We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent location, decent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mercure Strasbourg Palais des Congres
Ranked #29 of 130 Hotels in Strasbourg
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Excellent location within 50 meters of a tram stop or 15 minute walk from town centre with ample parking.

Upgraded to executive (privilege) room, which was comfortable, spacious and very well equipped, including a Nespresso machine with complimentary pods. We found a card in the room advising us we were entitled to about 5 free soft drinks from the minibar, nice touch. This type of room was almost at par with higher calibre hotels like Marriott / Hilton. Unable to comment on standard rooms.

Room Tip: executive room probably worthwhile paying extra for
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Planedriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina F, Responsable réception at Mercure Strasbourg Palais des Congres, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for the time you have taken to share your experience of your stay in our hotel.

My team and I are very grateful for your remarks. They will encourage us to maintain our efforts so that the services we provide for you fully meet your expectations.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in Strasbourg.

Sincerely yours,

Christina FELIX
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (812)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 812 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

This hotel isn't located near much, but the tram stop is across the street and you can be in Petite France in just a few stops. We chose this hotel because we spent the weekend at the Wine expo which is about 800 meters away (less than 10 minute walk) and needed a close by location to cart wine back. We also chose this place due to the free outdoor parking and it is dog friendly with plenty of grass to walk your dog (something you won't find in the Petite France area). The hotel was clean and served it's purpose. Breakfast wasn't anything special - ate here the last day (Sunday) because nothing else was open nearby. Suggest eating at one of the bakeries nearby unless it's Sunday. I would stay here again for next year's Wine Expo because you can't beat the location/price. The Hilton is across the street, but they have a weight max on dogs.

Room Tip: Doesn't matter where you choose a room since the hotel is free standing and the roads run on all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExPat0331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina F, Responsable réception at Mercure Strasbourg Palais des Congres, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for the time you have taken to share your experience of your stay in our hotel.

My team and I are very grateful for your remarks. They will encourage us to maintain our efforts so that the services we provide for you fully meet your expectations.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in Strasbourg.

Sincerely yours,

Christina FELIX
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris1795
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Christina F, Responsable réception at Mercure Strasbourg Palais des Congres, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrenchyKimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Christina F, Responsable réception at Mercure Strasbourg Palais des Congres, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

The hotel is located in a convenient location for tram service to town. Parking is free which can save you a lot of money. The receptionist was cold and most of the time stay behind in the office rather than being available in the front desk. When asked for help, the answer was half hearted. There was no sunday cleaning of room and the bathroom was smelling like public toilet. Room is large and have two double bed which is a rarity in Strasbourg.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sufansiauw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina F, Responsable réception at Mercure Strasbourg Palais des Congres, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Dear Sir,

By answering our questionnaire, you have taken the time to give us your opinion about your stay in our hotel, and we thank you.

We are sorry for the inconvenient caused with your room cleaning and with the staff attitude. We beg you to accept our sincerest apologies.

Be assured that the necessary corrective measures have already been taken to ensure that the quality level meets your expectations and earns your trust when you next stay with us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Christina FELIX
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Spent 2 nights, very clean, excellent staff, very helpful, luggage storage, 5 min walk to tram station that takes you downtown or rail station in no time at all . Save your money on breakfast and go into town, you can find loads of cheaper places to eat. Beds were comfortable and hallways quiet. We enjoyed the swimming pool after a cold day out and about. We really enjoyed Strasbourg and plan to return someday and would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcia13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

From the rail station you would jump on the tram it takes about 10-15 mins it would drop you off 50 yards from hotel or take a taxi its less then 20 euros to settle in . then just take tram to center of town to do your sight seeing staff was good in helping you out in directions ,Very clean place lots of hot water for showers,internet worked ,staff spoke good English plus very helpfull ,and they have a place to hold luggage. The pool was nice and clean also .Great clean place to stay

Room Tip: Good place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcia13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnStrasbourg, Responsable réception at Mercure Strasbourg Palais des Congres, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for the time you have taken to share your experience of your stay in our hotel.

My team and I are very grateful for your remarks. They will encourage us to maintain our efforts so that the services we provide for you fully meet your expectations.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in Strasbourg.

Sincerely yours,

Christina FELIX
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Strasbourg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Strasbourg
Hilton Strasbourg
#41 of 130 in Strasbourg
1,536 reviews
2.1 mi away
Athena Hotel & Spa
Athena Hotel & Spa
#7 of 130 in Strasbourg
580 reviews
1.0 mi away
Novotel Strasbourg Centre Halles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Strasbourg - Sud
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Monopole Metropole
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Strasbourg Grande Ile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Strasbourg Palais des Congres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Strasbourg Palais des Congres

Address: 20 Place de Bordeaux, 67000, Strasbourg, France (Formerly Holiday Inn Strasbourg City Centre)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Strasbourg
Price Range: $95 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Strasbourg Palais des Congres 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the capital of Alsace, a short walk from the headquarters of the European Institutions, the Concert Hall and Conference Centre, the Mercure Strasbourg Palais des Congrès is the ideal place to stay whether visiting on business or for pleasure. This historic city is very attractive: pedestrianized centre, the Palais de Rohan, Notre-Dame cathedral and “winstubs alsaciennes”.The hotel, renovated in 2010, offers 174 spacious rooms including 26 “Privilege” rooms.Our new restaurant “La Table du 20” offers a light cooking which emphasizes the flavours and the seasonal produce.The Lounge Bar offers an inviting and totally modern setting. A restful and Zen atmosphere, jazz style music in the evening, cocktails and interesting food throughout the day.Free admission to the Health Club will help you relax. Fitness facilities include a sauna, Turkish bath and large indoor pool.A Business Point, open 24 hours a day, provides services for business: Internet access, scanner, photocopies, fax, printer, etc. A Wi-Fi system is installed throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Strasbourg Palais des Congres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Strasbourg City Centre Hotel Strasbourg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing