We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, easy to get around town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Strasbourg Palais des Congres
Ranked #32 of 129 Hotels in Strasbourg
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great location, easy to get around town”
Reviewed May 5, 2012

We stayed at this location in April, really like the location because its just far enough from the city but still easy to get around. We rented bicycles from the hotel for 9 Euros per day, I think you can get bikes even cheapier in town but we liked the idea of having them available to us directly from the hotel. Their is bus transportation within a very short walk from the hotel, so if you are not into biking then this would be a great alternative.
We did not eat bfast at the hotel, we instead decided to go into town to find some bfast places.
The staff was very helpful and friendly, we most likely would stay here again if we were to visit Strasbourg again.

Room Tip: Check your AC in the room before unpacking, ours did not work very well so we had to open the window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maddy456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    388
    160
    36
    19
See reviews for
256
237
25
194
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amman
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

I stayed here for 3 days. The staff were helpful. The rooms were not good. They were old and not very clean. I had a problem with heating. I could not control it. The first night was too warm to sleep.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BaiaAmman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

I stay in hotels many nights per year (>100). I would say I have experience. So when I stopped in Strasbourg for a night and decided to stay at the Holiday Inn, I received an unexpected surprise: payable internet. I discussed this with the hotel staff (reception) and they agreed with me that although in France other Holiday Inn hotels have free internet, this one doesn't. Why, I asked? We don't know. Well, I do; the management of this particular hotels wants the money (Euro10/day or Euro4.50/hour).
I think that in 2012, this hotel should be just like every other hotel and offer free internet. It's what makes it easy for us to stay in touch.
It's location is not very useful either, as there is nothing nearby and one needs a taxi ride into the town, which then begs the question: Why is this called Strasbourg Center? Shouldn't be called Strasbourg off-center?
Although the hotel amenities are nice and so are the rooms, its location and chargeable wi-fi makes this hotel unattractive for me. I therefore wouldn't recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank petervee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Rutherford, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2011

Stayed here one night in December 2011 with my husband, but this hotel would be a great choice for anyone including business travelers and families and solo travelers of all ages.
Checked in easily and quickly, and front desk staff greeted me pleasantly and smiled. Nice way to start.
Although I was only here one night, I could have stayed two weeks easily and comfortably. I booked a normal standard room and was given a large comfortable room with two queen beds! Sweet! The decor was pleasant, in beige and white, very European, not that tacky green like in the USA. Everything was clean and spotless, and my allergies to feathers and smoke were easily taken care of with nice anti-allergic pillows and a feather-less comforter on the bed. The room had plenty of space, a nice big bathroom, hairdryer, nice toiletries and fluffy towels, and the room came with a large flat screen television, plus coffee maker and tea, minibar, good work desk with lamp, comfy couch, and everything you need for a pleasant stay. I was put on a non-smoking floor which was great. I had arrived for check in early, but did not have to wait, my room was ready which was so nice!
Normally for Strasbourg, I would stay at the Hilton nearby, since I am a gold honors member, but the Hilton was fully booked out due to the Christmas markets nearby, so after reading a few reviews on Trip Advisor, I booked this Holiday Inn. To be honest, sometimes a Holiday Inn in the USA can be only a 50% shot of being okay, and usually they do not compare to other hotels like Hilton and Sheraton. However this hotel completely exceeded my expectations in all areas, especially cleanliness and room size. It was just as good, if not better than the Hilton, and probably costs less than the Hilton too. Plus the location is almost the same as the Hilton. its on the same block, and close to the tram. The hotel also has a nice big parking lot, and it's easy to get to. I would definitely make the Holiday Inn one of my top choices of hotels to stay in for Strasbourg!

Room Tip: Great Hotel, Holiday Inn Strasbourg would be
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iamaworldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

We recently stayed at the Holiday Inn in Strasbourg city centre and it proved to be perfectly placed and perfect inside too... The rooms afforded good views, were large, well equipped and clean. My husband and I were travelling with our grown up daughter to visit the christmas market so it was a low budget trip. We had one room but it had two double beds so everyone was comfortable. Hotel receptionists were exceedingly polite and helpful. The hotel is a short walking distance to a tram station (Kleber) making journeys into the city centre or to the european parliament very easy.
Thanks to all the staff!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WiltshireMandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

This is a really nice hotel and is conveniently located 3 tram stops from the cathedral/central area, you can buy tickets at the hotel. The reception folk were very friendly and helpful in pointing us where to go.

The room was nice and large, the beds were very comfortable with good quality pillows. The bathroom looks like it was recently renovated and was very spacious, but there was no plug (razor only). The room was really hot when we entered so we turned down the heat, didn't have much effect so we opened the window as much as we could (about 2 inches). The room was a bit expensive but we were traveling during the first weekend of the Christmas market, but all of the old town hotels were either full or even more expensive.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janermacp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Stayed as family of 4 in one room. Kids enjoyed the swimming pool. Generally comfortable stay, bed fine, bedroom and bathroom clean. showers worked well. Location is same block as the hilton but cheaper than staying at the hilton if you are a family as you can have a room with 2 double beds(fitting family of 4 rather than taking 2 rooms as we had done in the hilton earlier.) tram to centre of old town a block away or you can walk about 20 minutes. easy walk to exposition centre and european parliament. staff is good. free parking (the hilton wanted to charge 19 Euros/day.)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heehawEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Strasbourg hotels
2.1 mi away
Athena Hotel & Spa
Athena Hotel & Spa
#6 of 129 in Strasbourg
545 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Strasbourg
Hilton Strasbourg
#39 of 129 in Strasbourg
1,497 reviews
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Strasbourg - Sud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Monopole Metropole
0.7 mi away
Hotel D
Hotel D
#3 of 129 in Strasbourg
679 reviews
1.0 mi away
Novotel Strasbourg Centre Halles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Strasbourg Palais des Congres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Strasbourg Palais des Congres

Property: Mercure Strasbourg Palais des Congres
Address: 20 Place de Bordeaux, 67000, Strasbourg, France (Formerly Holiday Inn Strasbourg City Centre)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Strasbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Strasbourg Palais des Congres 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the capital of Alsace, a short walk from the headquarters of the European Institutions, the Concert Hall and Conference Centre, the Mercure Strasbourg Palais des Congrès is the ideal place to stay whether visiting on business or for pleasure. This historic city is very attractive: pedestrianized centre, the Palais de Rohan, Notre-Dame cathedral and “winstubs alsaciennes”.The hotel, renovated in 2010, offers 174 spacious rooms including 26 “Privilege” rooms.Our new restaurant “La Table du 20” offers a light cooking which emphasizes the flavours and the seasonal produce.The Lounge Bar offers an inviting and totally modern setting. A restful and Zen atmosphere, jazz style music in the evening, cocktails and interesting food throughout the day.Free admission to the Health Club will help you relax. Fitness facilities include a sauna, Turkish bath and large indoor pool.A Business Point, open 24 hours a day, provides services for business: Internet access, scanner, photocopies, fax, printer, etc. A Wi-Fi system is installed throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Strasbourg Palais des Congres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Strasbourg City Centre Hotel Strasbourg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing