Strasbourg Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Strasbourg Centre is ideally located in the heart of Strasbourg, close to Notre Dame Cathedral, the picturesque Petite France area, shops and the TGV train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, ACCOR, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Mercure Strasbourg Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Strasbourg Centre Hotel Strasbourg
Accor Strasbourg Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing