We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always great!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Strasbourg Palais des Congres
Ranked #31 of 130 Hotels in Strasbourg
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This hotel never lets us down. The staff is friendly and welcoming, the rooms are clean and comfortable, and we often receive upgrades. Also great service in the restaurant and bar. Located near a tram stop so very easy to get around. Free parking too.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2222CJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnStrasbourg, Responsable réception at Mercure Strasbourg Palais des Congres, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your experience of your stay in our hotel.

My team and I are very grateful for your remarks. They will encourage us to maintain our efforts so that the services we provide for you fully meet your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in Strasbourg.

Yours sincerely,


Christina Felix

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (825)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 825 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

My husband and i stayed in a privilage room on the 4th floor. It was larger than the standard room and came with complimentary water and juice. Also had an Nespresso machine with complimentary posh coffee as well as the standard tea and coffee making facility.
The bed was a king size bed and was huge and very comfortable. The only gripe that i did have was that the shower was over the bath and very strange that the lifts took always an age to arrive.
The hotel was very central and a hop on the regular tram will get you to all the boutique shops and restaurants.
Staff were lovely, it was so nice that we stayed another night instead of going to Reims!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zung T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnStrasbourg, Responsable réception at Mercure Strasbourg Palais des Congres, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for the time you have taken to share your experience of your stay in our hotel.

My team and I are very grateful for your remarks. They will encourage us to maintain our efforts so that the services we provide for you fully meet your expectations.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in Strasbourg.

Sincerely yours,

Christina FELIX
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Very nice hotel surrounded by trees & flowers, clean rooms and the reception are helpful. You can rent a bicycle from the hotel to have amazing tour in the city which is full of small lovely rivers.
The only thing is the breakfast buffet is small with small number of items

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mushreq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The main attraction of this hotel is the location: 3 minutes walk from a tram stop with fast, efficient trams taking you into the city centre within 6 minutes. The surrounding area is pleasant but devoid of restaurants and cafes. Another attraction is the free, large, overground (i.e. no problems with roof boxes) car park. If arriving in Strasbourg by car this is an ideal choice. I got a good deal on the room from the hotel's website. A family of 4 in one room - two double beds.

The bedroom was of good size, as was the bathroom. A little wear and tear but then I am sure that occurs after only a few months of use, The general cleanliness and maintenance was good. The air con worked well, which is just as well as it was 36+ degrees when we were there. There was a kettle in the room which is still uncommon in mainland Europe. Overall no complaints about the room, in fact quite pleased..

The public areas of the hotel are well maintained. There is a very pleasant lounge bar, although note that it is closed on Sundays! The restaurant is relatively small given the size of the hotel. We had breakfast included with the room and so went to the restaurant each morning. Thankfully the numerous coach parties (who seemed to make up the majority of guests in August) were served breakfast separately in the function rooms. The buffet breakfast had an adequate but not huge selection. It would not be worth paying a large amount for. The indoor pool is an added bonus although the changing facilities are somewhat limited.

I would definitely stay here again, whether for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Superdocuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We booked this a short notice while travelling and found it to be excellent value for a family room for 4 people. Enjoyed the restaurant that was reasonably priced, kids enjoyed the pool as the weather had been in the high 30's that week and the location was convenient with a short 2 minute walk to the tram into town. That took about 7-10 minutes and dropped us right in the CBD. Plenty of parking and helpful staff - particularly at reception.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chantel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnStrasbourg, Responsable réception at Mercure Strasbourg Palais des Congres, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank you for having taken the time to give us your comments on your stay in our hotel.

The hotel team and I are very grateful for your remarks. They will encourage us to maintain our efforts so that the services we provide for you fully meet your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you shortly in one of the hotels of the Mercure network.

Yours sincerely,

Christina Felix
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I have been to this hotel when it was still an Holiday Inn and so before the change in Mercure.
We have arrived at Strasbourg in the evening and even though the hotel is not located really in the centre it is quite convenient to reach because of some trams which stop very near.
Not far are also the International Institutions (European Parliament, etc.) which can be reached easly via some tram.
The building of the hotel is not new but it is well manteined and each floor has a specific set of rooms.
I have been upgraded to a superior room and so very happy with the accomodation.
As I was there in the weekend the hotel was not very busy. Probably it is more busy during the week.

Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Rosario_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We was, four people in 2 rooms, for one night, as a group in 23-24 july 2012,
The two good things were the giant beds (two king beds in a room), and the huge room and batroom, All the other- teriible. The rooms was very old, unaesthetick, the air condition was nisy and didn't worked wall. Also, there was view to the back roof of the hotel, that was unpleasent. The bathroom was huge, but very old one, whith ugly old floor, and the faucts really dissoleld in our hands, We didn't had the regular hotel breakfest- instead we had a terrible one, in other dining hall. It included, a hard, uneatable rolls, only ok crossiant, low quallity jam, butter, two type of hard chesse, some fruits, youghurt, chicken susages inside pork!, uneatble eggs, and even not a drinkable coffe (no cuppacino machine!). The desk service was fine and kind, but in the breakfest, we had terrible service, and the apporaches didn't knew even word in english!

Room Tip: Ask for a floor which is not two
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noamk26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnStrasbourg, Responsable réception at Mercure Strasbourg Palais des Congres, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

Dear Sir, Madam,

We thank you for having taken the time for your comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed the king sized bed, the room and bathroom.

We are sorry that some other services did not meet your expectations.

Concerning the aesthetic of the room, we have started a full program of refurbishment. 75 rooms have already been done and the renovation goes on this year.

As you were part of a group, we serve breakfast in a private room. The main restaurant is too small to welcome at the same time all our guests. However you can be sure that if we serve chicken sausages, it is chicken and not pork. We welcome all nationalities of guests and know how important it is to respect their food traditions.

Regarding the other points you mentioned, be sure that we will look into this matter in order to improve our service.

Despite the disappointment we hope you enjoyed Strasbourg and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Christina Felix
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Strasbourg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Strasbourg
Hilton Strasbourg
#41 of 130 in Strasbourg
1,570 reviews
2.1 mi away
Athena Hotel & Spa
Athena Hotel & Spa
#8 of 130 in Strasbourg
616 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Strasbourg Grande Ile
Sofitel Strasbourg Grande Ile
#10 of 130 in Strasbourg
1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Strasbourg - Sud
1.3 mi away
Mercure Strasbourg Centre Petite France
1.0 mi away
Novotel Strasbourg Centre Halles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Strasbourg Palais des Congres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Strasbourg Palais des Congres

Address: 20 Place de Bordeaux, 67000, Strasbourg, France (Formerly Holiday Inn Strasbourg City Centre)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Strasbourg
Price Range: $94 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Strasbourg Palais des Congres 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the capital of Alsace, a short walk from the headquarters of the European Institutions, the Concert Hall and Conference Centre, the Mercure Strasbourg Palais des Congrès is the ideal place to stay whether visiting on business or for pleasure. This historic city is very attractive: pedestrianized centre, the Palais de Rohan, Notre-Dame cathedral and “winstubs alsaciennes”.The hotel, renovated in 2010, offers 174 spacious rooms including 26 “Privilege” rooms.Our new restaurant “La Table du 20” offers a light cooking which emphasizes the flavours and the seasonal produce.The Lounge Bar offers an inviting and totally modern setting. A restful and Zen atmosphere, jazz style music in the evening, cocktails and interesting food throughout the day.Free admission to the Health Club will help you relax. Fitness facilities include a sauna, Turkish bath and large indoor pool.A Business Point, open 24 hours a day, provides services for business: Internet access, scanner, photocopies, fax, printer, etc. A Wi-Fi system is installed throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Strasbourg Palais des Congres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Strasbourg City Centre Hotel Strasbourg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing