We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Hotel De France
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$203
$183
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Citadines Strasbourg Kleber(Strasbourg)(Great Value!)
$103
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Maison Rouge Hotel(Strasbourg)
$149
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hilton Strasbourg(Strasbourg)
$144
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Couvent des Franciscains(Strasbourg)(Great Value!)
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Comfort Hotel Strasbourg Ouest(Strasbourg)(Great Value!)
$55
$42
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$104
$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Hannong(Strasbourg)
$149
$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (532)
Filter reviews
532 results
Traveler rating
109
238
129
43
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
109
238
129
43
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspretzelsfree beersuperior double roomhotel is locatedtrain stationhotel personnelsmall squareconvenient locationshower capan ironrenovated roomfamily roomcar parkyogurton footold townparking
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 532 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Postives -

Location - EVERYTHING within walking distance
Parking (hotel carpark full but got a reduction in local carpark a street away - 24 hours for 12,50€!! Great - and cheaper than the 16€ for the hotel carpark!
Breakfast - VERY suprised!
Service - very sweet and helpful girl on reception
Bed - comfortable
Aircon - it was 33 degrees whilst we were there so much needed
Clean and modern room with a variety of TV channels
Free coffee in hotel and free WiFi
Price of room - 75€ on their own website for a Saturday night stay with breakfast! Great value for money!
Strasbourg!! Great city!


Negatives -

room next to staff elevator (but we were tired enough to sleep!)
Shower leaked ALOT - wet bathroom floor
Hotel looks pretty dingy from the outside but inside is fine!
Not sure if it is a 3* or 4* - conflicting info on websites - id say a 3*+ though
Otherwise not much to complain about!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ukmaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHUBSCHER, General Manager at Best Western Hotel De France, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Sir
thank you for taking the time to leave a comment
We are glad you visited our beautiful city and you have spent a pleasant stay
We hope to welcome you again in our hotel

Best regards
Claudine HUBSCHER
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Friendly & Helpful staff at reception.. Air conditioning was great in a heatwave time. Mini bar in room & free tea & coffee was good as well. Beds a bit creaky & soft but overall comfortable. Large room & bathroom but no shower screen. Outside night noise was tolerable. Didn't have breakfast there. Can walk from train station but a map would help. Good base and easy walk around. Tram system with a 24hr ticket to all local stops-4euro. Has a small lift.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Europahol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHUBSCHER, General Manager at Best Western Hotel De France, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Sir

Thank you for your comment , it is very important to us and will enable us to improve our service.
We are glad you had a pleasant stay in our city and hope to welcome you in our hotel again

Best regards

Claudine HUBSCHER
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had a good time at Hotel De France. The entrance is not impressive, but the employees are very friendly an helpfull. They gave their utmost to help you and let you feel at home in a warm surrounding. Our room was good and breakfast was good as well with quite some choice. The airco in our room worked perfectly, which was a blessing at more than 30 C outside. The hotel is located at the isle of the city, Little Paris is about a 5 minutes walk and the cathedral about 10 minutes. When we return to Strasbourg we will definitely choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strandman46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHUBSCHER, General Manager at Best Western Hotel De France, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Madam Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment .we are glad that you could fully enjoy our city
Do not hesitate to visit our home website and enjoy our promotions
we hope to see you soon
Best regards
Claudine HUBSCHER
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night in June with our 6 months old baby. The room was big and clean with separate bathroom and toilet and comfortable beds. A crib was provided for our baby (no extra costs). In the room we had a coffee/tea maker and a minibar. There is also a machine in the lobby to make coffee or tea anytime you want and free WiFi. The breakfast buffet was nice.We had to use a public parking but we received a discount from the hotel when we checked out. The only minus for this hotel is the fact that they put on our bill a Batorama ticket (9 euro) that we never received... We only noticed after the check out.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank remirino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHUBSCHER, General Manager at Best Western Hotel De France, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Madam dear Sir

Thank you for your comment and I present you my apologies for the error on your bill
if you will be so kind contact me so I can resolve
the problem
cordially
Claudine HUBSCHER
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I stayed one night at Best Western Hôtel de France with my parents. Located at a walking distance to the attractions of the city centre and not very far from the railway station, this hotel provided a perfect base for our short visit to Strasbourg.

The family room we stayed at was very spacious: there were one double bed and two single beds, a sofa and table, a writing desk, a bathroom and a separate toilet. A wide balcony overlooked a little square. Wireless internet was available in the room.

While separate bathroom and toilet is a pleasant feature, some strange design choices had been made for the bathroom. A glass wall that spans one third of the length of the bath tub is not very helpful in avoiding the splashing of water all around while taking a shower. Furthermore, we could not figure out where to hang all our towels (apart from over the said glass wall). A few towel hooks would be a significant yet inexpensive improvement.

The real downside of the room was the temperature. I could not sleep very well: it was too hot with the blanket and too cold without the blanket. My mother was complaining about the same thing.

The breakfast buffet was all right. Coffee and tea were served in the dining room in the afternoon.

The staff at reception were kind and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlackXJ6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHUBSCHER, General Manager at Best Western Hotel De France, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Madam, dear Sir

thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments which helped us a lot
noous could not take the decision to turn off the heating due to changing temperatures and are sorry for the inconvenience;
Nevertheless we hope to welcome you again in our hotel;

Best regards

CL HUBSCHER
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews