We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel, even if the furnishings need an update.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Strasbourg Palais des Congres
Ranked #30 of 127 Hotels in Strasbourg
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    377
    152
    32
    18
See reviews for
246
226
24
189
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2013

The hotel is located in a convenient location for tram service to town. Parking is free which can save you a lot of money. The receptionist was cold and most of the time stay behind in the office rather than being available in the front desk. When asked for help, the answer was half hearted. There was no sunday cleaning of room and the bathroom was smelling like public toilet. Room is large and have two double bed which is a rarity in Strasbourg.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sufansiauw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina F, Responsable réception at Mercure Strasbourg Palais des Congres, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Sir,

By answering our questionnaire, you have taken the time to give us your opinion about your stay in our hotel, and we thank you.

We are sorry for the inconvenient caused with your room cleaning and with the staff attitude. We beg you to accept our sincerest apologies.

Be assured that the necessary corrective measures have already been taken to ensure that the quality level meets your expectations and earns your trust when you next stay with us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Christina FELIX
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Spent 2 nights, very clean, excellent staff, very helpful, luggage storage, 5 min walk to tram station that takes you downtown or rail station in no time at all . Save your money on breakfast and go into town, you can find loads of cheaper places to eat. Beds were comfortable and hallways quiet. We enjoyed the swimming pool after a cold day out and about. We really enjoyed Strasbourg and plan to return someday and would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcia13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

From the rail station you would jump on the tram it takes about 10-15 mins it would drop you off 50 yards from hotel or take a taxi its less then 20 euros to settle in . then just take tram to center of town to do your sight seeing staff was good in helping you out in directions ,Very clean place lots of hot water for showers,internet worked ,staff spoke good English plus very helpfull ,and they have a place to hold luggage. The pool was nice and clean also .Great clean place to stay

Room Tip: Good place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcia13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnStrasbourg, Responsable réception at Mercure Strasbourg Palais des Congres, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for the time you have taken to share your experience of your stay in our hotel.

My team and I are very grateful for your remarks. They will encourage us to maintain our efforts so that the services we provide for you fully meet your expectations.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in Strasbourg.

Sincerely yours,

Christina FELIX
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
103 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

were built according to a strict ideal of proportion. A building was considered in perfect equilibrium “when the ratio of the sum of the lengths to the larger side was equal to the ratio of the larger side’s length to the smaller one". Anyway. The Mercure Palais du Congres (previously Holiday Inn) also has a pronounced sense for proportions: Here everything is large and rectangular.

The principle first springs to your eyes when you see the building from a distance and is confirmed by (a large and rectangular) outside lobby, but you would not expect the order to be so consequently applied also inside. Everything is big surface and rectangular, from the corridors to room furnitures. The beds are obviously king-size, the bathrooms large and solemn in their symmetric order (a bit like memorials) and the windows, pictures on the wall and tv screens all cherish the same ideal of being big and square. Not that it is lacking charms altogether. The "big frame" architecture & interior design wants to communicate that here everything is perfectly well arranged and generously provided for.

This hotel does not want to make you feel at home. It aims at the second best option of making the (business) traveller feel comfortable through the combination of clear lines, large surfaces and soft colours.
189 euros / night for a single bed room.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank xandiK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnStrasbourg, Responsable réception at Mercure Strasbourg Palais des Congres, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the time you have taken to share your experience of your stay in our hotel.

We were pleased to read that the hotel fully met your expectations.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in Strasbourg.

Sincerely yours,


Christina FELIX
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildberg-Effringen
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This hotel never lets us down. The staff is friendly and welcoming, the rooms are clean and comfortable, and we often receive upgrades. Also great service in the restaurant and bar. Located near a tram stop so very easy to get around. Free parking too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2222CJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnStrasbourg, Responsable réception at Mercure Strasbourg Palais des Congres, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your experience of your stay in our hotel.

My team and I are very grateful for your remarks. They will encourage us to maintain our efforts so that the services we provide for you fully meet your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in Strasbourg.

Yours sincerely,


Christina Felix
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Strasbourg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Strasbourg
Hilton Strasbourg
#38 of 127 in Strasbourg
1,448 reviews
2.1 mi away
Athena Hotel & Spa
Athena Hotel & Spa
#5 of 127 in Strasbourg
488 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Monopole Metropole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Strasbourg - Sud
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Strasbourg - Centre
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa d'Est
Hotel Villa d'Est
#8 of 127 in Strasbourg
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Strasbourg Palais des Congres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Strasbourg Palais des Congres

Property: Mercure Strasbourg Palais des Congres
Address: 20 Place de Bordeaux, 67000, Strasbourg, France (Formerly Holiday Inn Strasbourg City Centre)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Strasbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Strasbourg Palais des Congres 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the capital of Alsace, a short walk from the headquarters of the European Institutions, the Concert Hall and Conference Centre, the Mercure Strasbourg Palais des Congrès is the ideal place to stay whether visiting on business or for pleasure. This historic city is very attractive: pedestrianized centre, the Palais de Rohan, Notre-Dame cathedral and “winstubs alsaciennes”.The hotel, renovated in 2010, offers 174 spacious rooms including 26 “Privilege” rooms.Our new restaurant “La Table du 20” offers a light cooking which emphasizes the flavours and the seasonal produce.The Lounge Bar offers an inviting and totally modern setting. A restful and Zen atmosphere, jazz style music in the evening, cocktails and interesting food throughout the day.Free admission to the Health Club will help you relax. Fitness facilities include a sauna, Turkish bath and large indoor pool.A Business Point, open 24 hours a day, provides services for business: Internet access, scanner, photocopies, fax, printer, etc. A Wi-Fi system is installed throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Strasbourg Palais des Congres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Strasbourg City Centre Hotel Strasbourg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing