We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel;central location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Strasbourg Centre
Ranked #33 of 131 Hotels in Strasbourg
Reviewed August 2, 2012

This hotel has large well furnished rooms and has a good centre city location. It is however difficult to find, especially as one of the streets leading to it is currently blocked. Thee are many one way streets in the area. The cathedral and many old town attractions are in easy walking distance. Free breakfast was available to us as over 60s--- a nice surpise as I wouldn't have paid 16.50 euros. I would stay there again, especially now I know how to get there!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r-holloway75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (778)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 779 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

We did travel from Provance snd stopped for a day in Strasbourg. Travveling with kids Mercure was a safe choice. Reasonably priced with perfect location. It is within 5 min walk from place Kleberg, cathedral or Petit France. Room are simple with two single beds connected. Bathroom and rooms are clean and spacious enough for two guests. Small 15 inch TV could be a dissapointment but we didn't came to watch TV. It is good value for money comparing to opposite Sofitel.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waldemar Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Very good hotel ,centrally located in Strasbourg.Very good service.Nice,well presented breakfast served on top floor with some views over Strasbourg.Currently some building work going on nearby but noise was not too bad.I would stay there again-next time I am in Strasbourg.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aussidad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

I have just returned from 2 nights at this hotel. I have stayed in Strasbourg before but never in this hotel. However, on this occasion I was unable to find a room in anything more reasonably priced. Given the fact that it cost 220 euros per night and its 4 star rating, I was expecting something a bit more luxurious and less functional than I found. It is situated very conveniently to Homme de Fer tram station but, due to long standing building works at Printemps store, the street is closed at the tram stop end and you have to walk to the next connecting street. We had very heavy luggage and I feel that the hotel could have advisd potential guests of the inconvenience caused by this building work.
The room itself was funcional furniture-wise, preformed plastic bedside tables, stool and armchair. The bed, however was large,comfortable with good quality bedding. There was a mini bar which I didn't use, but only plastic disposable beakers were provided to drink from. I think that a hotel charging this amount should at least provide proper glasses for their guests.
The bathroom was larger than normal but I would have preferred a shower as I have problems stepping in and out of a high sided bath. However, the over bath shower was hot and powerful. On the other hand the towels were almost unbelievably thin and worn, I wouldn't have had them in my own home.
Like some other reviewers, I found the room overly warm and stuffy even with the air conditioning at its coolest level so I had to open the window and put up with the noise from the street outside to be able to breathe properly during the night.
Breakfast at 16,50 euros is served on the 7th floor which has a lovely view over the cathedral. There is a buffett with all the usual expected things to eat. It was ok but certainly no better and much more more expensive than the equilivent breakbast at the nearby Ibis hotels.
On the plus side, was its central location, just a stroll from Place Kleber and the shopping.
My stay at this Mercure has reinforced my belief that there can be very little difference in quality but a huge and, in my opinion, unjustified difference in price between 3 and 4 star hotels especially in cities and personally I don't think this hotel is worth the high cost.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francophile65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Fifteen minutes walk from the railway station and five from the Place Kleber the Mercure Centre is in a very good location for exploring the delightful city of Strasbourg. Staff are friendly and helpful. The bedrooms are functional and relatively modern. A couple of small gripes - e.g. the only mirror in the room was a full length one on the bathroom door and there was only one chair. However, the bed was large and very comfortable. Breakfast is taken in an airy breakfast room located on the 7th (top) floor with views over the Strasbourg rooftops. The Sofitel Hotel next door can be accessed directly from the Mercure thus allowing Mercure residents use of the Sofitel's facilities.

Overall the Mercure provided a comfortable base and good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RGYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

A reasonable hotel in an excellent location for exploring this interesting city.

We selected a "Superior" double room and prepaid to get the best deal we could.

At EUR256 for two nights, which included breakfast and wifi, this is one of the best values we have found in our trip around Europe.

Lots of building going on close by at the moment and this could disturb you if you want to stay in bed late. Also disruptive to traffic from time to time as builders unload things.

Staff were friendly and efficient. No bar or restaurant in this hotel but a walk through the hotel undercover takes you though to the Sofitel, which has both facilities.

Our room was a comfortable size and had most that we required. Some of the decor unusually bright but you soon get used to that. Disappointing that there was no TV films or entertainment channels in English - just 2 news channels.

The bathroom was not very large and had no bath. That did not bother us as we prefer to shower. Water pressure was not too good and at times could be inadequate. Shower trough was a little slow to drain, which limited shower time in case of spills into the bathroom area! This was our only real complaint about the hotel.

The hotel is very close to the city sights and lots of restaurants. We walked just about everywhere except for the "Batorama", which is a worth-while short boat trip on the river/canals with commentary by headphones in about 15 languages.

Breakfast on the top floor was an adequate buffet in a bright and airy area with good city views.

Room Tip: A high floor is probably better and check if you can get a room as far away from the building activi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Good:
Central location in walking distance to All major sights and restaurants
Hotel room was good, but kept in Strange colours
Nice breakfast room at the topfloor with good views
Hotel guests could use the neighbour hotel bar (Sofitel) Best benefit og the hotel!
Friendly staff
Parking available

Not so good:
Breakfast - very unhealthy buffet all 3 mornings
The building is quilte old and not at All fancy or stylish it did seem like a 3-Star hotel max.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pernille74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Strasbourg hotels
Sofitel Strasbourg Grande Ile
#10 of 131 in Strasbourg
1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Petite France Nord Est
Maison Rouge Hotel
Maison Rouge Hotel
#17 of 131 in Strasbourg
1,208 reviews
Petite France Nord Ouest
Best Western Hotel De L'Europe
Best Western Hotel De L'Europe
#14 of 131 in Strasbourg
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Strasbourg Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Strasbourg Centre

Address: 25 rue Thomann, 67000, Strasbourg, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Strasbourg
#22 Business Hotel in Strasbourg
Price Range: $89 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Strasbourg Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Strasbourg Centre is ideally located in the heart of Strasbourg, close to Notre Dame Cathedral, the picturesque Petite France area, shops and the TGV train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mercure Strasbourg Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Strasbourg Centre Hotel Strasbourg
Accor Strasbourg Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing