We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for dumping the car and easy tram access”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Strasbourg Palais des Congres
Ranked #28 of 127 Hotels in Strasbourg
Leeds
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perfect for dumping the car and easy tram access”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I describe this hotel as a Corporate style hotel. Big with everything needed from a hotel but without the family feel of smaller hotels. I chose it because I wanted easy access off the Motorway and easy safe on site parking. The bonus is the tram to the centre of Strasbourg is cheap and stops outside the hotel! Great!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tickandbash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    373
    147
    32
    17
See reviews for
244
221
24
185
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I like huge rooms and non cramped bathrooms. Big bed...the covers a little too hot for me. If the internet set-up would just be meeting the to-days expectations. Working on it is not enough...get it fixed and you run a good level,good value business and tourist hotel. The bar service with small food dishes at odd times was great and friendly too. For tow nights ---good for what I needed when the opposite Hilton was full.

Room Tip: I think I was on the business floor with separate keys in the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolfgang P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
150 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Hotel sits on a large park-like site that provides easy access to street cars and it's only about a 10 minute walk to the old city area with great shops and restaurants (try Chez Yvonne). Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms were large and comfortable and the windows open for fresh air. The buffet breakfast was very good. Really wish we could stay longer, this city has a lot to offer with the old town, waterways, bike paths, etc. If we have a chance to return we will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RM30139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

We stayed at this location in April, really like the location because its just far enough from the city but still easy to get around. We rented bicycles from the hotel for 9 Euros per day, I think you can get bikes even cheapier in town but we liked the idea of having them available to us directly from the hotel. Their is bus transportation within a very short walk from the hotel, so if you are not into biking then this would be a great alternative.
We did not eat bfast at the hotel, we instead decided to go into town to find some bfast places.
The staff was very helpful and friendly, we most likely would stay here again if we were to visit Strasbourg again.

Room Tip: Check your AC in the room before unpacking, ours did not work very well so we had to open the window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maddy456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

I stayed here for 3 days. The staff were helpful. The rooms were not good. They were old and not very clean. I had a problem with heating. I could not control it. The first night was too warm to sleep.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BaiaAmman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level Contributor
93 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

I stay in hotels many nights per year (>100). I would say I have experience. So when I stopped in Strasbourg for a night and decided to stay at the Holiday Inn, I received an unexpected surprise: payable internet. I discussed this with the hotel staff (reception) and they agreed with me that although in France other Holiday Inn hotels have free internet, this one doesn't. Why, I asked? We don't know. Well, I do; the management of this particular hotels wants the money (Euro10/day or Euro4.50/hour).
I think that in 2012, this hotel should be just like every other hotel and offer free internet. It's what makes it easy for us to stay in touch.
It's location is not very useful either, as there is nothing nearby and one needs a taxi ride into the town, which then begs the question: Why is this called Strasbourg Center? Shouldn't be called Strasbourg off-center?
Although the hotel amenities are nice and so are the rooms, its location and chargeable wi-fi makes this hotel unattractive for me. I therefore wouldn't recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank petervee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Rutherford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2011

Stayed here one night in December 2011 with my husband, but this hotel would be a great choice for anyone including business travelers and families and solo travelers of all ages.
Checked in easily and quickly, and front desk staff greeted me pleasantly and smiled. Nice way to start.
Although I was only here one night, I could have stayed two weeks easily and comfortably. I booked a normal standard room and was given a large comfortable room with two queen beds! Sweet! The decor was pleasant, in beige and white, very European, not that tacky green like in the USA. Everything was clean and spotless, and my allergies to feathers and smoke were easily taken care of with nice anti-allergic pillows and a feather-less comforter on the bed. The room had plenty of space, a nice big bathroom, hairdryer, nice toiletries and fluffy towels, and the room came with a large flat screen television, plus coffee maker and tea, minibar, good work desk with lamp, comfy couch, and everything you need for a pleasant stay. I was put on a non-smoking floor which was great. I had arrived for check in early, but did not have to wait, my room was ready which was so nice!
Normally for Strasbourg, I would stay at the Hilton nearby, since I am a gold honors member, but the Hilton was fully booked out due to the Christmas markets nearby, so after reading a few reviews on Trip Advisor, I booked this Holiday Inn. To be honest, sometimes a Holiday Inn in the USA can be only a 50% shot of being okay, and usually they do not compare to other hotels like Hilton and Sheraton. However this hotel completely exceeded my expectations in all areas, especially cleanliness and room size. It was just as good, if not better than the Hilton, and probably costs less than the Hilton too. Plus the location is almost the same as the Hilton. its on the same block, and close to the tram. The hotel also has a nice big parking lot, and it's easy to get to. I would definitely make the Holiday Inn one of my top choices of hotels to stay in for Strasbourg!

Room Tip: Great Hotel, Holiday Inn Strasbourg would be
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iamaworldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Strasbourg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Strasbourg
Hilton Strasbourg
#37 of 127 in Strasbourg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
2.1 mi away
Athena Hotel & Spa
Athena Hotel & Spa
#5 of 127 in Strasbourg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Monopole Metropole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Strasbourg - Sud
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Strasbourg - Centre
1.0 mi away
Mercure Strasbourg Centre
Mercure Strasbourg Centre
#35 of 127 in Strasbourg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Strasbourg Palais des Congres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Strasbourg Palais des Congres

Property: Mercure Strasbourg Palais des Congres
Address: 20 Place de Bordeaux, 67000, Strasbourg, France (Formerly Holiday Inn Strasbourg City Centre)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Strasbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Strasbourg Palais des Congres 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the capital of Alsace, a short walk from the headquarters of the European Institutions, the Concert Hall and Conference Centre, the Mercure Strasbourg Palais des Congrès is the ideal place to stay whether visiting on business or for pleasure. This historic city is very attractive: pedestrianized centre, the Palais de Rohan, Notre-Dame cathedral and “winstubs alsaciennes”.The hotel, renovated in 2010, offers 174 spacious rooms including 26 “Privilege” rooms.Our new restaurant “La Table du 20” offers a light cooking which emphasizes the flavours and the seasonal produce.The Lounge Bar offers an inviting and totally modern setting. A restful and Zen atmosphere, jazz style music in the evening, cocktails and interesting food throughout the day.Free admission to the Health Club will help you relax. Fitness facilities include a sauna, Turkish bath and large indoor pool.A Business Point, open 24 hours a day, provides services for business: Internet access, scanner, photocopies, fax, printer, etc. A Wi-Fi system is installed throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Strasbourg Palais des Congres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Strasbourg City Centre Hotel Strasbourg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing